We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oakwell Guest House
Ranked #12 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Very friendly warm welcome in an excellent location. Stayed with a friend and two children great clean large room with Sky channels tea coffee making facilities.
Breakfast was wonderful great choice especially for the children.
Abe the dog was a big hit with the kids would recommend this B&B to all family & friends.
Hosts could not do enough for us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamela l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed you stay & that all was to your satisfaction, Abe is our pet and very old (13yrs), he just loves to meet & greet people.
I am glad that Abe didn't put you off as some people dont like having a dog around. We always ask if they mind him on arrival.

Once again thank you and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 237 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here just for one night on the 11th August 2012, having read reviews on trip advisor. I have to say that the reviews were spot on. The children had a family room and the beds were very comfortable with an en suite. We shared a double room with en suite. Both rooms and en suites were extremely clean, plenty of towels provided together with shampoo, cotton wool and other items. A hairdryer was also provided in the room. Breakfast was superb and could not be faulted. The black pudding was cooked to perfection. If you are looking for a nice, clean, friendly and well located B&B then look no further.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your review, we were pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and the breakfast, all say the breakfast is good. We aim to please, and I hope we have thought of everything that people would need if staying for a night.
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

if you were driving blind into bridlington looking for a b and b you may not pick out the oakwell over other establishments but having stayed there recently for 3 nights i wouldnt stay anywhere else. warm friendly welcome from carol and alec you really felt like you were guests in their home.
our room was immaculately clean, comfy beds and a small but really nice en-suite.
breakfast was fantastic you could pick whatever you liked from cereal to full english which included everything from a choice of cooked eggs to black pudding and vegetarian options.
it has to be one of the best breakfasts ive eaten not a drop of grease anywhere and such a huge plateful i requested less the day after as i couldnt eat it all!
this guest house is run by honest hard working good people who take pride in their job. i will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dee-pee-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Many thanks for your review, it was loverly to hear your comments, which we are pleased about. It shows that we care what our guests think and what they would like. We like all comments & hopefully if their are any which can be delt with at the time of any stay we do are most to fix it.

Hope you visit us agin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed one night in a family room. The hosts were really friendly and made us feel very welcome. The room was spotless and the beds were really comfy. The Oakwell is in a great location, end of the road and youre at the beach and Harbour. Parking permits are issued when you check in, so it saves the hassle of driving around looking for somewhere to park. I will definately recommend to family & friends. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your comments we appreciate all, we both try to keep it friendly & homely. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is one of the best b&b's I have ever stayed in the hosts are very friendly and the hotel is very clean and would recommend this b&b to anyone a great time Had by the whole family and they are also very good with young children and will go out of there way to help you out also a very lovely breakfast

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robkatieandolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thank you both for your review & so quick, we are pleased that you enjoyed yourselves,& glad you got home safely. Hope Olly has settled again now he is home.
both Alec & I look foreward to seeing you all again.
Carole & Alec

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here 20/7/2012 as a single traveller. A warm welcome from a lovely couple Alec and Carol.The premises are spotless and room very comfortable. Situated in a quiet location only a few minutes walk to the promenade, Spa Theatre, harbour and town. The breakfast was excellent and a vegetarian alternative is available. There are local bars within easy walking distance but like all Bridlington pubs they tend to be noisy and bad language is prevalent
Not negatives but purely by way of comment:-
1. A bar is advertised but in fact this comprises a few bottles in an alcove under the stairs.
2. The lounge is that of the owners which they share with the company of their well behaved dog.
3. The Breakfast Room is small and contains only 4 tables and if it was not for the hostess requesting guests to wait a while you could find yourself table sharing.
Overall very good and the hosts must be proud of the excellent reviews,5/5 under the Food Standard Agency Scheme and a Certificate of excellence awarded by Trip Advisor.
The hosts are very caring and will do all in their power to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.
Thanks you two,
Regards,
Kevin from Alfreton

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jims64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you Kevin for your review, we were pleased that you enjoyed your stay, as to your comments,
1)The bar is small but as you saw their isn't anyroom for it any place else, 99 per cent
of our guests go out, only a hand full with small children use it.
2) Our dog as you say is very well behaved, we always ask our guests if they are ok with dogs, if not then he is put out the back,bear in mind he is old and part of the family he is 13 1/2, he is only out when we are in the lounge.
3) We do breakfast between 8-9am so hopefully people will stagger it, but 9 times out10 they all come down at 8.30. I cook the breakfast fresh so it takes a bit longer, I find people are fine with this, as I will not have it sat in the oven for hrs.
We hope this does not put you off coming again, thank you again

Carole & Alec

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

once again a really good time was had by us all the hosts were as brilliant as ever this time was to celibrate our wedding anniversrys which are on the same day carol and alec gave us both a bottle of wine how kind was that brill food as usual its just a lovely place to stay hope to be back soon with the kiddies

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denise r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Many thanks for your review, we are pleased that things are the same, and you enjoyed your stay.
We do try our best to please all as & when we can, look foreward to seeing you soon.
Regards
Carole & Alec

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
236 reviews
1.0 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
593 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 117 in Bridlington
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ivanhoe Guest House
Ivanhoe Guest House
#9 of 117 in Bridlington
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Seafront
Pembroke Seafront
#68 of 117 in Bridlington
35 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Glen Alan Guest House
The Glen Alan Guest House
#20 of 117 in Bridlington
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwell Guest House

Address: 84 Windsor Crescent, Bridlington YO15 3JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range: $82 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakwell Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carole & Alec welcome you to the Oakwell Guest House, a 6 bedroom all en-suite establishment, only 5 mins walk from the harbour and railway station. Spa Theatre only a few mins walk away. We try to cater for all needs. We are family orientated and nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Oakwell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwell Guest House Bridlington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing