We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food”
Review of Thaal

Thaal
Ranked #29 of 321 Restaurants in Barnsley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $51
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Balti, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Once again really nice food my favourite with lots of garlic is deshi garlic chicken, my partner tried special mixed balti both plenty of meat really enjoyed will return soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shazbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    72
    27
    11
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Visited Thaal on a few occasions and each time has been lovely. Super onion bhajis and venison curry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank incawood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely food & excellent value for money.”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit here was a couple of years ago ( even though we are only 2 mins away ) and we were very disappointed so never went back.
Tried again a couple of weeks ago and were very satisfied .
Last night we had the early evening menu served 5- 6pm.
The food was excellent, tasty and really well cooked and the portion size made it really good value for money and finished off with lovely coffee.
Service was very good without being over the top.
Can't believe what we have been missing all these years !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebsgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lovely atmosphere and staff, and gorgeous dishes. It's just down the road for us, and although we can choose between Mumbai and Thaal, Thaal always wins.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaby_Wolferink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Meal with Friends”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have eaten in many restaurants as a business man and I have to say I go back time and again to this Asian restaurant as it has to be the best food I have ever eaten.

The Chicken and potato with chilli & Cheese starter sounds dreadful but is an explosion of tastes when you eat. So much so when we last went I think all 6 people started with this again.

My wife thinks the Biryani is the best she has ever eaten and again if we want this style of meal there is only one place to go.
People who want "Norma Indian food" must be daft if they would rather eat that than the raft of Bangladeshis dishes available here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewLLongley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thaal also viewed

Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Ferrybridge, West Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Thaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing