We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first ever visit”
Review of The Chilli Lodge

The Chilli Lodge
Ranked #70 of 320 Restaurants in Barnsley
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Bangladeshi
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“first ever visit”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

four of us went with a groupon deal very busy but seated immediatly service slow only two waiters for a very busy retaurant the guy who brought the meals from the kitchen very surly but the food was the best we have tasted and for what we paid outstanding value

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrjmcclure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mutahid, Manager at The Chilli Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Glad you enjoyed the food and found it good value for money. There have been some staffing changes recently and we hope your experience of service will be improved if you return. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    37
    25
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best in Barnsley!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Another excellent visit to Chilli Lodge. Really surprised by some of the negative reviews posted on this site. Tonight was really busy but staff still really friendly and welcoming and food top notch. We bring visiting family and friends regularly and they love it as much as we do! We have used vouchers here too, but have found that it always that is made very clear that customers need to bring a paper copy. Had buffet tonight- usually eat of the menu because we like the more adventurous dishes. Lamb Desi was great. Will be back very soon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cazgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mutahid, Manager at The Chilli Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. We aim to plaese and are glad you have enjoyed the food and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Careful!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We have subscribed to their website this year and up until mid June they are offering 20% off the food bill so we thought we would try it? Groupon and High Life offers are far better deals. Understanding that value is important but it’s about the quality of the food for us. Met Abdul and mentioned their website offer and immediately stated no paperwork no discount! Offered my details to check on their system but sadly not interested. If the food would have been superior we could have understood however, this was short sighted given that there was only one other table occupied in the restaurant and Abdul was waxing lyrical saying that he sent his staff away because he is so quiet...I wonder why!
80% of something is better than 100% of nothing Abdul...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mutahid, Owner at The Chilli Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
We are slightly confused by your comments as we do not have a website that you can subscribe to. People on our mailing list receive offers from time to time, which are time restricted and clearly state that you must print and bring in the voucher. Nether the less we apologise for any problems this caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good curry, great choice”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The food at Chilli Lodge is very good - we have used the restaurant and take away service quite a lot and always been pleased with our food, service & delivery. Can get busy at weekends so booking is adviseable and as for delivery, you may need to be patient but the service is good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicnak100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mutahid, Manager at The Chilli Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Thank you for taking time to comment on your experiences of Chilli Lodge. We are glad you have had positive experiences of food and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Lovely curry... Really different tastes!”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

In the last couple of months this has become a regular destination for Martin and myself... The menu is really varied and everything seems to have that little twist... We've even had a take away and that was just as good!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mutahid, Manager at The Chilli Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Thank you for you comments about the varied menu. We try to cater for every taste and provide some dishes that are slightly unusual alongside the traditional favourites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chilli Lodge also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Chilli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing