We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and underwhelmed...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanctum on the Green
Ranked #1 of 1 Cookham Dean B&B and Inns
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced and underwhelmed...”
Reviewed September 27, 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 night last year.It was awful.It had been billed as bijou but our room was tiny....tiny bed ,tiny bathroom and unfriendly staff.During breakfast the kitchen staff were having a loud fight..complete with loud swearing which we could hear in the breakfast room . it was really expensive for what it was.I wrote to complain and got no response.avoid!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    81
    58
    33
    25
See reviews for
41
156
6
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2006

We went there for Sunday lunch (for my birthday) and everyone had a lovely meal. The service was attentive and prompt and catered for disparate tastes ie. One veg, one pescitarian, three children and the rest were people who know food.

The grounds are lovely, space for the children to run around and for us to sit outside, we sat in the conservatory which was just right for a group of ten.

We weren't hurried at all and it is a place I would thoroughly recommend.

Again I can't praise the staff highly enough.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
Thank Jonesy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2006

My boyfriend and I have returned from a weekend away at The Inn on the Green. We found it absolutely splendid. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very polite receptionist. She showed us to our room which was very nice (Room No. 2). We decided to have a drink at the bar which was very cosy/relaxed.

I would recommend that you book into the restaurant if you are staying there. There only seems to be two pubs nearby where you can eat. The food in the restaurant was excellent. I would say the food was equivalent to a very nice London restaurant. Even breakfast in the morning was a culinary delight. I opted for haddock and poached egg which I would recommend. This is included in the price of the room.

Overall this was a very nice quaint hotel in a small village with very polite staff. If you want to visit somewhere I would recommend Windsor which is only about a 10 minute drive.

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2006

Took my girlfriend here as a surprise birthday treat and proposed to her at dinner in between first and second courses ! We stayed in room 9 which is a good size and comfortable. We were given a warm welcome, food was above average (which it should be for the price) We ate outside in a type of marque and the tables are very nicely spread out, insuring privacy. The service was excellant and they even let us use the hot tub after dinner at around midnight (notice said only use until 10 p.m). Breakfast is served until 11a.m - big bonus ! Very surprised someone had written a review stating "poor breakfast" I am very picky and the coffee was superb as was the full english, the only critsism was the O.J was not up to much. Current owners leaving in Sept - lets hope the new arrivals keep up the good work.

  • Liked — Large room
  • Disliked — Tiles around bath poorly finished
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMason1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londond
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2006

Having booked the Inn on the Green through their website, my husband and I were very much looking forward to enjoying a romantic anniversary night. Ariving at the hotel all seemed perfect - the room was as pictured, the service was friendly and the food pleasant if not outstanding. The next morning when I cam to check out I noticed that the published rack rate was £20 less than I had paid by booking online. When I complained about this I was told that I had to pay a £20 booking fee because I had booked online as this service was not managed from the hotel. When I stated that I had called the hotel shortly after making the booking to check that this was the best rate they said that they were not allowed to disclose the site booking fee. After 10 minutes of discussion they grudgingly refunded me half the booking fee. When I phoned to complain the following week about the lack of clarity around this my complaint was dismissed and I was told to write a letter if I wanted to take it further. Let future buyers beware - needless to say, my husband and I will not be visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emmahj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cookham Dean hotels

london England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2006

We had a great weekend here. The food was amazing and our room really cosy and tasteful but not like a big hotel. We had fun in the hot tub before dinner and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Highly recommded.

Mandy Richardson

Helpful?
Thank haaaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 2, 2005

I stayed here with my boyfriend for my birthday, we had a themed room with bath in the room and it was gorgeous! The food was exceptional and the staff are so friendly, the area itself is really pretty and worth a walk around and drink in the little local pub! I'd stay here again and it's my favourite hotel in the UK so far!

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookham Dean
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
1.2 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
3.4 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
597 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hurley House Hotel
Hurley House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hurley
66 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctum on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctum on the Green

Property: Sanctum on the Green
Address: The Old Cricket Common, Cookham Dean SL6 9NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Cookham Dean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cookham Dean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctum on the Green 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The opulent Sanctum on the Green Hotel is located just 45 minutes from Central London, yet is deep in the Berkshire Countryside. Being so close to London, Sanctum on the Green is perfect for that romantic weekend away, or quick overnight get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sanctum on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctum On The Green Hotel Cookham Dean
Sanctum On The Green Cookham Dean, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing