We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable Bar food, good bar” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Mountain Golf Centre

Blue Mountain Golf Centre
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Binfield
Attraction details
Level Contributor
285 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Reasonable Bar food, good bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

This club has a good bar, open to non golfers.
The menu of bar food is ok, with some interesting favourites.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    4
    1
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Evening Dinner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The venue was good but not exceptional. The food was very poor value for money. The main course could have been anything, the only differentiation was texture - not taste.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alvena-Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The best non-chippy chips around here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We've started popping in here for lunch, being a local family; even though I have no interest in the actual golf they do there.

The restaurant is fairly characterless. Honey-coloured office-like tables and chairs. A television on overhead. A bar with blackboards above it. But it's properly warm when it's cold outside and somehow quite comfortable.

But wow, the chips! At lunchtime, they mostly offer burgers, sandwiches and wraps. I've had, several times now, their Italian-themed burger. Okay, they just top it with pesto, cheese and pepperami but it's really nice and the bowl of chips is always scrumptious and piping hot. None of those insipid rubbery fries that go cold with a minute a this place. They do a good teacake that our little boy enjoys.

Staff at the bar and those that bring the food are pleasant and helpful and cheery. The only problem here, is that food can take a fair while to come out. Often (well, on the three times I've been there) close to half an hour. My wife's eaten there more, with a friend, and it's almost always the case. Worth the wait? Yes, I'd say so. But sometimes a worry when you've only got an hour. And it's never been more than a third full.

Anyway, this place is on my 'do-often' list now. Fantastic chips. Smiling staff. But prepare yourself for quite a wait. And watch out for the various doors into the place. You can enter directly from the carpark, but it's quite a rude shock to be sat eating when suddenly a door is wrenched open and people hurry in. And sort of pull it shut, but it doesn't shut. So you have to get up and shut it behind them. Because the wind is blowing through. (Three times I had to get up and shut the doors!). I just sit away from those doors now. Hehe.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Napkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food is dry and horrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Best thing on the menu are the jacket spuds for lunch but event buffets are dry, cold or so greasy they are dripping in fat!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank KateWest88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Although not visited for some time (due to working abroad) I used to be a very regular visitor to this course. As far as cost is concerned this course is very reasonable indeed. Has various degrees of difficulty from a relative straight forward par 4, to a blind tee shot into a dog leg par 4 or a 200+ yard par 3 that requires at least a 3 wood on a windy day. Great place to test your skill with a lovely friendly clubhouse to celebrate that hole in 1......or not!

Helpful?
1 Thank SimonHorn_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Mountain Golf Centre also viewed

Binfield, Berkshire

Been to Blue Mountain Golf Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing