We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“once bitten thrice shy!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dilraj

Dilraj
Ranked #222 of 314 Restaurants in Barnsley
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“once bitten thrice shy!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Used this this as a takeaway as my wife liked this to the other restuarant in the village ( not as hot), we have been over charged as well. Let me start three meals ago, had lamb sagg full of gristle uh! "never mind these things happen, second meal lamb sagg half madras hot,, didn't resemble a decent meal, my fault should not have asked for it a bit hotter,meal three my wifes favourite chicken dansak, what a load of rubbish. what has happened to dil raj god onl knows. Sorry gave you enough chances will not be going back again

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jamieandsue_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    26
    16
    26
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“always a lovely meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

my favourite Indian in Barnsley, can't get anything better. Great food great service and friendly down to earth staff. Had my first date with the man I'm now due to marry at this place and we return on a regular basics. everything you want from an Indian. smells great from outside and tastes even better

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Dil Raj is my absolute favourite restaurant in the Barnsley area! We always visit this place for important events like birthdays/anniversary etc. On our last anniversary we were presented with free ice cream complete with sparklers! We’ve visited this restaurant many times over the years, and never had a problem with the service; the staff are always attentive and polite. We’ve also redeemed vouchers against the cost of the meal, and again had no problems doing this.

As a picky vegetarian, even I’m spoiled for choice with the menu! I personally recommend the aloo chat for starters, if I could only eat one meal for the rest of my life, it would be that!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 0utlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food at great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The Dilraj is certainly my favourite restaurant whilst visiting Barnsley. The food is always good and service always with a smile. Never fails to deliver!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CraigMcLaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We have heard lots of fantastic reviews about dil raj so we thought we would try it I rang to book a table for 2 on a Friday nite we live in Sheffield we arrived 15 mins early when we went to the bar it was really busy there was only 2 bar staff I spoke to what lookedike the manager to say we had a table booked he totally ignored me all the staff were miserable there was no where to wait it was full of drunks waiting for take aways they seemed to be well looked after another couple said they had been waiting an hour for their table having looked around it was full of kids & noisy me & my husband just left appalling we went to killamarsh and had a lovely meal at Akhtars

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Willgina03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dilraj also viewed

 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Dilraj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing