We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food with decent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 118 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
210 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Decent food with decent service”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We ate here for an evening meal after it was recommended in the brochure in the guest house we were stopping in. We had a look at the menu board outside and decided to give it a good.

The bar and waiting staff seemed friendly enough. My mum had the fish, chips and mushy peas, whilst I had the steak burger, chips and side salad from the Specials Menu that we were handed once we had taken our seat. The portions were decent and were enough for us. The food was good.

Only slight criticism I would have are that the chips were frozen and would have liked to have had fresh/homemade chips. Overall though we would go again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Smh2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    69
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
51
118
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
milton keynes
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed here for a few days last week.The room was perfect with lovely view of the harbour.The staff couldnt have been more friendly and helpful.The food was excellent and plentiful.Free parking.The best hotel we have ever stayed in. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and will be going back in the Autumn.

Room Tip: Only room available was a family room with twin beds pushed together. Awkward when your on honeymoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed early May,Nice comfortable twin room with view over harbour,modernTv /dvd,bottled water,tea coffee etc and even a dish of sweets.Nice clean bed with white linen.Good bathroom with quality shower gel etc.Good choice for breakfast.cereals,juices,fresh fruit and blueberry/chocolate muffins.A full English breakfast with tea or coffee.This place is on the harbour, you can't get any nearer to the sea.Free parking at front of hotel,Brilliant stay!

Room Tip: Harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourerexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We found the staff to be polite, friendly and helpul. The room was clean and tastefully decorated, with clean fresh bed linen and towels. The bed was comfortable. The TV worked (which isn't always the case in hotels). We made use of the tea and coffee making facilities, whish were very good with a choice of drinks and biscuits, but could have done with more milk. (I'm sure they would have given us more, had we asked). We enjoyed the pleasant cosy bar and restaurant. I've read some of the reviews about food...the drinks at the bar were quite expensive, but this was offset by the very reasonable prices of the meals in the restaurant. The food was quickly served; large portions, hot and very tasty. Breakfast-choice of cereal with orange juice (help yourself). Full English of lean bacon, sausage, egg, mushrooms, beans, tomatoes and black pudding-served with toast and tea or coffee...what more do you want! If you don't like a full English, there are other options. We are hoping to get booked in again later this year and bring our children for a another short break and will recommend Rags to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RotherhamJPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We went to Bridlington for a 5 day break last March and found Rags one of the best parts of it!

- Location was brilliant, views and right on the harbour. Best hotel location we could find.

- We booked the best room on the lower floor, which felt more like our own flat, with a jacuzzi bath which was a nice added bonus.

- They were prepared to cook anything for us for breakfast as long as they had the ingredients!!

- Staff very polite and welcoming, felt right at home.

- Best meals in Bridlington, we ate there every night!

- They do fantastic offers if you sign up for them, including anniversary's and birthday meals.
(We went back for my birthday and received a full 3 course meal for me!)


No doubt we will be going back for many anniversary celebrations to come!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahSheff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had a great meal in here on Easter Saturday, had a table right at the front with the view of the harbour. The food is fantastic I had the largest prawn cocktail that I have had in a long time, my partners soup was also top notch and pipping hot just the way it should be. The main course was no let down either, apart from the fact the we are then to full to have desert as they do knickerblockaglories whcih I would have loved. Will be back again to try the out. Great value for money and excellent service. It was also a shame that we had already booked another hotel.

Room Tip: If I had stayed here one overlooking the harbour would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Overall I would say this is a 3 star that trys to be 4 star and "al a carte" .Very large plates in the restaurant with small qty's of food that is expensive for what you get. My husband had scampi n chips n the chips were oven chips that were very, very dry so he couldnt eat them, and the scampi must have been bought at the local freezer shop not from the local fishermen (which is what you would expect from the coast) I had the carvery type meal and was given three small roast potatoes with the type of beef you buy in a packet from the suppermarket, not cut from a joint and was swimming in gravy, which is ok if you like gravy but I think you should be given a jug to put the amount you like on. When they came to take away our plates the guy asked my husband if he wasnt hungry as he had left all his chips n we said they were very dry, n the reply was, sorry! but he wasnt given a reduction or anything, it seemed as thought he wasnt really bothered. We think we were gven the left overs as it was after 9 o clock and we were the only ones in there. (we went with 2 friends) On the positive side the bedding and towels were very clean and white and the beds were comfortable but the pillows were a little hard. The bathrooms are ready to be updated but this is supposed to be on the agender. The location is good and you have free parking if you are staying there but we wont be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annifer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
1.0 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 118 in Bridlington
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Spa View Guest House
Spa View Guest House
#51 of 118 in Bridlington
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Seafront
Pembroke Seafront
#64 of 118 in Bridlington
32 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kilburn
The Kilburn
#2 of 118 in Bridlington
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant

Property: Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Address: South Pier, Bridlington YO15 3AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant Hotel Bridlington
Rags Hotel, Bar And Restaurant
Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant Bridlington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing