We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fantastic place to eat 100% satisfaction guarantee” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Ruelle

Cafe Ruelle
Ranked #42 of 314 Restaurants in Barnsley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A friendly family run licenced cafe bar close to the bus and railway station. Join us for home-made quality food at very reasonable prices. We serve takeout food and can deliver locally as well as provide buffets for meetings and functions. Beers and wines available on the premises.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic place to eat 100% satisfaction guarantee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came across this cafe by accident after finding a clock shop closed. What an absolutely good find. Every member of this very well run place were exceptionally well mannered and gave every person great respect. The gentleman got my coffee right first time and that is a rare for that to happen as I am quite awkward with coffee. Our full English breakfasts were exceptional too, the eggs were exactly as I asked them to be done. Words cannot express how these people make a difference to Barnsley, people matter here and the food is exceptional. Next time we visit Yorkshire we are definitely heading straight there, nowhere compares to this place. Well done to you all on making your establishment a wonderful place to visit. ..............exceptional.........see you soon. Hopefully back in Yorkshire next week

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alliswellathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan D, Manager at Cafe Ruelle, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
It was very pleasing to read your review. We aim to provide a friendly service and homemade food at reasonable prices. Thank you very much for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    12
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surprise cafe in Barnsley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

A pleasant surprise too. I discovered this cafe today at what I thought might be a bad time for lunch (2:00 pm) a bit late I thought. No problem whatsoever. Pleasant staff, great atmosphere, good food at a great price. Will definitely go back. A bit uncertain trying somewhere new (female eating alone) but absolutely no need to have any concerns. They've even got wifi!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan D, Manager at Cafe Ruelle, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We were all flattered to read your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top Top Cafe in Barnsley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Discovered this cafe a few months ago, and are now regular visitors on a Saturday lunchtime... This cafe is a real gem, the staff are brilliant, friendly, attentive and very good at what they do. The cafe offers traditional, we'll cooked homemade food at a very good price. Homemade soup is fantastic, breakfasts vey good and the homemade cakes are sublime.... Always a pleasure to visit Cafe Ruelle

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonArmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan D, Manager at Cafe Ruelle, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Many thanks for your fantastic review. Everyone at Cafe Ruelle was thrilled to read it and we are pleased that our family run cafe feels welcoming to our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very very nice food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Literally just going to pay the bill. Myself and fiancé have been up for the weekend. Have read reviews on trip advisor so came for breakfast. Was beautiful! Served by alan, what a lovely chap. And was made to laugh by luke ( both have a mention now). If lived closer would definitely be back. Next visit will be may.looking forward already.
Keep up the good work.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimiesmejaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan D, Manager at Cafe Ruelle, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Many thanks for your very complementary review (and the mention). We were all pleased with your comments and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have visited the cafe numerous times. The full English and veggie breakfasts are excellent value, cooked fresh and piping hot. Also had sandwiches and home made soup which were also excellent quality. The staff are very friendly and attentive, especially Luke who is always pleasant and chatty. Would recommend this cafe to anyone wanting good value food with excellent service!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaG986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan D, Manager at Cafe Ruelle, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your visit to Cafe Ruelle. We are pleased that you enjoyed both the food and quality of service. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Ruelle also viewed

Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Cafe Ruelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing