We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped room, but otherwise ok”

The Mayville Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mayville Guest House
Ranked #75 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed four nights for the Northern Soul weekender. Limited accommodation available in Bridlington when we booked, so knew we were taking a bit of a chance.

Everyone very friendly, and everything very clean. Nice breakfasts. Room was very small, and the en suite looked like a corner of the room boxed off and fitted with a shower, a loo and the smallest hand basin I've ever seen. I kept banging my knee when on the loo, and I'm only 5'9"!!

Would probably look to pay a bit more for a larger room on next visit to Bridlington.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soul_man_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 48 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed on the 26th of June.

Met by Charlotte, the owners daughter, who could not be more helpful.

Clean room, great breakfast and overall great value for money.

I have read other reviews and I think that some people need to take a reality check. I could stay anywhere and pick faults. This is a family run business and they clearly care about it.

If we are ever over to watch a gig at the Spa again we will be sure to stay here.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank anduspandus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I just want to start by saying I don't tend to complain, I usually only review places that I am happy with, I don't give bad reviews, but we found a different guest house to the ones in the other reviews.

We arrived and the woman was friendly enough but the entrance was quite dark and you were locked in with a key that is removed from the door, hence no latch, not very safe in the event of a fire. Netherless, we climbed our way to the top of the house, where the decor got worse on the way up!.

We went into our room and I was shocked. The decor was dated, a cupboard from the 1970 - grey laminate and a brown sink in the corner with silicone peeling away. It was ugly as hell but I would of been willing to stay. There was also a large skylight window and this had no curtains, just net layers, I personally need the room to be dark to sleep - no chance here! My son then shouted out Mum there is hairs on my pillow! He was right 2 black hairs on his pillow. I then looked at our bedding which was a peculiar colour and there was a big grease stain on the left hand side and a mark further down. By this point I was in tears as I couldn't bear to stay here, my fiance was trying to convince me to stay, going as far as to say we would buy our own bedding and change the sheets. I was considering this until I saw the shared bathroom and it really was the last straw. Dirty again, flooring was peeling, and there was just a hose type shower not one you could stand under. Needless to say I refused to stay. This place is worse than a hostel, I have stayed in hostels, b&bs, travelodges and none were anything near as bad as this place. We went to another B&B in the area and had an amazing time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bombshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

we only stayed the one night in the three person room, two adults and a child, but were made to feel very welcome by Liz the owner. they pay for your local parking, even for the day when you have checked out. the room was basic and clean, with toiletries supplied. the breakfast was beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

great welcome . very friendly family. breakfast you get plenty
guest house 5 minutes from sea front/ town centre
just be aware this guest house is not en suite ( had an embarasing moment }
stayed bank holiday

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed over one night when i was working in the area. The room was great i had a double bed and it was so comfy. I cant believe what value for money this place the owners are so friendly and welcoming and the breakfast is massive. I will def stay again when im back in the area working or would bring my pug to stay as they do accept dogs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mich31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very friendly and helpfull had a great weekend.The dog was made welcome which makes the weekend as she is a cocker springer cross and quite lively,lots of walking as dogs are allowed on the beach after 30th september. Situated in the centre close to everything,will be back again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.3 mi away
Oakwell Guest House
Oakwell Guest House
#14 of 117 in Bridlington
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aidansdale Hotel
Aidansdale Hotel
#60 of 117 in Bridlington
66 reviews
0.7 mi away
Broadfield Hotel
Broadfield Hotel
#74 of 117 in Bridlington
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Glen Alan Guest House
The Glen Alan Guest House
#21 of 117 in Bridlington
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Promenade Guest House
The Promenade Guest House
#32 of 117 in Bridlington
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swandale Guest House
Swandale Guest House
#38 of 117 in Bridlington
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayville Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayville Guest House

Address: 74 Marshall Avenue, Bridlington YO15 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range: $27 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Mayville Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mayville is a Victorian house situated in the centre of Bridlington with easy access to the main shopping area and both the north and south beaches. The Leisure world the newly re-furbished spa and the harbor are all within minutes from the house. Anne and Tony offer a warm welcome to all new and returning guests whilst providing well prepared home cooked meals. B/B, room only and evening meals are available through out the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Mayville Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mayville Guest House Bridlington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing