We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy”

Naked Fish (no Longer The Naked Fish!)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a family run traditional fish and chip shop , we have been established in Bridlington for 36 years we , was originally on hilderthorpe road , but have moved now to 22 bridge street .
2 reviews
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Myself ,partner and 4 year old son visited on a friday evaning we were seated upstairs in a attractive well decorated room liked how the menue had information about the fish/seafood on the 1st page my son had the childs haddoc and chips and partner not being a massive fish lover (visit was my choice)went for the light bite haddoc and chips which they both really enjoyed i chose a half lobster and garluc scollaps both were really tasty and both had a nice salad with them i tried one of my sons chips and they were lovely his meal came with mushy peas they were clearly home made and most deffinatly not from a tin we found the meals good value for money.the staff were happy for us to stand in the entrance hall at end of our visit as there was a very heavy rain shower. the only things we would change is would have been nice 2 have background music playing as was very quiet upstairs and also my son would of tried other fish seafood if there was a option for this on childs menu

Helpful?
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickBridlington, Manager at Naked Fish (no Longer The Naked Fish!), responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for posting such a kind, thoughtful review.
We are very pleased you and your family enjoyed your meal with us and sad that the weather wasn't brilliant, hopefully it will improve when you visit us again,
Best wishes,
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    95
    27
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Take away delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Simply the best fish and chips I have eaten in a very very long time. The chips especially were a cut above (sorry), they were obviously cooked in a finer fat than normal, probably not good for you but certainly tasty and a rare treat for me anyway. We will be eating here in the restaurant later in the week.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickBridlington, Manager at Naked Fish (no Longer The Naked Fish!), responded to this review, August 21, 2014
What a good idea! Trying the take away then visiting the restaurant. So glad you enjoyed both meals,
Again, many thanks,
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

probably the best fish and chips cooked to order you could have.
Service excellent.
Nothing is to much trouble.
The selection is fantastic, all sourced locally.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickBridlington, Manager at Naked Fish (no Longer The Naked Fish!), responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Sorry it has taken a while to respond to your review but eventually I want to thank you for your continued custom and the review you have posted; we do try and please all our customers and your comments are much appreciated,
Best wishes,
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridlington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

As a local i have visited The Naked Fish before but never been happy with the taste of the fish .today i came into Bridlington just to do a small shop and passed the Naked Fish so decided to have a take away fish.I had a long wait as the fish was not put in the fryer when i ordered.Water and fat had leaked out of the box onto my car seat by the time i got home ,the taste of the fish(haddock) was bitter and either frozen or not fresh and the batter was just one soggy mess.The price on the board said £3.90 large haddock but the young boy charged me £4.20 saying the price on the board had not been changed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunningdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“What a disappointment!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Oh dear. This was not good. The Naked Fish was recommended by a reputable, very good local B&B, but, frankly it was dreadful. We were the only diners at 4pm on a Sunday afternoon, so perhaps we had surprised them. We waited for quite a long time (we were the only customers) for our large cod and medium haddock. The waitress assured me this was fresh, not frozen, fish. But, it was full of water and, basically, a sloppy unappetising mess with absolutely no taste. The chips were rubbery! What went wrong? Did I imagine it?? The Trip Advisor revues for this restaurant are mostly excellent, so we must have caught them on a very bad day indeed. Sloppy, wet fish is usually a sign of it having been frozen just before entering the fat frier. Worst of all, my side salad tasted of fish, as though it had been prepared by someone who had just been handling raw fish!

Having eaten at fish restaurants around the world – and very many in all parts of the UK – I can honestly say this was one of the worst!

The two waitresses were quite sweet, so when asked if everything was OK I mumbled 'yes' – lying through my teeth to spare them pain. It's not their fault. But it must be somebody's!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chingachgook2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickBridlington, Manager at Naked Fish (no Longer The Naked Fish!), responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We too, are very disappointed that your meal did not reach the expectations you had.
Had you mentioned your disappointment to our waitresses, we would have been able to remedy the situation there and then. As it is, there is little we can do but assure you ALL our fish is fresh and never frozen. Sometimes fresh cod and haddock which can seem wetter than frozen and I expect that this was the case.
We serve many meals to very happy customers and just wish we could have been given the opportunity to remedy this situation without you having to resort to Trip Advisor,
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naked Fish (no Longer The Naked Fish!) also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Flamborough, Bridlington
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing