We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply brilliant”
Review of Waterside Inn

Waterside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $671
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A 3* Michelin restaurant with rooms on the banks of the River Thames. Chef Patron is Alain Roux.
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Simply brilliant”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have lived in the area for 17 years and I have always wanted to eat here.

So on my daughters 21st birthday we took the plunge, it was without doubt a superb experience from start to finish.

The staff were attentive without being to over bearing, the food was exquisite the highlight would be the deserts simply mouthwatering.

If I had one gripe it would be the price of the wine, I know some of these wines on this list and know that in some cases a mark up of 10 times cost had been applied, but it would be churlish to go on about that the wine we had was good value by comparison, will not leave it 17 years before we return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank petermaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,093
    121
    70
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A fabulous dining experience from start to finish”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a mega culinary weekend at the start of February and did The Fat Duck the day before coming here. Or expectations were mixed, and we knew that we were in for a very different lunch than the day before.

After sitting down, we quickly decided that we should go for the taster menu...and we didn't regret it. We chose the wine to go with our first few courses and then we let one of the young sommeliers decide. All of his choices were impeccable and perfectly matched, complimenting each dish wonderfully. We also had the cheese at the end which was fantastic, and all were explained to us well.

The food here was incredible, every dish was so well thought out, classy and not too filling. I the middle of our meal, Alain Roux even came out and said hello to everyone in the dining room - I was in total awe!

Athough not cheap, this is a dining experience that is worth every penny and one that I would do again without hesitation. I'll definitely be returning in the future and will be telling all my friends to go in the meantime!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Sublime”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

From the moment the liveried doorman open you car door, through to the faultless service, superb food, and thoughtful wines, this is gastronomy at it's peak.

The staff have character, but are are not obtrusive. A sense of theatre but without crassness. They truly know how to run a top class restaurant without condescension. The food has a depth of taste without losing it's balance. Alain Roux is worth the 3 stars.

The location watching the Thames slide by, is charming.

Worth every penny. Cannot wait to return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Argonauticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The gold standard”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was my second visit, following the first over 30 years ago. I have never forgotten that lunch, and this occasion and meal was equally memorable. Suffice it to say, that its standards have remained as high as ever. A wonderful, lovingly-prepared and presented feast of delicious flavours, the sauces were particularly mouth-wateringly good. ALl three courses were exquisite and the service immaculate. The only restaurant outside France to retain three Michelin Stars for over 25 years (2010), and you can see why, as it puts so many of the supposedly more fashionable 'must go to' (and often rip-off) restaurants in the shade. Quite outstanding.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank InspectorFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“For that special occasion...”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Beginning with the warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere, we had a wonderful evening and comfortable night at this superb restaurant. Dinner was delicious, each course perfectly balanced. The service was impeccable and friendly without being fussy or intrusive. A discreet glance was all it needed to attract someone’s attention.

As we were there for an important birthday, instead of having breakfast in our room - which I dislike because it reminds me of having food in bed when you’re ill - we were guided outside to breakfast in one of their delightful gazebos by the river Thames. And again, the service was perfect.

Returning with friends for lunch in October, we had another wonderful experience. It is expensive but as the food is memorable, it's worth going there for a special occasion. And the staff are sensitive to this. There’s nothing pompous about the Waterside Inn. Everyone, whoever they are, is treated as a welcome guest.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterside Inn also viewed

Bray on Thames, Berkshire
Bray on Thames, Berkshire
 
Bray on Thames, Berkshire
Old Windsor, Windsor
 

Been to Waterside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing