We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep going back”
Review of The Tennyson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tennyson
Ranked #49 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our 4th stay at The tennyson and we are never disappointed. We again stayed in the four poster room. This is at the top of the house but is well worth the climb. A lovely room with a comfortable bed, and a nice big bathroom with bath and over bath shower. There is a plenty of choice for breakfast, and the bacon is some of the best that we have ever tasted. Diane and Roy were as helpful and friendly as ever, and their two dogs are adorable. All being well we shall be there again at the same time next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2130arthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianew2, Owner at The Tennyson, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thanks for the review. Lovely to see you both again! Keep well. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Remember to bring the weather with you, seemed to work this year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for The Tennyson
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 58 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

We, Derek & Sandra, stayed here for a couple of days, It was beautifully clean and a fridge in the room ,complete with some milk was a welcome inclusion. The breakfast was beautiful,, lots of choice, To find that you could take pets made us think of coming here next year, with ours. Looking forward to it already, thankyou for all your help Diane & Roy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haslet63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianew2, Owner at The Tennyson, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found everything was OK. We hope to see your again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I took my Mum for a 3 day break. Diane and Roy were really nice and accomodating. The breakfast was delicious with plenty of options. The room was spotlessly clean. Comfortable beds and peaceful nights sleep. Excellent location. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanna45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianew2, Owner at The Tennyson, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Glad you had a good time and we lived up to your exppectaions. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed here for a weekend in September. We found the place very clean and comfortable and the owners pleasant and friendly. Once we unplugged the fridge which was next to the bed(the motor started up every 15 mins), we had a very peaceful nights sleep. The location is excellent, and although parking spaces were limited, we did always find one close to the B&B ( a parking permit was provided on our arrival).
The only crticism I have is that the tea making facilities were not topped up on the second day. I feel this doesn't cost much and I wouldn't feel comfortable disturbing the owners when I came back to the room late at night and would have loved a nice cuppa, but the tea bags had not been replenished,

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewisfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianew2, Owner at The Tennyson, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the fridge did not spoil your experience! Sorry about our oversight re the tea bags. We try hard to be perfect but know we slip up sometimes. I am sorry you did not feel able to disturb us to correct the error!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

my husband and me stopped for three nights, it was very nice, very clean lovley clean towels every day , fab breakfast very comfortable room, lovley location, 5 mins from sea and all amenities i would go again

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianew2, Owner at The Tennyson, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We are really late leaving our review (we stayed last year!) but on seeing other reviews i wanted to give our experience.
We stayed over a weekend with our two sons aged 3 and 1. We stayed in the family room which was perfect as the children shared a room right next to ours, they had their own sink to brush their teeth and wash their hands and a tv to watch cartoons in the morning.
Breakfast was delicious and the children enjoyed pouring their own cereal. 1 morning we didn't fancy a full fry up and just had mushrooms on toast which were quite possibly the nicest mushrooms ever!
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma-Horan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianew2, Owner at The Tennyson, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the kids enjoyed themselves. We look forward to seeing you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I have read the other reviews but I'd suggest things have moved on and have been improved because I can't mirror their views.

We booked 2 rooms a Double and a Twin for our Son.

ROOMS - Comfortable, Warm, Well Heated, Mini-Fridge
BATHROOMS - En-suite with Power Shower (Double) or Bath/Mixer (Twin)
FACILITIES - Coffee, Tea, Pint of milk in the fridge (well done!), No issues with supply - BOTH
BREAKFAST - "diy" cereal, toast and juice (no issues). Full English 10/10.
LOCATION - close to the centre, v.v.short walk to the beach, quiet location
PARKING - No issues with finding a space on the street. Parking Permit provided by Owners to cover all days.

PROPRIETORS - Helpful, courteous, good cooks!

THINGS TO DO CLOSE BY -
1) Sewerby Park + House + Golf/Putting + ZOO (don't miss the Guinea Pigs & Penguins!!
2) Bempton Cliffs - Puffins, Gannets & Gullemots
3) Filey + Filey Brigg (Watch the tide timings for the Brigg)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SheffieldSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianew2, Owner at The Tennyson, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Sorry it has taken me a while to respond to your review. I have to say it is very comprehensive and am very pleased that you enjoyed yourself and were not disappointed in any way. We try hard to provide accommodation that we would be pleased to stay in ourselves and hope that we succeed. Glad we managed to satisfyyour requirements and standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.7 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aidansdale Hotel
Aidansdale Hotel
#60 of 117 in Bridlington
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#39 of 117 in Bridlington
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Etherleigh
The Etherleigh
#10 of 117 in Bridlington
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malvern Guest House
Malvern Guest House
#25 of 117 in Bridlington
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mayville Guest House
The Mayville Guest House
#80 of 117 in Bridlington
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tennyson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tennyson

Address: 19 Tennyson Avenue, Bridlington YO15 2EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range: $70 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tennyson 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Tennyson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tennyson Bridlington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing