We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Works xmas do.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tankersley
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed Saturday 5th Jan. We stayed here before some yeas ago so had a good idea what to expect. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Staff were great. We changed rooms as wanted a 'bit more' than the standard. We upgraded to a 4 poster. High floor with amazing view. Food was great. Did not take our son but will do next time. Place was clean and cosy. Steam room was a bit of a let down in that there was hardly any steam. However sauna was well hot. We like this hotel. It suits coupls, families and work do's. We have joined the Break away club (no puns please!!). We plan to bring our little one with us sohe can have some fun. We will certainly upgrade as we like bigger rooms. Beds really comfy and no noise what so ever.

Thanks Tankersley staff. See you again very soon.
:0

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewisemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayleighParkhurst, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of your recent stay where I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will be investigating the efficiency of our steam room to ensure that it is in fully working order and I am sorry that this was a disappointment during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards

Hayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,797)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,395 - 1,401 of 1,797 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding and whilst the wedding was fab and the grounds lovely, the manor itself could have been better. Drinks are very expensive (kind of expected this but still) and the whole place needs a lick of paint. Reception area lovely and room wedding breakfast was in was done out lovely but our room was dated and had cobwebs in, as did the breakfast area. Decent enough place but could do with updating. Not somewhere I'd rush back to.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayleighParkhurst, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review where I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the wedding that you attended at Tankersley Manor.

I will take on board your comments regarding the decor and the cleanliness issues that you encountered and I thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards

Hayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed in the hotel to recharge batteries during busy December. Hotel is situated short drive from Sheffield and just off M1 motorway. It is a lovely manor, great sitting areas inside by the fireplace and restaurant. Room was tidy and furnished to a good standard although I think bed wasn't very comfortable. Nice swimming pool, steam room and jacuzzi. Spa treatment choice was ok, could possibly do with more variety of massage treatments available.

Stayed: December 2012
Thank Agaaaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayleighParkhurst, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and kind comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I have passed your comments onto the Spa Manager regarding the variety of massages that we offer so this can be reviewed for the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Tankersley Manor in the near future.

regards

Hayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were attending a wedding at Wentworth Castle between Sheffield and Barnsley so chose the hotel as it was only about 4 miles away. Its a couple of minutes from the M1, situated on a dual carriageway and with nothing really within walking distance. A taxi to Barnsley centre is about £10 and I would guess similar to Sheffield.

The hotel is a new building designed to look old with low wooden beams etc. Our room was fine -good size, clean and nicely decorated, though quite a walk from reception along numerous winding corridors.

As mentioned above there is nothing easily walkable from the hotel so you're something of a captive audience in terms of food and drinks - and they certainly make the most of that! I though the price of drinks was excessive and the quality wasn't great. They were experiencing problems with the cider pump which meant the drink was totally flat when served. The alternative was bottled cider which was £1 more. It would have been a nice touch to replace the original, unsatisfactory drink free of charge, but perhaps not surprisingly we had to cough up the extra cost. The bar area was actually quite nice for an hotel, with an open fire, there were plenty of staff working though they did all seem a bit under pressure even though the bar wasn't that busy.

Breakfast was included in the room price and was actually quite good for a buffet style affair, Its served till 11 on a Sunday which is good- we arrived around 10.30 and were pleasantly surprised that they were still stocking the buffet with fresh hot food when we left - many hotels 'run down' whats on offer in the last half hour, so credit to them for not doing that.

It has the feel of a chain hotel (which it is) but is fine for a short stay - we got an Internet rate of £65 which I thought was a fair price, though I couldnt say that for the bar prices!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayleighParkhurst, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank for your review when you stayed with us recently whilst attending a wedding at Wentworth Castle. I am sorry that we were encountering some issues with the cider on the night of your stay and this has since been rectified. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the buffet breakfast prior to your departure.

I do hope we can welcome you back in the future for a weekend break

Regards

Hayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I treated my family to a night away at Tankersley Manor. We were 6 adults and a 3 year old. We all had a lovely time. We had a great time in the pool, and worked up an appetite for the excellent meal we had in the evening. The food was all great and very nicely presented. The staff were all very friendly and helpful without exception. We have stayed in several Q hotels and this hotel more than lived up to their reputation. We joined the Breakaway Club when we were there, as we fully anticipate staying in more Q hotels in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SjS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayleighParkhurst, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review of your Twixmas break. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the stay and have joined the Breakaway Club and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Hayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Me and my partner booked this hotel for a relaxing break 2 weeks before we got married. We could not have asked for better. The staff was all very friendly and helpful.
The hotel and room cleaned to a very high standard.
We had up graded to a q start room which was well worth the extra money.
We both had a spa treatment and again found the staff excellent.
Pool area was nice.
Food in both the bar and room good.
Over all I would say if you was staying in this area book into this hotel.
Its also very close to meadow hall for that shopping trip

Room Tip: room 134 q star room well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe G, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and for your kind comments. I am delighted that you have had a memorable experience with us and enjoyed our facilities during, what will be, without any doubts, a very stressful time just before the big day. I would like to wish you all the best and hope that you will visit us again for you anniversary.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I and work colleagues booked a spa day instead of a night out for Christmas. The spa area is very nice and on the day we were there it wasn't too busy so we had the pool and spa area to ourselves most of the time. The spa staff were lovley and couldn't have been more accommodating and helpful. We booked a table in the restaurant in the hotel for lunch and that's where things went wrong. We were sat waiting for 15 mins and had to go and find someone to take our order, we then waited a further 20 mins when we had to go and chase up our drinks! They did knock the price of the drinks off the bill and the food was very nice, but I think at busy periods they should have had more staff on.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank btheset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe G, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive review. I am delighted that you had a great Spa experience, please accept my apologies if your lunch was delayed, indeed we were a lot busier that expected and should have planned this in advance.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Yours sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tankersley
2.8 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
1,081 reviews
1.5 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#20 of 53 in Sheffield
277 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wortley Hall
Wortley Hall
#1 of 1 in Wortley
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel
17.7 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels

Address: Church Lane | Upper Tankersley, Tankersley S75 3DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Tankersley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tankersley
Price Range: $67 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tankersley Manor is a fantastic four star hotel near Sheffield. Just off J36 of the M1, the hotel is close to the bustling city centre but also on the doorstep to some of the country's most picturesque scenery.The hotel is built round a former 17th century residence with many of the original features being retained including exposed wooden beams and Yorkshire stone windowsills. A modern edge has been created with the addition of a purpose built conference centre, magnificent Leisure Club and Spa and a contemporary bedroom wing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels England
Tankersley Hotel Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing