We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
What a gorgeous building

This is a cracking little museum we particularly went to see the Barnsley Canister exhibition but... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Michael H
Very impressive building

Highly impressive building in the centre of Barnsley, sculpted in Portland stone. Constructed some... read more

Reviewed March 2, 2019
allertonlad
,
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Read all 36 reviews
  
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
28
4
2
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
28
4
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful building portland stone fountain museum sculpted cafe shop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 36 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2017 via mobile

Food was nice tasting rubbish value for money came out feeling hungry and I'm only small had the stew 4 prices of meat in a gravy 2 tablespoons of mash and a tiny dumpling £12.50 so not worth it very disappointed. But nice pub.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank bryany27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2016

The town hall is an absolutely amazing building that stands out above the centre of the town. The gardens surrounding it are lovely with planted flower beds and a large water feature. There is a museum housed in the building as well that is worth visiting too.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank 2014Jandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful now it has been refurbished, everywhere was so clean and looked really cared for, the room used for the wedding service was lovely, light and airy for a hot day and really well presented wish we could have been able to throw confetti although I fully understand why we couldn't

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

First of all the reception i received was welcoming. The lady there was polite and well informed. Visited the museum had half hour to spare. Very interesting particularly like the history of the miners.I will be visiting lots more . The security guard very professional. The water fountains outside are an added bonus.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank dianesmith12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile

This is a place you step in and just think wow.

Marble floors, grand sweeping staircases and rich reception rooms. The ornate lift I'd just beautiful.

Plus showcases of historical items. It's great.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank CathrynSanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews