We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate staff and excellent food.”
Review of Alams Lounge

Alams Lounge
Ranked #6 of 324 Restaurants in Barnsley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $26
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: We are Barnsley's only authentic Kashmiri Indian restaurant, serving traditional Kasmiri cuisine in a warm friendly environment. Our team of internationally acclaimed chefs really do push the boundaries.Whether you decide to dine in our restaurant or have your food delivered to your door, we aim to please. We serve a vast array of soft drinks and mocktails and customers are welcome to bring alcohol in moderation ( maximum 2 bottles of wine or equivalent per four paying guests). You've tried the rest now try the best.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“First rate staff and excellent food.”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have been visiting Alams regularly for the last two years. The staff are very friendly and will cater to your tastes when asked. Very helpful. The food is generous in their portions and the Masala fish are fantastic. Lamb Asian Masala is the best around. Take your own alcohol makes it a cheap night out, so I don't understand the other persons comments when she says she was left waiting in the bar,.....there isn't one!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    33
    18
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food, big portions! ”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful food. The service is outstanding. I would recommend this Indian to anyone and the prices are cheap for the quality of the food

Helpful?
1 Thank Hep14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I went to this Indian restaurant last year and found it alright, nothing to get excited about but ok. On my recent visit we were stood at the bar for quite a while before anyone came to attend to us, the poppadoms were ok but the pickle tray consisted of something yellow, onions coated in something red and something white, tasteless! The main meal of curry, which took an age to arrive was dry and the rice was all clumped together as if it had come out of a microwave cook in the bag, the naan bread was like a very thin pizza with something sprinkled on the top. Overall a dreadful experience the service rubbish and I certainly will not be returning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
2,097 reviews
1,191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,818 helpful votes
“Disappointing & expensive!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Decided to order a takeaway from here as the reviews are generally very good. Food arrived luke warm at best.
My Lahore Balti main was not hot as stated & had a burnt cumin after taste. Even the appearance had a dark brown tinge due to the overcooked spice. My aloo Ghobi side was ok, along with my Chapattis.
No free popaddoms or dips you get elsewhere & at £13.80 for one person was a bit steep for the quality of the food. Loads better options nearby.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is a little gem. Since it opened we have been numerous times and never been disappointed. The food is lovely and very good portions. There is a good choice of dishes and you can ask for milder or hotter - as you like it. The staff are very obliging and try to accommodate everyone. We have recommended Alam's to loads of people and everyone is delighted. We love it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alams Lounge also viewed

Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Alams Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing