We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Service but rooms tired and in need of a makeover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Great House At Sonning
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good Service but rooms tired and in need of a makeover”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night in Room 10. The room is quite spacious with nice views over the river. It was bitterly cold outside and although the room was reasonably warm, the bathroom was very cold as the radiator was not working. The electric shower managed about 2 mins of hot water. Also, TV remote batteries were flat.

Dinner is the hotel restuarant was very good with a good choice. Staff were very attentive and pleasant both in the restaurant and bar. Breakfast was OK, but need to do something about cold plates.

The part of the hotel we stayed in needed a serious makeover with rooms requiring upgrading and redecoration. Get rid of the sheets and blankets a switch to duvets. Housekeeping should be checking simple things like TV remotes.

Would we stay again? Probably if it was not the middle of winter

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    106
    61
    42
    22
See reviews for
56
131
14
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Traditionally Christmas Lunch should be the best lunch of the year, we are no strangers to this festive family event, but this was our first & last Christmas Lunch at The Great House, at £55 per head, ( paid in advance, the alarm bells should of been twitching ) we arrived on time Christmas Day at 1.30pm,we ordered a drink at the bar, and were told they were ready for us in the restaurant and promptly shown to our table at 1.40pm. No sooner than we had sat down our waitress for the afternoon, well part of it, wanted to know from each of us, before we had unfolded our napkins, let alone pulled our crackers, what we desired for all three courses, whether we wanted white or brown rolls or still or sparkling water, we organised the three courses, the colour of our rolls and plumped for tap water.

The restaurant was packed already,so it seemed we had some catching up to do apparantly, the starters arrived seconds after the rolls, before the butter had thawed sufficiently to spread on our rolls before the starters were finished with, then one waiter one waitress swooped upon our table and scooped up the remains of our starters and as they left our main courses arrived, there was the usual language difficulties you have come to expect , ie could we have a few extra roast potatoes and two bread rolls turn up instead, which was handy because the butter had by now just began to thaw out.

The main course was finished, just time for a quick sip of wine before the main course was cleared and the desserts were on the table,just as the last trace of the main course headed back to the kitchen. We sat down at 1.40pm, we were finished 2.20pm, 40 minutes from start to finish. The food was average, nothing more, the experience was woeful, we contacted the manager, Julie Rae, who said that the table was ours for the afternoon, and that we should have told the Restaurant Manager, ( conspicuous by his absence ) to ask the Chef to slow down, I should of guessed it was our fault all along.

It was a breathtaking experience for all the wrong reasons, it added a new dimension to 'fast food', doubtless next year the Great House will make a few layout changes to the outside and seize the opportunity and become a 'Drive-Thru'.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patsy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sonning on Thames hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Ww stayed 5th Jan 2013 overnight for a trip to the Theatre at Sonning. Room was booked as part of theatre package, so executive room in the Clock Tower was £115 instead of £159.00 for 2 people. Clock Tower annex is newish and in good condition, but attention to detail could have been better for an executive room. We had one bath and hand towel between 2 and had to ask for another set, one bedside lamp was broken which we didn't notice until 1.00 in the morning, so too late to go back to main reception and ask for another lamp, another bulb in the room wasn't working but we managed without that one, one packet of biscuits between 2 and no shampoo. The doors all round the Hotel were closed by 10.45 and bars were locked up, we did use the internal telephone to dial for service via the night porter. A bit miserable on a Saturday night to close before 11.00pm. Would have stayed longer at the Theatre bar if we had realised where after the performance had ended a live pianist played while people drank coffees and wine.
Would use hotel again because of proximity to theatre, but may try the French Horn that others have said is now better than The Great House.
All silly things that just need a checklist to get right. In fairness the missing towels and some extra coffee we asked for were corrected within a couple of hours of reporting, but we were there to enjoy the company of friends and not keep reporting silly little things.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed here for one night in mid-December. The room was ok, nothing spectacular but perfectly adequate. The bathroom was clean and a good selection of toiletries were provided. The bed was large and comfortable. By far the best part of the stay was the breakfast. You really can eat enough to last the whole day and it was all top notch. Overall I think it is a perfectly pleasant hotel without being particularly outstanding. My room in the clock tower was fine but as others have suggested the rooms in the older original hotel may not be so comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank langmeadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I've stayed at the Great House a few times, and provided you get the 'clock tower' rooms, the accommodation is perfectly pleasant. The staff are always friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is very nice. The only let-down is accommodation in the main great house which can be tired, noisy and cramped.

Room Tip: Make sure to book for the clock tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DigitalDiablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I went to The Great house for a meal after a funeral in Reading. Apart from the fact that they knew this was a meal after a funeral yet didn't think to remove the crackers and party poppers i was impressed. The service was helpful without being intrusive and the quality of the food was very good. It was a standard Christmas menu with three choices for each course all of which were tried and enjoyed by our party. Servings were generous.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jez D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel is amazing.....the look of it, the feel of it....the room was gorgeous and spacious and VERY comfy.

The food was exceptional....I had an amazing dinner and the breakfast was the best ive ever experienced (top class chef)....and the service was first rate, top notch !

This was a wonderful experience and I loved every second of it.

The ONLY criticism was that the hot water wasnt very hot and there wasnt that much of it....an issue that seemed to be shared by a few over long period of time. In saying that I managed to have a hot(ish) bath which was very relaxing.

Room Tip: I was in room 5 and it was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobby0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonning on Thames
0.2 mi away
French Horn Hotel
French Horn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sonning on Thames
184 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley on Thames
592 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Wee Waif
The Wee Waif
#1 of 1 in Charvil
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
182 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
746 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House At Sonning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House At Sonning

Property: The Great House At Sonning
Address: Thames Street, Sonning on Thames RG4 6UT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Sonning on Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sonning on Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Great House At Sonning 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished, The Great House on the banks of the river Thames in Sonning offers contemporary and stylish en-suite rooms. The hotel offers easy access to the A4, Reading and the M4, ample free parking for guest's use and free WiFi throughout. Bedrooms are located in separate buildings: the original White Hart Hotel, the 16th century palace yard, the 17th century coach house, and the clock tower. Rooms include a number of comfortable features including luxury bedding, work desks and rain showers. A newly opened all-day restaurant, Coppa Club, includes a relaxed bar area with an open fire and an outdoor terrace overlooking the gardens and river. Breakfast can be ordered from 7:30am and a wide range of options are available from healthy smoothies to a full Skillet Breakfast. In the main house guests can work throughout the day and enjoy fresh coffee and snacks whilst making use of the complimentary WiFi and numerous power points. Situated in the picturesque conservation village of Sonning-on-Thames, the hotel is a 20-minute drive to Reading and Henley-on-Thames and less than 2 miles from Thames Valley Business Park. We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Great House At Sonning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great House At Sonning Hotel Sonning On Thames
The Great House At Sonning Sonning On Thames, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing