We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Swan at Streatley
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tired hotel and staff”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very badly run hotel and restaurant. No one has a clue about the service and quality. Food and service is very poor, I will never go there again for a meal.
Why don't you employ a professional hotel and restaurant manager to make this hotel enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henry71186419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    184
    109
    72
    45
See reviews for
108
269
21
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The setting alongside the Thames is lovely, when the sun shines a potentially wonderful hotel bar and restaurant. The bar/restaurant area has been recently refurbished and I believe the manager has just changed. The new guy has a lot to do. Room: I had a small room, adequate for my needs, clean and functional although this is an old building with the creaky floors and dated decor of an old hotel. Rooms need updating, especially the shower which was a trickle. The food was poor, 2 times I sent back a rump steak and it still wasn't right the third try, any chef should be able to cook a medium steak! The service was average, although overhearing the staff's conversation about dropping customers' food on the floor was somewhat off-putting post meal! I did get a complimentary drink for the steak being bad though but at almost £20 for a steak, it needs to be right. The presentation wasn't great either. Another customer had their food order messed up also, so not just me. Breakfast was in the restaurant, and the sun was out but leaving fruit in the window to go brown wasn't clever. Full english is included which is ok but I had an omelette and was expected to pay an additional surcharge for not having a full english! Be warned.
On check out the one question I'm always asked "was everything ok with your stay?", wasn't asked so I didn't bother to complain, I just won't go there again.
The Swan was apparently good some time ago, and if the new manager gets it right then it could be great, but the food, staff and rooms need to be sorted out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy0870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Streatley on Thames hotels

Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We've just returned from an Easter 2013 stay at The Swan, which has seen a lovely refurbishment of the public bar, lounge and restaurant areas (as phase one of a larger project). We found the new build very comfortable and the staff happy to do their best for us.

The next phase is going to see a Deli adjacent to the new public bar area and will certainly pull foot fall in, before word gets out that Lucy and her team are developing an excellent quality offering. At that point i'm certain punters will need to book early to get in.

The planned bedroom refurbishment is a must. We stayed in room 40 , which was spotless, but very dated. When the bedrooms are refurbished, this will be a seriously decent hotel and a credit to the new owners' vision and commitment.

We will definitely be returning !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveandJane2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Me and my sister went to stay at this hotel for a one night break. It is a beautiful hotel - the spa facilities are amazing - the pool is really warm. We had the spa to ourselves which was perfect and could book treatments with little waiting time. The beds were super comfy - we had down duvets. Our room had a terrace overlooking the Thames. My sister is vegan and they catered for her beautifully with no indication that she was any trouble. The staff were extremely friendly and all seemed happy - a sign of good management. We can't wait to go back there. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a warm welcome, a good nights sleep and impecable food. We felt thoroughly spoilt. Thank you!

Room Tip: We went for the superior and it was worth it, but I'm sure the classic would be of a high standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claza1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Swan at Streatley has romantic public areas with a private house feel - ultra traditional, elegant and intimate. The bedrooms are charming, the restaurant is peaceful, with attentive and friendly staff. It's a terrific location for relaxing with, or without the family.

I believe some pepole misunderstand the charm of The Swan... If you want starch-hard sheets, and Ikea-style furniture, try a Premier Inn, this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just returned from a dreadful weekend at The Swan.

On arrival I ordered a coronation chicken snack from the bar, which took 20 minutes to appear. It consisted of 2 pieces of cold toast which contained some disgusting concoction inside together with a small portion of micro chips for £8.75! Unfortunately, this was indicative of everything else that followed.

Dinner in the picturesque restaurant overlooking the river began with prawn coctail which was a tasteless glutinnous mess. The lamb shank was barely warm and served with stone cold mashed potatoe. Even the bottle of red wine when poured was so cold that it only became drinkable at the end of the meal.

Breakfast was uninviting. Basic cereals and the remains of fruit salad. They wanted an extra £3 for a bowl of porridge!
Waitress service virtually non existant. You had to be really keen to wait for a cup of tea, if you could find a clean cup under the mountain of used china.

Although the bedroom was exceptionally pretty the bathroom was desperately in need of refurbishment. The worst aspect being the air extractor which was very noisy. I am a light sleeper and every time someone else went to their bathroom during the night I could hear their extractor.

My dinner the following evening consisted of a minute piece of hake.
Whilst other dinners were given enermous pork chops or a plate of beef.
The vegetables were served 6 minutes after I had finished the fish.

This hotel is trading on its past reputation for good food. The kitchen staff should all be replaced. The dinning room staff require staff training.

It is not a 4 star hotel or even a 3 star hotel. There is no lift and the pool is tiny and not suitable for swimming. The setting is so beautiful it deserves a hotel worthy of it.

Avoid at all costs!


Monday 25th January 2013.

Room Tip: A room facing the river. The 2 rooms with 4 poster beds are exceptional but the lighting is very bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

As other reviewers have stated this could be a really good hotel. Unfortunately one's goodwill is soon exhausted, sagging bed, bathroom taps falling off, other peoples hairs stuck around the bath taps. Cold horrid meals, portions either so small couldn't have fed a cat or, so large couldn't be finished. Inept and amateurish service, confused staff, what more can I say.
Check very carefully before staying in this hotel.
Also elderly frail guests take note there are no lifts to the upper floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seutonious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Streatley on Thames
10.5 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning on Thames
342 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
327 reviews
3.5 mi away
Weir View House
Weir View House
#2 of 4 in Pangbourne
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
73 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,618 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Streatley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Streatley

Property: The Swan at Streatley
Address: High Street, Streatley on Thames RG8 9HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Streatley on Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Streatley on Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan at Streatley 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan at Streatley is set on the banks of the Thames in the picturesque Berkshire village of Streatley and enjoys wonderful views of the river. The Swan has 21 newly renovated bedrooms, as well as a new bar & terrace and a fully equipped gym and spa. The restaurant is currently closed as The Swan undergoes a multi-million pound investment to redesign of the restaurant, meeting & events spaces. Accommodation is available on a room only basis in the beautifully designed and stylish rooms and guests can purchase coffee, pastries, light refreshments and drinks onsite at the bar & terrace and have breakfast, lunch or dinner in the local restaurants a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Swan at Streatley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan At Streatley Hotel Streatley On Thames
Swan At Streatley On Thames
Swan Streatley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing