We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wondrous Waterside Inn!”
Review of The Waterside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Waterside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Total gastronomical delight, quaint village location and a beautiful setting on the Thames, top service level that is attentive but not too stuffy, the staff are young but very experienced in their field. The food is exquisite, unashamedly french, we chose the wine flight with the menu exceptionnel, wise choice to use the knowledge of the sommelier, we got to try wines that really complemented each course. It was expensive, no doubt, but well worth it for the experience.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank yummymummynorfolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 442 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Everything about our visit to the Waterside Inn was amazing, from start to finish. Wonderful attention to detail and the staff were very friendly and we had fantastic service throughout. The food was superb - beautifully presented and it tasted sublime. If you've got some money to treat yourself (3 Michelin stars don't come cheap), then do it. You won't regret being pampered at this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skapole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I fulfilled a long-held ambition to stay and dine at the Waterside Inn to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The whole experience was faultless, from the accommodation to the historic food to the outstanding service. The prices are eye-watering, but if I tell you that a final tally of £765 for one night represented excellent value, you will get the right sense of perspective on this outstanding venue.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a superior room with river view. What's another £50 on a bill like this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dik_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Another divine culinary experience in the tiny Thames hamlet, Bray.

A wonderful example of what a three star Michelin restaurant should be.

The Waterside Inn is set right on the river, with guests invited to enjoy aperitifs by the water before taking their seats in the restaurant.

We decided not to indulge in the tasting menu, but rather select our own dishes.

The seasonal scallops with salmon and Royal Belgian caviar was delicate and delicious.

As was the pan fried lobster medallions that have been on the menu for 35 years... With very good reason!

Our mains were equally impressive... Venison and steamed sea bass.

The chef made a point of visiting each table for a chat and was very charming indeed.

The waitstaff were lovely... At no time did we feel rushed during our meal.

A fabulous find and well worth the trip out of London.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank NikolaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Food and service faultless. Food was flavoursome and delicious with every detail perfected. Service was very comfortable and attentive. We enjoyed our evening thank you for a wonderful dinner. Cheese trolley was to die for. All food was based on classic French but not too heavy. Art on a plate !!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolksonntoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I have been coming to the Waterside Inn for over two decades, and for a very good reason. It is, in my opinion, the ultimate in perfection, served up with class, style, charm, and with faultless execution on every level. From the first days when the Waterside Inn was a 'smoking' restaurant (as they all were then!), and the cigarette lighter of a waiter magically appeared under your nose as you pulled a cigarette out of the packet to today, when Alain (son of The Food God, Michel himself) is now in charge at the helm of this marvellous ship. The staff at the Waterside feel like friends nowadays, and the food remains every bit as wonderful as it was when I first visited. The Waterside now has several beautiful rooms that you can stay in, which is ideal if you are visiting from far away, and don't want the slog of a long journey home to taint the warm, fuzzy glow you will inevitably have when you finish dinner.
The wine list, while magnificent in breadth and choice, can suit all budgets, and the Sommeliers are always careful not to suggest stupidly expensive wines unless specifically asked for them. They respect their customers' budgets and really do seem to understand that for many people this is a massive treat. Several classic dishes have been on the menu for many years and so they should - lobster with a julienne of vegetables in a light broth is classic and superb, and then there are also regular new dishes that come and go with season and so the menu is always a delight to read with interesting surprises every time. The quality of every last detail is superb and their attention unfailing. It would be a very sad day for me if I ever visited this place knowing it was the last time I would ever be able to. Literally, it is one of life's greatest treats for me, and in my humble opinion, anybody who said they were bored of the food a) would certainly be bored of life, and b) should possibly be shot!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mabel_Gripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Ok, at the prices for the rooms and food, it is for a special occasion, but it is well worth it.

We had the tasting menu and stayed in a room for a few days.

I can find no faults with Ny aspect of the room... Amazing view, large, well decorated and excellent staff.
The food; mind blowingly good.
The service; I was conscious that it is easy for the service to be stuffy, but they weren't. Good at their jobs, good communication and funny; even having a laugh at my cleaning every spec off my plate with yet more bread.

The only fault I can find is that the inn was missing the universal sign of a good restaurant; a sleeping cat. Luckily the manager pointed out their concrete cat on the jetty :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve1221612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray on Thames
3.5 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,078 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,407 reviews
4.4 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
8.1 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Inn

Address: Ferry Road | Maidenhead, Bray on Thames SL6 2AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Bray on Thames
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bray on Thames
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3* Michelin Restaurant with Rooms run by Chef Patron Alain Roux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Waterside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterside Hotel Bray On Thames
The Waterside Inn Bray On Thames, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing