We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Brockton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Expanse Hotel(Bridlington)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Monarch Hotel(Bridlington)
$89
$86
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$179
$174
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
25
10
3
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
10
3
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewrecommend this hotelbridlington spastay there againgreat hostsshort breakkate
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 49 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We originally booked the Royal Bridlington for the weekend away but was told that due to a double booking they have moved us to the B&B across the road, The Brockton. They assured my partner that the B&B was also a 4 star B&B and of the same quality. We paid by debit card and the Roayl Bridlington did not offer us any refund as an alternative, we therefore felt that we had no option but to go to the Brockton.

I wish we read the reviews before we went, loosing the money paid would have been a better option.

When we arrived at the B&B he openly rolled his eyes upwards at the great inconvenience of having to let us into the B&B in the afternoon. He was rude, could hardly move his lips to speak and when we asked for the log on for the wi-fi (which is advertised as available free of charge) he reacted as if we asked him to hand over his most precious posession.

Throughout the weekend he was rude to everyone,not just us, responding in a rude manner to the other guests' requests and was generally being obnoxious.

The only good thing is the breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Runold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed for one night on the 28th July. Both host's were nice, alan was funny. The room was a double room ensuite, it was clean. we paid £70.00 for 2 of us.Bed and Breakfast. The breakfast was excellent. Left feeling full. Got a car parking space which is the reason we booked. Free wifi, and a small bar in. We didnt use. Its about a 10 minuite walk to the main shops. We had a bit of a sea view. Overall a nice hotel and would go back. Loverly stay.Thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The3M's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We have just returned from our lads weekend golf trip, had a great laugh with Alan the owner I must say the reviews above don't do it justice they must be lacking in the humour department will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

We have stayed at the Brockton twice because we were visiting a relative nearby. The first time we ignored the overbearing, rude landlord's sarcastic remarks because the place was clean and had 2 ground floor rooms to accommodate elderly relatives travelling with us. We booked 3 rooms for 17th Dec and had to pay £50 deposit which I thought excessive, We'd been there before and thought the landlord would try to be pleasant on a return visit, I asked him to ensure the rooms for the elderly ladies were warm - all 3 rooms were very cold and our room never did get warm. The landlord is odd; and muttered under his breath behind our backs, my husband challenged about this - he then said he was 'singing' - he was NOT. Throughout our visit we felt we imposing on him and were an inconvenience. His overall demeanour and attitude made out stay the most uncomfortable and unpleasant we have ever encountered. We are well travelled and have stayed at hotels and B&Bs in the UK and abroad and the Brockton is the worst ever. Each time we have stayed we have been the only guests. We could not get WiFi. The only good thing was the breakfast.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

If a good Yorkshire welcome is something that is important to you, then I suggest that you may want to choose another hotel.
From the initial telephone booking to the actual check in and stay, the male proprietor was abrupt, grumpy, miserable, curt and disagreeable. He has no customer care skills whatsoever and can be quite unpleasant.
This is a real shame because overall this was a reasonable hotel, a little old fashioned with lots of china dolls and knickknacks, but very clean. Food was also to a very good standard with a good choice of menu, and certainly no quibbles about portion size. It may be a better arrangement for all concerned if “mien host” let his wife deal with front of house, and he remained out of sight and earshot in the kitchen. If your not bothered about Mr Grumpy and can ignore him, then it may be worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank jetset6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews