We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bull Inn at Streatley
Nottingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

I turned up at the Bull quite late on a Friday evening (having made a booking at the Queen's Arms but having found it impossible to stay at such a noisy and run-down place), and what a delight it was. The room, in a separate block away from the bars, was quiet and beautifully furnished, and the staff - particularly Emma - couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. They pulled out all the stops to make it possible for me to stay a second night - top marks yet again. If I go back to Streatley I shall be heading straight for the Bull.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ArmorelNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    25
    8
    10
    10
See reviews for
22
20
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We've recently moved to the area and were delighted to find 'The Bull' has reopened (it closed as we were in the process of purchasing our home).

Compared to a previous visit under the old owners, the place is hugely improved. It's busy, for a start, and open all day serving food (the old owners never seemed to open the place!). It's had a lick of paint and has a lovely beer garden / patio at the rear. It's a big place and has a slight corporate feel to it, but that's to its credit - a sensible, well priced menu with decent food (although they have run out of things on a few occasions that we've popped in - I gues it's just a case of finding their feet). The place is dog friendly (which is great) and I understand the owners are renovating the B&B rooms but I've not seen them, so can't comment there.

Disappointing things? Not much really! I ordered a club sandwich that was superb - lovely chips, beautiful bread, a decent meal for a bargain price. Ordering the same thing a few days later, I was disappointed to find a plate with just a handful of chips. I'm guesing this is due to the food stock issues mentioned above and I'm sure it will improve. Only other gripe is the tomato ketchup / mayonaise - it arrives it those horrible little plastic packets (ala Wetherspoons) and really cheapens the place. Replace with little pots asap!

It's a really likable place with decent staff, a nice atmosphere, cheap decent food and a large beer garden and car park.

The area needed a reasonable, non-pretentious and welcomgin pub and, in 'The Bull', I think the new owners hit the proverbial nail on the head. I wish them every success.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foggy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Always have visited the Bull for food for last 10 years. it was always nice and the food however it wasnt the sought of place you could spend an evening as the seats were old and not at all comfortable. HOWEVER it has recently been refurbed and WOW! what a change. the place has kept its rustic charming look but now, under new ownership it has a better dining area and a better pub lounge, the seats are more comfortable and they have made use of the big garden they have by paving parts and putting comfortable seating out ther. It now has everything, but what of the food? Let me tell you, the menu is much bigger now with more choice and the quality of food is amazing. Def going back. Great job guys.

Room Tip: Try the Pork Steak chop. melts in the mouth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stevie_rich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

We hadn't visited the Bull for a couple of years and only found out it had changed hands when we phoned to book a room. We were slightly concerned to hear that it had been refurbished and expected the worst, but it still had the traditional pub atmosphere and the new menu offers a wide choice at sensible prices. The new owners are still settling in, but the welcome and service was first class. Our room was comfortable and we were served an excellent breakfast next morning. We wish the new owners every success and will definitely call in again when we are in the area.
Hilary & Keith

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

After initial concerns about the reviews on the bull we still went to sample the fayre.
Wow is all that I can say. I went with my partner and son for lunch and the Bull has had a major facelift. The food was of a very high standard and service excellent. Not exactly mitchilin star but great non the less.
We also noticed that a facelift had started on the letting rooms which by all accounts needed to be done.
If you want decent pub food and an atmosphere to match this is definatley a place to now visit.

Room Tip: we were advised that all of the rooms were pet freindly and that a large family room was available a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lillianabengal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

For years I've driven passed this pub not sure whether it's open or closed, good or bad. It's traditional black and white tudor effect exterior doesn't really give much away. But we ventured in over Christmas to find a traditional lounge bar pub with incredibly friendly service, vast amounts of space and a reliable pub grub menu - to my surprise and delight, a scampi baguette!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katiclio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

On arrival, 6.00 pm Friday 2 Sept, having pre-booked one double room for two nights, we found the inn locked back and front. The front door was eventually opened to my wife by a lady who told her the Bull had not opened.-at 6.00pm on a Friday evening??!!!. We were shown to room 1. This room is nearest to the road but has no double glazing in spite of the fact that the Bull is on a junction controlled by traffic lights, with the additional attendant noise. To make matters worse there is a loose drain cover in the road opposite the room. This made sleep really impossible. The bed, a modern four poster was very uncomfortable and the room had no practical means of fresh air ventilation. The bathroom was large, but the water supply was erratic and the shower pathetic. The hand basin was tiny and difficult to use because of the close proximity of a glass shelf. The shelf was sloping downwards so that any item placed on it quickly crashed to the floor. As an earlier reviewer commented, the in room TV was tiny and anyway did not appear to work.
Breakfast was served in the dining area which appeared not to have been re-decorated since the introduction of the smoking ban. The dining chairs were fit for the scrap heap and very uncomfortable. Cooked breakfast was offered and was of poor quality. As an example mushrooms were offered but proved to be tinned mushrooms with no discernible flavour.
Having endured another night in the infamous room 1, we checked out on Sunday. At this point I mentioned that in our opinion Room 1 should be used until the drain cover had been fixed. This was blamed on the Council and no responsibility was taken for offering a room that had this problem. The Bull reminds me of staying in British pubs and low quality motels in the US in the 1960s - experiences I had hoped not to have to repeat in 2011, particularly at the price we paid (£150).
We had heard that this pub had been refurbished. If this is so, it is extremely difficult to see where! It is a disgrace.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiltstraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Streatley on Thames hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Streatley on Thames
0.3 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley on Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
3.3 mi away
Weir View House
Weir View House
#2 of 4 in Pangbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
3.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
9.5 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
7.7 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull Inn at Streatley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull Inn at Streatley

Property: Bull Inn at Streatley
Address: Reading Road | Nr Reading, Streatley on Thames RG8 9JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Streatley on Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Streatley on Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bull Inn at Streatley 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely old hotel with 6 bedrooms that have currently had a makeover, free breakfast with every stay. Monday nights is grill night, Wednesday is curry night and two dine for £20 on thursdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bull Inn at Streatley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing