We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and nice views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Swan at Streatley
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Swan a couple of times and am pleased with the service received. The gym and spa are great.
I agree that the hotel would do well with some refurbishment, however the rooms are reasonably clean.
The food does let you down as it is over priced for its quality.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank ThaisL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy P, MD at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you Thaisl for taking the time to review our hotel. I am not sure when you last visited us but we have done a lot of work with the ongoing refurbishment program of the hotel since we bought it in January. We started with the bar and restaurant including a new entrance and have this week started with the bedrooms, new bathrooms, bed, furniture, everything! We have also got an excellent new kitchen team with new menu this week and the launch of our bar menu next week, I hope that you will find these competitively priced and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit so that you can see the changes for yourself. kind regards Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 634 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Really lovely, couldn't do enough to help, decorated the table, brought in the cake and flowers at just the right moment and the Food was fab. WELL DONE..... will be back.... and thank you to the staff.... they were so good.......

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy P, MD at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. I will pass on a huge congratulations to my team on your behalf. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. kind regards Lucy Potter MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I don't know where to start. If you look at my reviews you will see I like to support our hoteliers and give mostly good reviews. Look at the first picture of a chair and ask if that would be acceptable in your room that you were paying £110.00 w/o breakfast for. ( supposedly reduced from £500.00/ night, yea pull the other one). The hotel is set in a beautiful area, right next to the Thames. In fairness the restaurant, reception and and public areas have been refurbished, but please don't expect me pay for a room like that. £50.00 would have been a fair price!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deneuk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

should be in a double room for single occupancy but have a single bed. above the kitchen so all i can see is a big metal box to do with extractor despite booking saying overlooks the countryside. asked for beans with my breakfast this morning to be told they don't do them! they then brought my plate out with beans on? Asked for a sandwich tonight for room service to be told they don't do them at night but i could have the restaurant menu, if i'd wanted that i'd have gone to the restaurant. wonder what the rest of the week will bring? I will not be coming back.

Room Tip: get one overlooking the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank railman70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The problems with this hotel have been detailed numerous times in reviews left by others on here and other hotel websites. Refurbishment of public areas on the riverside have been completed to a very high standard and are impressive, however the poor relations are obviously the areas the public do not see as the hotel and guest rooms are of a very low quality and very dated.

Rooms with low numbers close to the kitchen are particularly noisy with a good nights sleep being difficult to achieve.

Would not recommend to others and would not stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 15 are the noisiest rooms above the kitchen with 8, 9 & 10 being very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vegasking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Arival at the hotel was a surprise to the staff but were made very welcome. On help in finding a mooring the luxurious room awaited. The dining experience and evening ambience of the bar stting overlooking the water certainly will not disappoint. The gym and spa was not used at this visit.

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This restaurant couldn't be in a better setting, overlooking the river, which is why we come back. It is a beautiful place to eat a meal. However the Chef needs to be reminded what he is meant to be putting on the plates! And we have been here six times and the dishes are never right. If the menu says a Chicken dish has Sweetcorn puree, it should be given to the customer or an explanation provided as to why it is not there! Likewise the Rhubarb Creme Brulee and Rhubarb Ice Cream..........for the third time this dish came with Vanilla ice cream. Why? Can't the Chef read? Is buying in the Rhubarb Ice Cream too expensive Or do the owners think the public don't matter or won't notice?
This isn't a cheap restaurant so if you visit and your food comes without the right ingredients COMPLAIN LOUDLY and maybe the Chef and owners might listen. And don't come with a big party as they can't cope!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Streatley on Thames
10.5 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning on Thames
550 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
375 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
558 reviews
3.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
90 reviews
4.7 mi away
Royal Oak
Royal Oak
#1 of 1 in Yattendon
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Streatley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Streatley

Address: High Street, Streatley on Thames RG8 9HR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Streatley on Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Streatley on Thames
Price Range: $90 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan at Streatley 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan at Streatley is set on the banks of the Thames in the picturesque Berkshire village of Streatley and enjoys wonderful views of the river. The Swan has 21 newly renovated bedrooms, as well as a new bar & terrace and a fully equipped gym and spa. The restaurant is currently closed as The Swan undergoes a multi-million pound investment to redesign of the restaurant, meeting & events spaces. Accommodation is available on a room only basis in the beautifully designed and stylish rooms and guests can purchase coffee, pastries, light refreshments and drinks onsite at the bar & terrace and have breakfast, lunch or dinner in the local restaurants a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Swan at Streatley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan At Streatley Hotel Streatley On Thames
Swan At Streatley On Thames
Swan Streatley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing