We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tankersley
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for a friend's wedding.

We arrived with the wedding party and were shown our room.

The room was a double superior room and it was truly lovely. Very clean and spacious. Bed was very comfortable. Had a nice quiet sleep.

Room service was great, good selection at breakfast.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was across from the main building on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rio082016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayleighParkhurst, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of Tankersley Manor on tripadvisor where I was pleased to read that you had a lovely stay.

I hope we see you again in the near future

Regards

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    470
    287
    137
    94
See reviews for
277
561
33
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Have just returned from a lovely weekend at the Tankersley Manor to celebrate our sisters birthday. The hotel was easily accessibly and staff were very warm and welcoming on arrival and were pleasant and friendly throughout the weekend. We are 6 sisters who had booked a Spa experience to celebrate a birthday. This included lunch on the Saturday and dinner on the Friday and Saturday evening. The food was lovely with a buffet style lunch and dinner in the restaurant was excellent on the Friday evening and very good on the Saturday. Lesley, the food and beverage manager and the duty manager (Russell - I think) were particularly good, although all of the hotel staff were great and they should be commended for their service delivery.

However, although the spa staff were friendly, the experience they delivered wasn't great.
Our package included a 30 minute and 60 minute treatment per person over the 2 days.
The quality of the treatment was very dependant upon the quality of the therapist and there was no consistency in the standard of treatments provided. As a result some of us had a lovely time and others were less lucky. The rooms were cold when some of our party underwent their treatment, some treatments were shorter than the sugested time and one of our party was refused a massage as she had recently received hospital treatment. She was told it was "policy". There was no evidence of this policy within the spa or on the questionnaire which was completed prior to therapy.
She was naturally upset as a result of this and advised the therapist she had received massage treatments as part of her recovery but was denied the treatment despite this.
After speaking to the hotel manager she was reassured that she would receive the massage etc requested. However the therapist again refused the massage and my sister was offered 2 mini treatments. Naturally she was very disappointed and upset.
If a policy is in place, it is important to make this clear at the time of booking and a discussion with the client should occur at the time of booking to prevent the distress which subsequenty occurred. It would be useful if the spa staff were encourage to listen to the client and be trained to respond appropriately.
Overall the hotel experience was great but they are sadly let down by the spa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cush59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayleighParkhurst, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us. I was sorry to learn that the issue with the spa massage had not been resolved - both Russell and I were disappointed to discover this, especially after it was thought that we had initially resolved this issue. I can assure you that this will be investigated further and acted upon as this is not a company or hotel policy.

I was however pleased to read that the rest of your stay was enjoyable and that the birthday celebrations were enjoyed by all.

Kind regards

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The best hotel staff I have met for a very long time! lots of smiles from everyone no matter time of the day. Fantastic hotel manager, Russell (the ghost) who never seems to go home!! Lovely relaxing weekend spa break.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missagb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayleighParkhurst, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review of your weekend break where I was delighted to read that you had a great time.

I look forward to welcoming you on your return

Best wishes

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel is officially classed by the AA as 4 Star rated.However I would personally say more like 3 Star. Service is friendly but the restaurant let's them down particularly at breakfast. Staff seem to concentrate on preparing tables for lunch rather than see customers needs are met for breakfast. Rooms are adequate and the hotel boasts a spa and pool. Ideal for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Ideally placed hotel just off junc 36 of M1 with a large car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BARRYONEUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayleighParkhurst, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor after your recent stay. I was sorry to read that you did not find everything to your satisfaction during your stay and I hope that you stay with us again in the future so that we can demonstrate that we do care about our guest satisfaction.

Kind regards

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire UK
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just returned from Tankersley Manor after celebrating my birthday with family, there were 12 in the group. Staff at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful Lesley and Sarah on Reception and Ramani, Assistant Food and Beverage Manager were all particularly good. We had dinner on the Friday evening in a private room off the restaurant and we were all very impressed with the food and the room. My husband had asked the hotel to organise some flowers in our bedroom as a surprise and they were beautiful, thank you. There was also a lovely birthday card from staff at Tankersley Manor in my room and a very tasty cream scone on a plate with a "happy birthday" message piped onto it. Our room was spacious, clean and very pretty.

The hotel is in a great area for walking which we did on Saturday. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to do it again at some point in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayleighParkhurst, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review after your family gathering at the hotel, it was so pleasing to read that you all enjoyed your stay and I do hope that you will be visiting us again soon in the near future.

Kind regards

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

From the photos you imagine a lovely manor house hotel. Dont be fooled. The rooms are small modern and basic, more like a premier inn, but at 4 star prices. Our childrens room stank of smoke and they offer to spray air freshner, but not to change the room. The beds are rock hard and the pillows are the cheap nasty kind, so upir sleep will be hampered by this. There is no mini bar in 90% of the rooms, no magnifying mirror in the bathrooms, which were so grotty and basic you would only want to use the shower and not the bath. The bath was cheap plastic (not dirty just basic and not 4 star). The decor of the rooms is awful.
The food in the brasserie was also very poor and service slow. We had chicken parfait which was like liquid and quite red raw. We had beef with ale and yorkshire pudding that was tiny and not home made - more like a frozen one. Really pathetic for a Yorkshire hotel. The fish and chips was a small portion but edible and the tuna salad was tasteless. Eat out in a pub if you absolutely have to stay there. Otherwise pick a different hotel. We wish we had.

Room Tip: top tip - pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cas2814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayleighParkhurst, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review where I was sorry to learn that you you did not enjoy your experiences with us.

I am very sorry that one of your rooms had a smell of smoke to it and that we were unable to move rooms for you.

Whilst some of our hotel dates back to the 17th century we do have a modern extension to the hotel that is located near in our leisure and spa area.

We do not market ourselves as having mini fridges in any of the rooms at the hotel - whilst we do have these in our upgraded Q rooms and Suites with complimentary refreshments we do not mention fridges in any of our literature. I would also like to confirm that we do not have any plastic baths in any of our bathrooms at the hotel.

I was disappointed to read that you did not find the food to your satisfaction but would like to assure you that our food is freshly prepared and the Beef and Ale with Yorkshire Pudding is not a frozen product bought in.

Once again, thank you for your comments and many apologies for your disappointment

Best wishes

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed for two nights as part of a large family gathering, on a 2 x B&B, 1 x evening meal basis. Our room was large, well appointed and clean, although you did need to carry your cases up a couple of small flights of stairs. The general condition of the hotel and its facilities was also very good. The evening meal was good, although the service could have been quicker. Yet again, breakfast was good, but occasionally items ran out and it took some time to replenish. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful at all times. Overall, a very pleasurable experience, and certainly very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5arkle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayleighParkhurst, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review after your family gathering with us.

It was great to read that you had a pleasurable time and that you found us value for money.

I look forward to welcoming you back in what I hope is not the too distant future

Kind regards

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tankersley
2.8 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
971 reviews
17.7 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,433 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
3,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
246 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
513 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wortley Hall
Wortley Hall
#1 of 1 in Wortley
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels

Property: Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Address: Upper Tankersley, Tankersley S75 3DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Tankersley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tankersley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tankersley Manor is a fantastic four star hotel near Sheffield. Just off J36 of the M1, the hotel is close to the bustling city centre but also on the doorstep to some of the country's most picturesque scenery.The hotel is built round a former 17th century residence with many of the original features being retained including exposed wooden beams and Yorkshire stone windowsills. A modern edge has been created with the addition of a purpose built conference centre, magnificent Leisure Club and Spa and a contemporary bedroom wing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels England
Tankersley Hotel Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing