We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Definite Favourite”
Review of Avid Farm & Coffee Shop - CLOSED

Avid Farm & Coffee Shop
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Description: Here at Avid Farm Shop we believe in supplying affordable, sustainable, locally sourced, ethical food. Whether it's home bred, locally sourced meat, baked on site artisan bread, organic fruit & veggies, home cooked goodies, with veggie, gluten, wheat & dairy free options, our deli championing local delicacies & wholefoods, our organic box delivery scheme, or a cup of coffee made by Baristas you're after; we're sure you'll be amazed at how much we've squeezed into our farm shop. And if that's not enough, to make your visit a pleasure; why not kick off your walking boots, or park your bike and use our picnic tables, or the kid's activity area? We look forward to seeing you soon!
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Definite Favourite”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We called in to buy meat and veg and stayed for a full English breakfast and couldn't have wished for more. Everything was delicious, served hot and plenty to eat. The coffee was great too. We regularly buy meat, deli products and our eggs from Avid (the eggs are the best we have ever eaten) and we weren't disappointed by the cafe and it's choice. We will definitely go again and try to work our way through the menu. A definite winner!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidandLouiseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dizzydoors, Owner at Avid Farm & Coffee Shop, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. Those eggs are fab aren't they. Ed the egg man, will be over the moon..and the chirpy chucks :-) Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    6
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just what a proper farm shop cafe should be like”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This is the best farm shop cafe I've been to and certainly much better than the more well known ones in the Barnsley area. I think it will be very popular soon but for now it's a bit of an undiscovered gem. I had gammon and egg with home made chips with the skins on and my wife had the pulled pork sandwich with home coleslaw and lentil salad. Both were really really nice and very good value. I could rattle on quite a bit more but I think the best thing I can say is try it you won't regret it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank No-one-spesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dizzydoors, Owner at Avid Farm & Coffee Shop, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. No one special has just made us feel VERYspecial..:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Foodie Find”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We popped into Avid for lunch today,after a recommendation from a friend...and we certainly weren't disappointed. My husband said that his burger was one of the best he'd had;it was simply but beautifully prepared,the quality of the meat meaning that it stood alone-without the need for embellishment. It was accompanied by fresh salads which were not the usual run of the mill. I had a vegetarian stack & I'd also have to say that it was the best 'veggie' burger I've eaten. Such a refreshing change to find homemade chickpea patties with gorgeous creamy coleslaw,in a fluffy bun,rather than mass produced spicy bean burgers! We then had a walk around the farm shop and found it to be fabulous. I had the difficult job of choosing from an array of tasty vegetarian meals/tarts/patties etc etc So very unusual to find such choice. And for meat eaters-the butchery area is wonderful. Also really have to mention the staff-so friendly & genuinely interested in customer service & satisfaction. A great find;we really enjoyed our visit and will certainly be back for more!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dizzydoors, Owner at Avid Farm & Coffee Shop, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
As a veggie myself, with a meat loving family, it's great to hear you feel we cater for all! Lovely to have such positive feedback. Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Have been having a veg box delivered for a while now and it is fantastic value. The best veg box we have ever had (we have had boxes from two other companies in the past).

The cafe is an absolute treat. The coffees are wonderful and the food is fantastic. Portions are very generous and everything is fresh and tasty.

The shop is amazing. The choice is unbelievable, the only problem is deciding what to try next.

Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dizzydoors, Owner at Avid Farm & Coffee Shop, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
It's great to see Box Scheme customers coming to see us. We love to put faces to names; chatting to customers help us to keep our business relevant to each and every one of you. Thanks for coming and big thanks for the positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirrth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mother's Day treat - Afternoon tea”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just back from Avid Farm shop after celebrating mother's day with the boys. Afternoon tea was perfect in every single way. We felt like we were at Harrods! The sandwiches were delicate and very tasty, the cakes were simply divine. All the staff really took the time and care to make sure all the people seated were enjoying the food and kept topping up the tea pots; we were welcomed and served immediately; I really liked that staff remembered the extra details for special diet, and they needed no reminding at all.
The layout and crockery was lovely! These added extras made it extra special. Really good value for money too. Hope you do this again soon! We will be back to sample the bacon butties next time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dizzydoors, Owner at Avid Farm & Coffee Shop, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We LOVED doing this Mothers Day High Tea. Thanks for the brilliant feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avid Farm & Coffee Shop also viewed

 
Cawthorne, Barnsley
Mapplewell, Barnsley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing