We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edelweiss Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edelweiss Guest House
Ranked #80 of 121 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is first time I have stayed here, myself, my niece and my son came for 4 nights, nice and clean, nice size family room with a safe in the room for your belongings. Lots of choice for breakfast, close to sea front and not far to town and rides. Friendly welcoming from Pete who showed us round, I will be recommending this hotel and be staying here again in the future. Thanks again we love brid and was nice to meet you

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    12
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
27
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rushden, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

first time we have used edelweiss guest house it is really well situated as we travelled by train it was only a short walk to get there really handy for seafront and town met with a warm welcome from pete who showed us around our room ,the breakfasts were really good with a good choice of full English and cereals ,had a good time in brid and will be staying at edelweiss again later in year would recommend it to anybody who is looking for good value and good location ,took in couple of shows at the spa all in easy walking distance

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The couple who own it are very friendly and welcoming!! You get a lovely breakfast with lots of choice of cereals, fruit juice and a full English breakfast!! The location is ideal, short walk to the Harbor and friendly pub called the Londesborough. I will defiantly be coming here to stay again!! Its cheaper to ring them directly on this number I will post, if no answer leave a message. 01262 673822

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyleiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Booked two rooms,arrived early.
Bedding filthy underneath covers.
Did not stay and sought refund from booking online agency.
Location was close to sea front but family did not feel safe walking down this street to access this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank family3walters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p140276, Manager at Edelweiss Guest House, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
firstly dissapointed for a bad review as you did not even stay here so cant give a bad review for that, yes you looked round rooms as you tryed to book in early and guest had just left the rooms so needed to be cleaned first but i showed you round where you would be staying so will be dirty before been cleaned for new people to use ,as check in was not till 3pm you could not wait so gave you a parking ticket and helped with luggage and off you went all day ,rooms cleaned ready
for use but you just posted keys through the door and left at tea time with no explenation ,so for the sheets been dirty try again as we have a cleaning company do all our sheets never had a complaint before ,just thought you would have a free days parking becouse either you found some ware else to take you in there and then or you did not like bridlington?as for not feeling safe on the streets of bridlington hundreds of daily visitors dont find this problem must be just you? so thanks for the review as you wont stop others enjoying ther holidays with us as 100s of others have so far good look finding yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

My self and my husband have been going to this B&B for 10 years, the owners Pete and Jackie
always greet us with a warm welcome. The rooms are all clean, we have never experienced a
bad room in 10 years.
The breakfast is brilliant lots of choice. The B&B is in a perfect location too.
I would recommend this hotel to anybody.

Lin & Pete Taylor

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinTaylor_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p140276, Manager at Edelweiss Guest House, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
thank you for your kind words ,always a pleasure to have you come back after all these years and still have good words to say about us ,it proves that we are doing things right for you and you enjoy your stay time after time with us see you again soon ,edelweisss guest house bridlington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I really didn't know that these type of seaside "boarding houses" still existed and would love to know what the "Hotel Inspector" would make of the outdated decor and the shower cabinet in the corner of the room! I note that another reviewer was also given this room and the proprietor said that he had no option as the place was full. This could not be the reason we were given it as we appeared to be the only guests or perhaps there was one other family.
Even if I hadn't got a small child with me I would not have expected someone vacuuming and carpet sweeping close by the room at 9.30pm!
I also agree with previous reviewers who comment that having to make your breakfast choices the moment one arrives is somewhat disconcerting (even if this can be changed each day). The quality was poor and the fresh fruit and fruit salad offered on the menu were not to be seen.
The final straw was when someone ran after me down the road after we had left asking me to go back and pay the bill! I had a receipt in my bag as this had been an on-line booking; such was their shambolic "system"! I have over 40 reviews on this site and I believe that this is the first one I have not been able to praise for at least some aspect of the stay although perhaps I should say that the location is good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seat47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p140276, Manager at Edelweiss Guest House, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
firstly booking online cost you more than we charge we cant change this due to the high commition charged to us by online booking agencys if you would have called us direct you wold have saved money as your child wold have been half price as explained when you arrived as i have low prices on show outside all year and when online bookers see the prices they dont like it this is not my falt and seem to be getting bad reviews becouse of this which is not fair as 90 reviews privious prove before i sighned up with on line booking system have had a good expereance,anyway hotell inspector high 3 star bnb rooms have been decorated with in the last 2 years some at £20 per roll new en suites only room 2 has problem with the shower in the room but has sink and toilet with door not to everyones taste but still en suite due to the place of plumbing cant be chaned but every other room has seperate en suite room so has been cancled fromm room listing for on line bookings so this does not get more bad press untill we can do some thing else with the room but other regular guests ask for this room frequently so cant please everyone ,vacuming issue no idea at that time ? but proves we keep the place clean ,breakfast issuses dont know what we can change as every one seems to enjoy it as lots of reviews state ? AND FOR THE PAYMENT ISSUES our on line booking system was so new it did not give us payment info only booking info but has been sorted out after i comlpained to the company as i lost money through this system so just covering my back too but you did not show us your recept eather so blame on both parties i think ,the lack of feed back from you as asked every day if any issues and you said every thing good ,if you had a problem with the room we could have moved you if we had spare rooms available but as you asked for the 1st floor and was booked online this room was shown to you and no issued were raised and used the room without complaint ,we try to sort out any issues with the customer first with out taking it out on us resulting in bad reviews on trip advisor at a later date unfair i think once again communication and booking direct to save money is usefull, thank you for your input
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Well what a disapointment to a pre-booked family holiday with grandchildren and elderly parent. The advert say's Guest House with bar, it was closed! The hotelier had taken on a pub down the road! On checking in he informed us of this and we were welcome as they had Kareoke on at the pub. The idea of booking a guest house with bar was so we could stay in and enjoy a quiet drink with family before retiring to bed. The hospitality came from only one member of the team and we had to pre-book breakfasts and like one couple who wanted well done bacon but they could not do this as the grill was off and it takes 20 minutes to warm up! The breakfast came with plenty of toast and a pot of tea nothing more to shout about. I think people who run a buisiness should concentrate on the paying guests in their own establishment. This is the first time of taking grandchildren to a 'Guest House' and what a disapointment!

Room Tip: Try somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glendalola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p140276, Manager at Edelweiss Guest House, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
we try our best to have good standards and our breakfasts are taken on arrival to cut down waste and can be changed each day on request same as most bnb owners do if you want well done bacon not a problem as long as we know as cooked on a griddle and slow cooked in the oven ready for guests in the morning ,yes we do run a pub also but does not effect our standards at the bnb ,the bnb bar was open on request as we had other guests using it you were ether going out or going to bed early ,we dont keep it open when no one uses it ,our local pub offers entertainment for your family as our other guests used ,when asked every morning at breakfast if every thing ok ,any problems ,you said no we try to resolve any problems ,rather than bad reviews as unfair ,as you said your children were argueing with each other all the time ,and are used to staying in a caravan not a bnb we cant be blamed for this ,and booking direct rather than online would have saved you money as we pay commition to the on line booking agencys you booked with ,once again dissapointed with the lack of comunication to resolve any issues before giving a bad review as many others have had a good holiday with us and will continue to do so ,good luck in the future ,edelweiss guest house
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
1.0 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oakwell Guest House
Oakwell Guest House
#12 of 121 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Longcroft Lodge
Longcroft Lodge
#76 of 121 in Bridlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spa View Guest House
Spa View Guest House
#50 of 121 in Bridlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hollies
The Hollies
#88 of 121 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
The Mayville Guest House
#79 of 121 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Guest House

Property: Edelweiss Guest House
Address: 86-88 Windsor Crescent, Bridlington YO15 3JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Edelweiss Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Guest House Bridlington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing