We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like something from forty years ago”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edelweiss Guest House
Ranked #82 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is the kind of accommodation that makes people go abroad. I do not know how it has achieved these amazing reviews as it is probably the worst place I have seen in any country (apart from Vietnam) in many years of traveling. Dated, smelly, tired decor, dirty carpets, a shower actually in the room , a view of a back ginnel. Totally depressing, if this is what we have to offer visitors as a place to stay we deserve to be in recession. Astonishing that this is acceptable in this day and age and that Trip Advisor are promoting this as five star rated accommodation.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Elainerainmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p140276, Manager at Edelweiss Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

as it was a bussy bank holiday weekend the room you booked was not available due to a leak and was offered another room or your money back ,the room you mention is not to our normal standard of en suite rooms and is the only room with out seperate en suite allthough is classed ias a en suite as it has private toilet and shower in the room the view is of our back garden and a enclosed yard with plants and flowers it is not to every ones taste but many have stayed in the room and have had a enjoyable holiday as for being dirty and smelling ,i dont think so ,the only reason for a bad review even though you did not stay here is becouse i could not swap rooms as we were full ,and nd could not get your own way as your twos behavior got worse and refused to pay after using the rooms facilitys before leaving the keys with out checking out ,our appoligies again for your dissapointment ,cant please everybody all the time ,some you cant please at all

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 110 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

There wasn't anything at all that we could fault at this bed and breakfast. The bedroom was of a good size. Plenty of room for all our clothes The en suite was very light and bright The whole place was very clean. The breakfast was a full english with choice of pouched fried or scrambled eggs. Toast tea or coffee cereals and fruit juice.
Pete the owner was very friendly helpful and could contacted at anytime should you need to.
Would stay here again

Room Tip: Should you have problems with stairs mention it to Pete to ensure a ground floor room. We had a fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshowenharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p140276, Manager at Edelweiss Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

thank you for your kind review ,nice to hear sush kind reviews and hope to see you again soon ,edelweiss guest house

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We booked to stay at the edelweiss at last minute and the price was very reasonable so we were a little apprehensive but just needed to have a few days away, WOW we were very pleasantly surprised it was so lovely, friendly, welcoming and clean, the rooms were of a high quality and good size and the breakfasts were lovely and we relaxed in the bar at the evening and Pete was very friendly and very sweet to our daughter who is disabled and he was very caring and accommodating to her needs in all amazing weekend, i even got a birthday card on the Sunday morning for my birthday, lovely gesture, we'll defo be back there thanks for a great weekend guys x

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViknJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p140276, Manager at Edelweiss Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

thank you for your kind review ,good to meet your family and hope to see you again soon from all at edelweiss guest house bridlington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Me my husband and daughter stayed the guest house was lovely and clean and the bar area was nice and relaxed on an evening ! We have already booked to go back in August and wouldn't stay anywhere else !

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gallen0142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p140276, Manager at Edelweiss Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

thank you for your kind words and letting others know about your experiance with us ,always a pleasure ,hope to see you again in the future ,edelwiss guest house bridlington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 3 nights last weekend at the eidellweis and would like to thank Pete and Jackie so much for the welcome we received. The twin en suite room was great and Pete brought us an extra radiator into the room as it was a bitterly cold weekend. The breakfast was second to none I have ever had in guest houses and hotels. One morning I had a little problem in the room and told Pete at brekky and when we got back to the room he was there rectyfing I, and also stayed chatting for half an hour which was great. Once again thanks for a great weekend and def see you in summer.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave willy .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p140276, Manager at Edelweiss Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

thank you for your review ,we try our best to help our guest to our best ability and proved we are a family run bussiness that try to help in any way we can as proved in you review thoughts ,thanks again and see you soon ,edelweiss guest house bridlington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This guest house has to be the best I have ever been in,not a thing was out of place I would certainly go again amazingly clean and great bar too I would advise familys and even couples on a cheeky weekend your guaranteed to have a good laugh Jackie and Pete have been nice and always socialble every time I've been for the last 3 years!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p140276, Manager at Edelweiss Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

thank you for your kind comments and wellcome you back time after time a pleasure to have you stay and see you soon in the future ,edelweiss guest house bridlington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here earlier this year and really enjoyed our selfs jackie and Peter are very welcoming , the hotel is lovely and warm with a real friendly atmosphere. We would definitely stay again and the breakfasts are spot on , thank you both hope to see you soon. Karen and family (the marsh) x

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1967margo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p140276, Manager at Edelweiss Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

thank you or your kind review ,loved having you stay here and meeting your family and hope to visit your pub in cleckeaton {the marsh} next time were over that way in the future ,see you soon and thanks again edelweiss guest house bridlington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
240 reviews
1 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Longcroft Lodge
Longcroft Lodge
#61 of 117 in Bridlington
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 117 in Bridlington
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Seafront
Pembroke Seafront
#73 of 117 in Bridlington
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spa View Guest House
Spa View Guest House
#34 of 117 in Bridlington
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Guest House

Address: 86-88 Windsor Crescent, Bridlington YO15 3JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range: $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edelweiss Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Guest House Bridlington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing