We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room for value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Great House At Sonning
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here one night as The Bull Inn was full.
We had an executive double; which was almost a suite.
The breakfast was buffet and had a lovely selection of fresh fruit salad.
The one criticism l would make is that only one key card is given per room.
If your partner leaves the room; the lights all go out and you are left in the dark until they return and activate them again.
There was no natural light in our bathroom. This renders it very unsafe.
This could easily be overcome by issuing two cards per couple.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the car park as it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carole00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 636 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had an executive suite for an overnight stay as we were visiting the Mill at Soning dinner theatre. Reception friendly and given directions to our room in an outbuilding which we parked car just outside. The room was dark and not helped by dark brown furniture considerably older than me and I'm eighty. The walls had numerous plaster cracks and were desperately in need of repair and repaint. The bed had a blanket which was a surprise as duvets ( comforters ) are pretty standard in all but cheap B & B's. Though smallish it proved quite comfortable. The bathroom was cold but there was a heated towel rail that could be switched on and would warm the room up after a hour or so. Towels were fine and the usual supplies of shower gel etc.
Breakfast next morning was buffet only and as the hot food was kept in large metal containers, I can't comment on it's taste as I refuse to eat food pre cooked ( when? ) and then stored in these conditions, which affects the taste are possible ideal breeding conditions for bacteria.
The toast, butter , jam and coffee that we did have were all OK. Service was perfunctory though we were greeted by most staff when walking through the hotel. The garden furniture was well worn and in need of refurbishment and some was roped off and being treated. The hotel is right by the river and a walk along the towpath was enjoyable. This is a potentially very good hotel but needs money spent to bring it up to scratch.

Room Tip: Check out the room before unloading your cases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COUNCILLORJACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have been married for just over a year now and because of personal circumstances decided to have our marriage blessed. We had the reception at The Great House Sonning who organised everything for us at relatively short notice and the staff there could not have done more to have made it a day to remember.

The food and table setting were just perfect and the overnight accommodation and breakfast for those of us that also stayed the night was just a great ending to a glorious day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We celebrated a friend's birthday by having Sunday lunch at The Great House. The hotel has old world charm and the food was priced very reasonably at £19.50 for 3 courses. There was a good choice of food, which was well presented and well cooked. The waiters were very attentive.
We particularly liked the starters and desserts. For instance one of our party (who has lived in Italy) thought it was the best tiramisu he had ever. We learned it was prepared by the chef who is Italian. Overall a jolly good lunch!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank bertiebuttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

What a beautiful location and it is a quaint hotel with separate bedroom accommodation from the main hotel itself. Room we stayed in was lovely, plenty of room, tea/coffee facilities and nice and warm.
As we arrived late in the evening cold and wet decided to eat there rather than go find somewhere in the location. Price for the food is outrageous. Paid £26.50 for two starters which is classed as two courses [one person didnt want a full meal so choose 2 starters instead] If we had taken a pudding it would have been £13.75 as they class that as another course. Absolute rip off for food which was just ok. Gammon with 2 vegs.......chips and peas??? Would have thought it would have been something more imagionative. It stated that all meals came with 2 x vegs, asked what the two veg were and told mediterranean vegs and carrots but received chips and peas. Very disappointing. When we spoke to the receptionist regarding our meal bill there was no joy, so beware if you eat there, check the prices out and dont be conned the way we were.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carole9833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We chose The Great House as a venue for our wedding last year, due to its location. It allowed us to bring up our wide-beam and moor it outside. The staff went out of their way to ensure that everything was perfect for our afternoon and evening event.

The food was cooked and presented to a very high standard and everybody had more than enough. The location and setting of the restaurant with the outside patio which was dedicated to us just added to what was a wonderful and very moving day for us all.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aroperofmischief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We joined 50 others for Sunday lunch today at The Great House. We pre-chose menu options and the food and service were very good. I had the roast lamb for my main course. It was a large portion & beautifully pink. My husband had the fish, which was also very good.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank BrendaMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonning on Thames
10.5 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley on Thames
639 reviews
0.2 mi away
French Horn Hotel
French Horn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sonning on Thames
204 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#3 of 31 in Reading
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Wee Waif
The Wee Waif
#1 of 1 in Charvil
220 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
580 reviews
2.8 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House At Sonning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House At Sonning

Address: Thames Street, Sonning on Thames RG4 6UT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Sonning on Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sonning on Thames
Price Range: $76 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Great House At Sonning 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished, The Great House on the banks of the river Thames in Sonning offers contemporary and stylish en-suite rooms. The hotel offers easy access to the A4, Reading and the M4, ample free parking for guest's use and free WiFi throughout. Bedrooms are located in separate buildings: the original White Hart Hotel, the 16th century palace yard, the 17th century coach house, and the clock tower. Rooms include a number of comfortable features including luxury bedding, work desks and rain showers. A newly opened all-day restaurant, Coppa Club, includes a relaxed bar area with an open fire and an outdoor terrace overlooking the gardens and river. Breakfast can be ordered from 7:30am and a wide range of options are available from healthy smoothies to a full Skillet Breakfast. In the main house guests can work throughout the day and enjoy fresh coffee and snacks whilst making use of the complimentary WiFi and numerous power points. Situated in the picturesque conservation village of Sonning-on-Thames, the hotel is a 20-minute drive to Reading and Henley-on-Thames and less than 2 miles from Thames Valley Business Park. We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Great House At Sonning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great House At Sonning Hotel Sonning On Thames
The Great House At Sonning Sonning On Thames, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing