We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, but need more staff!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glass House Restaurant at the Premier Inn

Glass House Restaurant at the Premier Inn
Ranked #46 of 314 Restaurants in Barnsley
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: Pub, Bar, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Stylish bar/restaurant serving classic and contemporary dishes.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, but need more staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have visited the Glass House more than once and would suggest that on a Friday or Saturday evening you don't turn up with out a booking. It has often been very full, which is a testament to the food but I have always found the staff to be run ragged. They have always been very polite and attentive but we also found that on a night 4 or 5 different staff could be attending to you in one sitting as they are usually so busy. I think with a couple extra wait staff on busy nights the place would be great. It would cut out the long wait (on two occasions 20+) you often face when finishing your main and having your table cleared and deserts ordered.

The food has always been top notch, the Lamb particularly nice as well as the miniature deserts and sharing platters. The food is better then what you would expect for a chain and at a reasonable price for the quality, I would highly recommend for those with children or picky eaters. There is something for everyone and the food is lovely.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    57
    49
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice food in a friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Four of us went to have a meal on a Saturday night as part of our Christmas celebrations. I booked a table for four using the Glasshouse website. When we arrived the table was ready and we sat down on time.
The bar area was buzzing as this was a Saturday night near to Christmas and the atmosphere was good.
The waiter was very attentive and dealt with all our drink orders.
The food was good and also hot, the sevice was fast and friendly and the prices were good.
We had a good meal here and I would recomend it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller6161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not bad but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

As we were staying at the Premier Inn, we decided to dine in.being realistic, I would give it a 3.5 and not a 3 or a 4, but what can you do.
As the restaurant was full, we ate in the bar. The range of food is not bad, and the food came fairly quickly. The pot pies were OK, although nothing special.
Not much to say, if you fancy pub food, are staying at the hotel and its raining, it is not a bad choice ....

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food at a good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Recommend the burger, its tastey and huge, you've got to double up for the extra £1.50. The service was very quick and friendly.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good value basic food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Decided to eat here with a group of friends. Food was tasty, hot and generous portions but the service was very slow both in someone taking the orders and then serving the food. Apparently they were short staffed which was pretty evident but the servers were very friendly and polite. Would definitely give this place a second chance

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELBAG40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glass House Restaurant at the Premier Inn also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Glass House Restaurant at the Premier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing