We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you are desperate.”
Review of Eastfield Arms

Eastfield Arms
Ranked #190 of 342 Restaurants in Barnsley
Price range: $3 - $27
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The atmosphere of a working mens club. Clearly if it can be cooked in a microwave then it is.
Poor and slow service and the staff are so rude it's unbelievable. You can see that the staff favour the regulars but this won't attract new customers. One off which won't be me !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen-LHM, General Manager at Eastfield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post a comment. I'm sorry the Eastfield wasn't to your liking and I was concerned to read your comment regarding our team. I will be sharing your viewpoint at our next team meeting and opening a discussion on the topic.

Thanks again for actually taking the time to post - we will take your comments on board and use them to improve what we do.

Sizzling Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 181 of 239 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

Only has 4 highchairs in such a big place, had to wait an hour for one.
Had drinks served in dirty glasses.
Sunday dinner consists of frozen potatoes, veg and Yorkshires.
All meals came Luke warm.

Will never eat here again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nickbarnes6425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen-LHM, General Manager at Eastfield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Many thanks for your feedback following your meal yesterday and I'm sorry that all our high chairs were taken at the time of your visit - we will invest in some more to hopefully prevent a similar occurrence happening again. Regarding your meal and the drinks you receieved I will certainly take on board what you have said and speak with the kitchen team and front of house crew so that we learn from your comments and endeavour to rectify the shortcomings you identified. We could and should have resolved those concerns at the time of your visit. It is always disappointing to learn that some guests sometimes find us not at our best but we do value genuine feedback and rest assured we will learn from your contribution - thanks once again for taking the time and trouble to post a review.

Sizzling Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Went to the Eastfield last night,my wife and myself tried the valentines menu and it was excellent.The pub was great food,brilliant price,fantastic service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 82simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen-LHM, General Manager at Eastfield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to record some feedback about your Valentine's experience with us here at the Eastfield. The week end Valentine's offer was very well received and lots of delighted couples shared your opinion - but they haven't found TripAdvisor yet! Thanks again for recording your comments - it's always nice to receive compliments - hopefully you'll visit again soon and try out the new menu which is about to be launched.

Sizzling Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This pub serves cheap and cheerful food. We were served in reasonable time but the food was not actually cooked well. The chips served with the meals were very dry - like they had been cooked and then kept warm and had dried out. The burger & chips came with a bit of lettuce on the side but nothing other than that and nothing inside the bun either e.g. salad. Overall ok for a cheap family outing but not great. Don't think would return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cuddles999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen-LHM, General Manager at Eastfield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to record your observations about your recent visit to eat with us. Sorry the food spec' disappointed but the good news is that we are about to launch a NEW menu - our first for almost 12 months! Hopefully you may find something more appealing for you and the family.

Thanks once again for taking the time to comment - we really do appreciate it - good and not so good.

Sizzling Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Just ate at the Eastfield ordered Surf And Turf and Piri Piri Chicken Skewers The chicken was overcooked but edible as for the Steak on the Surf and Turf it was inedible more like a piece of rubber could not even cut into it with the steak Knife provided and the plate was swimming in grease when complaining to a member of staff all she said was ''well i did ask you if your meals were OK'' yes she did but we had only just been served when she asked. She did say she would have a word with the duty manager but no one came to the table to see me so we left never to return .CHEAP BUT NOT SO CHEERFUL

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank boilybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen-LHM, Manager at Eastfield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to record your comments regarding your visit to eat with us. I'm sorry you were disappointed with the way your food was cooked and I will certainly investigate how plates were used when the dishes you ordered are normally served on our trademark "sizzling skillets". I will also be looking at how we can improve our table checking and feedback harvesting as we much prefer to rectify "resolvable situations" when they arise rather than reading about them a little later.
Thanks once again for your feedback - evaluating and acting upon genuine customer comment is one of the only ways we can seek to improve what we do.

"Sizzling Steve" B-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eastfield Arms also viewed

Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Mapplewell, Barnsley
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Eastfield Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing