We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little hotel”
Review of Dial House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dial House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crowthorne
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed one night at this comfortable and clean hotel. The staff were charming and very helpful particularly Saed who was delightful. We had a nice quiet room overlooking the back garden. The accoustics from the room above were not great and we could hear the occupants moving around late at night. However, we slept well as we were exhausted. The bathroom was clean as was the room and wifi was readily available. The decor is very dated but for a one night stay it was perfectly fine.
Just two points I would like to mention as for me they are very important. The coffee at breakfast was stewed and not good (please put in a Nespresso machine asap) and please serve butter not margarine - aaah, the latter is just disgusting and not acceptable in my view.
Otherwise for a short stay the Dial House is in a great location and perfectly comfortable.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the back garden. You can also park your car at the back which is good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 197 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Homely feel to this hotel. So different from the big chains. Great English Breakfast! Nice clean room and not boiling hot! Friendly staff. Good location in quiet road so good night's sleep. Off road parking in lit up area so car safe overnight.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulChalkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Myself and a colleague stayed here last night as we had been unable to get a hotel in Bracknell because of the Flower Show and Golf. This was a blessing in disguise as rather than stay in a soulless Holiday Inn, or Travelodge we ended up here.

From the word go Syed and his team made us feel at home. Syed is a fantastic host and can't do enough for you. He recommended the home made Mutton Bhuna curry which we tried and I have to say it was AMAZING and a huge portion too. We spent the rest of the evening in the hotel bar, talking with Syed and other guests. The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. Breakfast "Full English" is also great.

Thanks Syed and the team, if I'm ever back in the area I'd definately stay here again and I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dw22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Absolutely excellent host, and brilliant service. Myself and my colleague stayed here in March 2013 whilst at a conference at Wellington College and the manager went above and beyond to ensure that we had the most comfortable stay possible. Mutton Curry was awesome and we had drinks in the bar with the manager and locals in the evening, all of which made us feel welcome and appreciated. The humble and friendly atmosphere make this hideaway a true diamond in the rough - a MUST stay if you are in Crowthorne!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HenTerWeTraSo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Attended 6th Bigshotte School Reunion Association at The Dial House Hotel. This hotel with it's small attractive garden was ideal for this event. The catering and service was efficient, friendly and the staff were courtious. This was my first stay at the hotel and found the rooms clean, well appointed. I found the breakfasts and evening meal excellent. This hotel surprised me with a friendly atmosphere , I have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone visiting the Crowthorne or surrounding area . . a friendly welcome awaits you! The hotel more than catered for the attending 55 ex-pupils (eldest left in '39 and the 'youngest' in '77) was a resounding success due to the homely and welcoming atmosphere Syed Pirzada and his staff afforded us. This was my first stay and had it not been for BSRA event I would not have found or stayed at the Dial House Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dewardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Excellent location, friendly and open staff. Excellent English breakfast, cozy and comfy rooms and warm atmosphere. Also, you can enjoy a beer in the backyard among pine trees, squirrels and pigeons. The staff called the taxi company and got us free coffee and croissants for the return trip to the airport, that was really amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris-Tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

In 1977 Bigshotte Preparatory Schools for boys in Crowthorne was closed down. Ten years ago I, and one other ex-pupil, founded the Bigshotte School Reunion Association and every two years we have held our Reunion at The Dial House Hotel. We have just had our 6th and celebrated our 10th Anniversary. This hotel is absolutely excellent for this occasion and I can see like events being held here to say nothing of weddings. The small attractive garden is ideal for marquees and sitting around outside. The catering and service provided by the efficient and friendly staff are first class. The local availability for flowers and cakes is also fantastic. I have also stayed in the hotel when organising our events and the rooms are clean,and well appointed and the breakfasts and evening meals are excellent. It is a quiet hotel with that special atmosphere and I have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone visiting locally or the surrounding interesting countryside . . a friendly welcome awaits you! Our recent reunion for 55 ex-pupils of whom the eldest left in '39 and the 'youngest' in '77 was a resounding success all due to the homely and welcoming atmosphere Syed Pirzada and his staff afforded us . .!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter . .!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crowthorne
2.8 mi away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Sandhurst Hotel
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Bracknell
Travelodge Bracknell
#1 of 2 in Binfield
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Camberley
Travelodge Camberley
#5 of 8 in Camberley
225 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Camberley Central
3.1 mi away
Hilton Bracknell
Hilton Bracknell
#5 of 7 in Bracknell
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dial House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dial House Hotel

Address: 62 Dukes Ride, Crowthorne RG45 6DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Crowthorne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crowthorne
Price Range: $91 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dial House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently placed for Bracknell, Sandhurst, Wokingham and Camberley yet located in the heart of a small village, The Dial House is an independent hotel where hospitality always comes first. We have 19 bedrooms, all of which are well-appointed with direct dial and voice mail, tea and coffee making facilities, desk space, free wi-fi and en-suite bathrooms. Our talented chef uses only locally-sourced, fresh ingredients for our breakfast and dinner menus. We can cater for small events, offering you sole use of the bar, restaurant and gardens for your private or corporate party. Our dedicated team works hard to provide exceptional levels of personalized service to each of the leisure and business customers who stay with us. At The Dial House Hotel you will find clean, modern rooms, a quiet, comfortable atmosphere and exceptional hospitality from people who really care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dial House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dial Hotel Crowthorne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing