We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 118 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
187 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Its ok”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stopped here with my wife whilst going to a concert. The first impressions were good but the origional room we had was on the ground floor and all we could here were the people above us moving around, so we asked if we could change rooms. The lad behind the bar seemed reluctant to help but did evetually show us a family room overlooking the harbour. We changed to thgis room, it was ok, clean and nice big bath with views over harbour.

Room was very cosy on a cold weekend and we slept well in the confy beds. Breakfast was a little disappointing and had to help ourselves to coffee as we only got offered the one cup but it didnt hurt me to get up. Overall we enjoyed the stay but staff were not brilliant.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    69
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
50
116
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London,
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

I made a last minute booking for a business trip in December and was greeted by a warm welcome and a warm room - both appreciated after a very long journey.
The hotel has stunning views over the harbour and sea and is ideally located for The Spa theatre and other local amenities, all just a short walk away.
My room was clean and very comfortable, the only downside was not being able to connect to the wifi. I've stayed here three times over the last year and never been able to connect to wifi, but if you're on holiday or having a short break, I wouldn't let that put you off.
Breakfast was very good and service was attentive.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CookieTin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2011

A very nice place to stay in bridlington i stayed for 12 nights while working in bridlington and really enjoyed my stay . I will return in the summer with my wife and kidds thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayabusa68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night as we were seeing at show at The Spa, very close by.
You check in at the bar downstairs which was really busy and no one really had time for us. Rooms are out of the bar and into a door off the street. Rooms and hallway smelt very fusty. Room was ok and adequate for 1 night but not as good as stated on website. We had a meal in the restaurant which was nice and breakfast i felt was very good.(scambled egg and smoked salmon). Full English however left my husband unimpressed but was ok.

Served its purpose.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TMMID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The hotel is in a central position in Bridlington on the harbour.We stayed here for 2 nights in a double room which overlooked the road and car park.Rooms which overlook the harbour are also available.Parking is free directly outside the hotel.The room was spacious, clean and airy and decorated well.There was a good sized tv and tea/coffee facilities with biscuits. The bathroom had both a shower and bath, and had mini toiletries and a hairdryer.The bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows and cushions and extra bedding if needed. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival by a young lady who showed us to our room and where breakfast was served.
The breakfast was excellent with a choice of cereals, juices, pastries, which could be followed by a delicious full english breakfast served to your table by staff.We enjoyed breakfast while looking over the harbour - what a great view! The staff again were professional and polite. On our final night we had a meal in the restaurant and it was exceptional and very good value for money. Choices were fish,steak and italian dishes and a good selection of starters and desserts.Overall we had a great and pleasant stay and found all the staff to be friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nashwan90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Having stayed at Rags before and knowing their website stated the rooms had all been refurbished to a very high standard we booked a room with high anticipation..........only to be severely disappointed.

The bedroom area was very nice except for the fact the main room light had been replaced by a smaller version at some point but the ceiling had not been painted, leaving a large magnolia ring around the light fitting - on a white ceiling.

The bathroom was the real problem. There was a hole in the tile where the shower head had been moved, the head itself has not been cleaned for quite sometime, adjusting the temperature for the shower was tricky, the bath iteself is a different colour to the toilet and basin, and there is grout and sealant missing from around the bath.

We had Room 5 which has a beautiful harbour view but there is no way this room is worth the required £95.00 per night charge. The only saving grace is that we got a good deal from LateRooms.com

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozzy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We have just returned from a two night stay at Rags. We loved it.The rooms are lovely and modern our double bed was so comfy. The location was perfect just down in the harbour. We used it as a base to tour the coast. Julie the owner couldnt do enough for us all the staff are nice. We had a lovely meal in the restraunt, sat looking out watching the fishing boats perfect!!!! . cant wait for our next visit xxx

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
1.0 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spa View Guest House
Spa View Guest House
#47 of 118 in Bridlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Swallow Hotel
The Swallow Hotel
#9 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kilburn
The Kilburn
#2 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant

Property: Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Address: South Pier, Bridlington YO15 3AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rags Hotel, Bar And Restaurant
Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant Hotel Bridlington
Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant Bridlington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing