We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dilraj

Dilraj
Ranked #221 of 317 Restaurants in Barnsley
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have eaten here as a couple regularly over the years and never been disappointed. The staff are always very friendly and obliging, the food is consistently good. There is always a good atmosphere even mid week. I would highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank greenfrog2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    26
    16
    26
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fir class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

we
have been to a lot of indian resaurants in the
the barnsley area and this one rates as one
of the best in the barnsley area the staff are
very nice and the customer servce is second to none
well worth a visit .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charles t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good ambience, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have always had a warm welcome and good food at the Dil Raj.
The menu is interesting and extensive. Especially good sizzlers and rezalla.
All in all, a friendly and welcoming restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank derek h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“STILL WAITING TO BE SEATED”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Waited ages to be seated again, restaurant overbooked to manys tables very cramped poor service never again

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YORKSHIRE75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible service good food...London prices....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Well.... table for 4 booked for 730pm, when we arrived to chaotic scenes we we left in the crowd at the bar until we were 'told' to move out of the way..... we were shown to a table after 35 minutes and then abandoned..... after a furth 15 minutes we managed to order.... early optimism soon ebbed away as the clock ticked.......every course was a chore and drinks inbetween to numbe the pain were elusive.... we had children to collect at 10pm and were fgast losing the will to live.....some of the staff were pleasant but the one we seemed to have acquired was at best over familiar and at worst downright rude.... by 10pm we decided enough was enough and went to pay and to complain about the 'cattle-truck' treatment the manager was indifferent and no discount was offered, not even a drink.... it really is a shame that the place is being run with a lack of care and ill manners as the little sight we had of the food was of a very high quality.... Not one for over-blown displays personally, I can say catergorically that we will not be going back again. don't waste your time or money here go to Aargrah at Denby Dale as you are treated as 'friends' from the minute you arrive.....

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dilraj also viewed

 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Dilraj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing