We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't fault this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Barnsley
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Can't fault this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We asked for a top floor room with a view, which is exactly what we got - a great start. Spankingly clean, a shower we didn't want to get out of because it was more like a massage, a really comfy bed, friendly staff, a decent pub/restaurant next door which serves great ale, and excellent value to boot. The parking was very cheap too, at £3.50 for 24 hours, which was a nice surprise (and the directions provided by the hotel were simple and accurate). Barnsley itself is a handsome town (if a bit tired in places), within easy walking distance of the hotel, with a great market, lots of shops and facilities, and some lovely buildings. It was our first stay at a Premier Inn, and if they're all like this we can't wait to try the next one!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sooski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    163
    41
    18
    10
See reviews for
157
195
49
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk
Level Contributor
181 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stopped off on the way south. Very convenient for M1, hotel is in a small complex of apartments and offices, seems to be waiting for more shops/cafés to open.

Car park is under hotel, be warned, entrance is a few yards off roundabout, take 2nd exit off motorway road and prepare to turn left up a ramp almost within a blink. Parking is cheap at £3.50 for 24 hrs, but still hate paying for hotel car parks.

Very friendly reception, they have auto teller sign ins, just enter your booking reference or stick in credit card (card didn't work for us), select a few options, staff assisted, and it spews out receipts, key cards and restaurant Chitty if requested.

Rooms nice and large, but views of odd rooms of quad, evens out of city. Restaurant acceptable, opted for meal deal (restricted menu) plus breakfast.

Breakfast, waitress order for hot food, cereals etc. buffet, and coffee from a Costa automatic barrista, but quite nice.

Altogether a pleasant over night.

Room Tip: Evens face motorway (over 1 mile away), odds face quad, could be noisy if bar busy? Entrance to ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geepster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here for two nights recently and must say this place is as good as any 5*. Nice welcoming staff and a superb restraunt/bar built into the place with panoramic view over the city.

Made all the diffrence to an enjoyable visit. would recommend and will no doubt be back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeltaRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

A short review of the problems encountered. The parking in a multi-story was hard to find and not sign posted. I booked a meal deal but it was not made clear that I would have to select from a limited menu. Service in the restaurant was slow and I was expected to pay for a 2nd drink immediately, during the meal rather than at the end. I had to chase up my dessert.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Glasshouse is the restaurant at the Premier Inn. We found an extensive menu, with a range of vegetarian dishes. The service was good, and the food served hot. The wine list gave a good choice of dinner wines.
We attended with friends,one of who is disabled and needs his wheelchair at all times. This did not pose a problem for the staff, and a suitable table was allocated. Disabled facilities were good and there is a large car park opposite.

Very good for a pre theatre meal when visiting the Lamproom Theatre next door.

The Glasshouse is a very popular eatery,especially at weekends,and I would advise booking to ensure your table.

Room Tip: Booking advisable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyke92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Room was spotlessly clean including bathroom which was better than some much more expensive hotels we've been to. We had an amazing view which we weren't expecting and the meal in the restaurant was lovely. Staff were great and really helpful. Incredible value. Will be coming back

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - the staff are happy to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizziew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

From booking to arriving premier inn Barnsley was a breeze. The staff on arrival were friendly and welcomed the children with a little goodie bag. The rooms were excellent and comfortable. We booked for an evening meal which was fantastic lots of choice and the children's menu was great. Good value. Breakfast was excellent too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsley
1.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Barnsley (Dearne Valley) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel
4.4 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel
Address: Shambles Street | Gateway Plazza, Barnsley S70 2SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Barnsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Barnsley Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. Barnsley Town Centre is only a short distance away. Directions: Exit M1 at J37 and follow A628 (Dodworth Road) signposted to Barnsley. After approximately 1 mile take the second exit at the roundabout onto Shambles Street, the entrance to the car park is immediately on the left. Parking is chargeable (please contact site for charges). Height restriction 6'. Postcode S70 2SB. The pedestrian entrance to the hotel and Table Table restaurant is on Sackville Street where alternative parking is available. Postcode S70 2RD. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: S70 2SB Hotel Parking: There is no parking available on-site at this hotel. Chargeable off-site parking is available nearby costing £5 overnight or £2 for 2 hours, or £4 up to 8 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Barnsley Central m1 j37 Hotel Barnsley
Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing