We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best i've ever had”

Naked Fish (no Longer The Naked Fish!)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a family run traditional fish and chip shop , we have been established in Bridlington for 36 years we , was originally on hilderthorpe road , but have moved now to 22 bridge street .
Bridlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“the best i've ever had”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have been a customer of Naked Fish for sometime now and have found the quality of the food to be exellent and consistant. The service is very good even when busy, also the atmosphere of Naked Fish has in my opinion has always been friendly . I will always recommend this resturant to friends and family and firmly believe that this is the best place in Bridlington for fish and chips.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kjeckells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickBridlington, Manager at Naked Fish (no Longer The Naked Fish!), responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, we appreciate all the feedback we get,
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    95
    27
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ampleforth, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I visited naked fish with a friend from Thailand. His expectations where obviously very high coming from a cultural background of high quality seafood cuisine. Neither he, nor I where in any way dissapointed. The food was to the highest of standards; myself enjoying in particular the mussels. There where also no problems with the service, the waiter was extremely helpful and made sure we where comfortable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickBridlington, Manager at Naked Fish (no Longer The Naked Fish!), responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are so glad you and your friend enjoyed your meal with us, we are extremely proud of the fish we sell, many thanks and hope to see you both again soon,
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Definitely not the best in town!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We visited here after looking on trip advisor for advise on which to chose. Very friendly owner, who does need to learn when his over exuberance is not appreciated. Read your customers and you will learn a lot. We had lobster and crayfish to start which was excellent. Cod, chips and peas for main. Whilst I cannot fault the freshness of the fish, it was extremely watery and tasteless. We were v disappointed and made our excuses and left. I definitely wouldn't recommend or return, perhaps we were just unlucky.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjspikejambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickBridlington, Manager at Naked Fish (no Longer The Naked Fish!), responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I am sorry that your experience at Naked Fish was not 100% successful. I am surprised that you did not enjoy your fish and chips, we only use fresh fish and we are extremely proud of our local product, if it was not to your taste, you were indeed unlucky.
If I was too enthusiastic and passionate I am sorry but the vast, vast majority of our customers appreciate the warm, friendly service they receive.
Maybe you should give us another chance to impress you as we do many, many other customers.
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best fish we have had for a long time”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were recommended this place and decided to try it whilst in Bridlington today at lunch time. There is a takeaway and a small restaurant downstairs which was full so we went upstairs. Although it was clean it was a little untidy. Very plain decor which would benefit from a makeover to give it more character and freshen it up. A lovely young waitress took our order, we ordered haddock and chips which was served piping hot and was delicious. We would definitely return to try other fish dishes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb Fish Restaurant”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have regularly attended this restaurant once a week on a lunchtime for several years and often have a more sociable meal on an evening with friends or staff.The quality of the fish and the way it is cooked is superb mainly because James the proprietor and his family have been in the fish industry for many years and know where to find good quality produce. James also believes that the true taste of the fish is only experienced when it is cooked in its natural form without the distraction of complicated sauces and this reflects on the delightful flavours for each individual type of fish chosen. Although many people go to try a fish and chip meal his forte is cooking all types of fish in a simplistic but delicious manner so do be a little adventurous with your choice. Do try the fish pan fried and his lobster, mussels and sea bass with a herb infusion are a delight and all at reasonable prices If you want to experience fish at its best then this restaurant is a must and from my own experience as a fish lover and local to the area there is no need to travel other parts of the country which specialise in fish when you have such a good restaurant on your doorstep.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank imorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naked Fish (no Longer The Naked Fish!) also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Flamborough, Bridlington
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing