We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend in Bridlington”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oakwell Guest House
Ranked #13 of 118 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Weekend in Bridlington”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Amazing customer service. Gorgeous breakfast. Very clean and quaint rooms. Carol and Alec couldn't do enough for us. Great location - about 5 minutes walk from the beach and the Spa Theatre. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark-Smith-Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi Lads (Mark) Thank you for your review, we are pleased you liked your first trip to Bridlington, we are happy that all was ok for you all. We hope to see you all again some time. Take care.
Regards
Carole & Alec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    26
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
52
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night with our two children aged 5 and one.
This is a lovely little guest house close to the seafront. Our family room was plenty big enough to fit a travel cot in. The rooms are clean and you get a lovely freshly cooked breakfast. The children enjoyed their child size breakfast too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi Eve
Thank you for your review, both Alec & myself are pleased that you all enjoyed your stay. Glad the children were happy with it all.
We hope to see you in the future.

Regards
Carole & Alec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Had a great stay two night stay at the Oakwell. Carole and Alec are really hospitable, with nothing too much trouble. Bedroom and en-suite facility extremely clean, with really comfortable beds. Breakfast super, with plenty of choice and freshly cooked. Would definitely recommend and stay again. Linda, Julie and grandchildren

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you Linda for your review, we always like to hear comments. We are pleased that you all enjojed your short stay & that you will return in the future.
Thank you again
Carole & Alec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiveton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a lovely Guest House run by Carole and Alec, two lovely people who are great hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable.The room we stayed in was very clean and fulfilled our expectations of a comfy place to sleep (pity about the seagulls that screamed incessantly). We had really hearty breakfasts that set us up for the day, they were delicious. Parking permits were provided free, a boon in a busy seaside town where parking is at a premium. Overall a lovely experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your review, both Alec & I are pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us, we are sorry about the Sea gulls nothing we can do unfortunatley, hope they didn't put you off returning to Bridlington in the future.
Regards
Carole & Alec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just come back from Oakwell after staying two nights. What a fantastic, clean, tidy guest house. Breakfasts are lovely. Nothing is too much trouble at all, they looked after our milk and warmed my little girls milk up every morning and night. Carol and Eric are extremely accommodating and will do everything they can for you, even looking for their sudocrem when my little girl had fallen over. We will be back next year - once we have our dates together I will be booking three rooms again. Take care and look after each other. Amanda

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you Amanda for your comments, we are pleased that you are pleased with our little guest house. We both try & do what we can for people it doesn't hurt to be helpfull. As for the Sudacream you were welcome to it. We look foreward to seeing you all next year, will have carry cot ready.

Regards
Carole & Alec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few times now and really cannot fault the place. The hotel is immaculately clean and the rooms i have stayed in are decorated nice and modern. The beds have been comfy and i have slept very well. Breakfast is nice and i will be stopping there again :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is always nice to recieve good comments from our guests, we endendever tokeep the place as clean as possible, & give good value. Hope to see yoou in the future.
Carole & Alec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed last year in August, and just returned back from another weekend. Carole & Alec are great hosts, nothing is too much trouble, they make you feel really welcome. We had family room at front and was clean and comfy beds. The breakfast is fantastic! We will definitely return. Thank you and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi Tracy, thank you for your review, we are glad all is the same as last year, we hope it is to the same standared when you come again next time,(we will try our best).
Look foreward to seeing you again, dont forget how scrambled egg is done.
Carole & Alec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.0 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spa View Guest House
Spa View Guest House
#50 of 118 in Bridlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malvern Guesthouse
Malvern Guesthouse
#12 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ivanhoe Guest House
Ivanhoe Guest House
#8 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwell Guest House

Property: Oakwell Guest House
Address: 84 Windsor Crescent, Bridlington YO15 3JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakwell Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carole & Alec welcome you to the Oakwell Guest House, a 6 bedroom all en-suite establishment, only 5 mins walk from the harbour and railway station. Spa Theatre only a few mins walk away. We try to cater for all needs. We are family orientated and nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oakwell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwell Guest House Bridlington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing