We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprice visit to see family”
Review of Rivendell Hotel

Rivendell Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rivendell Hotel
Ranked #72 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 20, 2013

we went for a short break to the rivendell hotel, like to say you get a nice welcome when you arrive at the hotel. we did 2 nights bed and breakfast they have won awards for there breakfasts at this hotel. we was on the second floor , good side bedrooms, nice and warm and a nice en- suite , good choice you can pick for breakfast.it is licenced, they do half board as well,very good sevice. in the lounge they have a lot of books for you to read.

Room Tip: they have a car park round at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHARLIEBOY62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnenichols, Owner at Rivendell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments about the Rivendell, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with in Bridlington and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Ian & Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 48 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very welcoming. Clean uptodate rooms. Comfortable and warm. Generous size lounge with plenty of reading material if needed. Near the beach. Short walk to the harbour with old fashioned fun. Great breakfast with quick and friendly service. I would definitely use this one again.

Room Tip: cash or cheques only here - so be prepared!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANNELeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnenichols, Owner at Rivendell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

We are very pleased that you and you're friends enjoyed you're stay with us and hope we will see you again in the future. regards Ian & Lynne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have stayed here on seven occasions this year we received a warm welcome on all our visits.The rooms are comfortable and have everything you need.The breakfasts were fantastic it gives exceptional value for money. ,

Room Tip: All rooms we stayed in were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnenichols, Owner at Rivendell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments, its always a pleasure to look after you, look forward to your next visit. Ian & Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with my wife 24th-28th September 2012.
This was a lovely place to stay with room,food and location all excellent.
We had room 5 which had the bath as well as the shower.
Car parking was an added bonus as permits were required on the streets.
The owners were friendly and very helpful.
All in all if you visit Bridlington you could do yourself a good turn by choosing this fine hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjc1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnenichols, Owner at Rivendell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thanks for your lovely comments, hope to see you again in the future. Ian & Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My partner and I booked here at very last minute notice having planned to stay at York and having a last minute change of plan and head to Bridlington. I found the Rivendell by chance on my phone whilst we had stopped for something to eat and rang to be advised that they had one room available - phew!!.
When we arrived the car park at the rear was full and as my partner started to reverse back onto the road, the owner popped his head out and told us we could park on the front of the Hotel. As soon as we entered, we were greeted and offered tea and coffee which were brought to us in the lounge area together with a little plate of biscuits. We were passed a form to complete which we just left in the lounge when we had finished our drink, we were handed our room key and told what time breakfast was.
We were in room 6 which is on the second floor at the side of the house and from our side window we could see the sea. It was a lovely room and just suited us perfectly. I think some of the rooms have baths and others have showers, ours had a shower which I didn't use, My partner did and he said that he couldn't get the temperature right in it, and it was either too hot or too cold, but as we were only staying there for one night it wasn't something which affected our trip at all.

We didn't get chance to have dinner there, which was a pity but from reading the literature in the lobby, you have to have pre-booked dinner by 4pm and we didn't arrive until after that ( which explains why we didn't have it) but the dining room is lovely and there is a little bar and if we had have stayed for another night I think we would have tried eating at the hotel.

Breakfast is served from 8.30 - 9.15am and check out is 10am. This information is noted near the desk on the lobby. Each room has it's number on it's table so you know where you're sitting. We were offered tea or coffee as soon as we entered the dining room and were shown the table with a variety of cold stuff - cereals, yoghurts, fruit, fruit juice and then our breakfast order was taken. There was no vegetarian option on the menu so I simply had the full english without the meat, and that was absolutely fine. We were offered toast and more toast and also more coffee. The dining room had a lovely atmosphere and we didn't feel that we had to whisper awkwardly incase other diners were listening as the tables were far enough apart to make it private and there was also some nice background music being played.

We hadn't planned on staying here, but are glad that we did. It's easy to find and only a two minute walk from the Beach and Promenade. I took a card and we may well be staying here again if we come to Bridlington again. :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mummysquadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnenichols, Owner at Rivendell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Glad you stayed with us and not in York, thanks for the lovely comments and we are happy that you enjoyed your visit to us and hope to see you again in the future. Ian & Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed for two nights with my family and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Rivendell. The rooms were comfy and were always spotlessly clean. The hotel is in a great location literally 2 mins from the beach and the prominade, which was lovely to walk down in a morning to walk off the generous sized breakfast. The owners Ian and Lynne were very welcoming and very accomodating, also Anne who helps with breakfast is a lovely lady and a pleasure to talk to at breakfast. The hotel has a happy atmosphere which makes a holiday enjoyable and relaxing! Will definately be returning next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnenichols, Owner at Rivendell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Happy that we helped to make you holiday an enjoyable one, will pass your comments on to Anne, look forward to seeing you again in 2013. Ian & Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed for one night last weekend with my wife. Lovely friendly welcome,stayed in room 3 which is at the front on the first floor. Good size room and everywhere is spotlessly clean. Breakfast was very yummy too. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank CharlieCheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnenichols, Owner at Rivendell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

thank you for your nice comments , we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
594 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bluebell Guest House
The Bluebell Guest House
#12 of 117 in Bridlington
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunflower Lodge
Sunflower Lodge
#6 of 117 in Bridlington
240 reviews
0.3 mi away
The London
The London
#25 of 117 in Bridlington
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kilburn
The Kilburn
#2 of 117 in Bridlington
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell Hotel

Address: 19 Sands Lane, Bridlington YO15 2JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range: $28 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivendell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Rivendell Hotel Bridlington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing