We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but worth an occasional visit”
Review of Wentworth Castle Gardens - CLOSED

Wentworth Castle Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Beautiful historic Gardens, open 10am - 5pm every day, with extensive deer park and unique wedding venue in Pennine Barnsley Stunning 50 acre Gardens with interest in every season, romantic follies and fabulous views out into the Pennines, plus miles of country paths to enjoy through our 500 acre deer park. Dogs welcome on short lead in deer park, but sorry not in the Gardens. Our Victorian conservatory now fully restored and open to visitors is occasionally closed for private functions, please check our website before setting out. Facilities include cafe, shop, adventure playground.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator
cheshire, england
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth an occasional visit”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Lovely grounds and gardens and beautiful scenery across miles of open countryside. Didn't find it very accessible for those with mobility problems but otherwise a very enjoyable stroll round.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nikki044044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire H, General Manager at Wentworth Castle Gardens, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are working all the time to improve accessibility in our hilly gardens and I hope you'll see improvements next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    165
    57
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely day out”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Had a lovely stroll through the gardens, the union flag walkway was amazing, we sat in the gardens and just enjoyed the view,
the floral displays were in full bloom, and the coffee shop with its wonderful home made cakes and buns finished the day off a treat.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire H, General Manager at Wentworth Castle Gardens, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your visit. Many thanks for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to unwind”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

One of the nicest hidden gems of South Yorkshire.
Something for the whole family to do.
The gardens are beautiful and really well tended. Great place for kids too

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Craigebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire H, General Manager at Wentworth Castle Gardens, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Gardens soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
271 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
“Outdoor performance for Wuthering Heights”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We bought 2 tickets for the outdoor performance of Wuthering Heights for £14, which was excellent VFM. We looked on the website, information stated, bring your own low back chair, opening time for picnic, 5:30 for a 6:30 start. We had to phone the site to see if parking included in the deal, which it was. It did mention that the performance would go ahead in all weathers, but there was no mention of use of brollies etc. Having just been to the Minack Theatre in Cornwall, we found there was a lot more information on their site, as to what to expect and prepare for an outdoor performance.
When we arrived, parking was very organised and lots of helpers on site to inform us where to go. Rain was expected and we were very disappointed to see lots of people had brought golfing style brollies and some very large chairs.
The setting was beautiful, the stage and actors were very close to the audience, and there was lots of space. We were surprised as to the excessive amount of space taken up by some individuals, who had picnic tables and rugs, in front of their parties. It seemed a little unfair to us, as there were some people cramped at the rear, while others sprawled out! I think a little more thought is needed from the organisers to help enhance everyone's experiences.
The performance however, was very good. The sound and lighting were good and the location was stunning.
Would definitely return and would recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank joan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire H, General Manager at Wentworth Castle Gardens, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our outdoor performance of Wuthering Heights - and thank you for your helpful feedback which we will take on board for future performances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to visit in Yorkshire”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I love visiting Wentworth Castle, it's a shame you can only go into the house on pre-booked tours. But the gardens are lovely and big to get lost it. Always great place to go with your camera and there's lots of beautiful scenery and flowers during the summer.

The cafe is lovely and the food is amazing too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire H, General Manager at Wentworth Castle Gardens, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review - glad to have a fan from over the Pennines!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wentworth Castle Gardens also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing