We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very friendly stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Barnsley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I booked into this hotel on Thursday 11th April for a four night stay. This was our first time at the Hotel and we found the hotel and service was the same as any 4 star hotel. The receptionist were all so helpful going out of their way to assist, the bar and restaurant staff were also the same, nothing was to much for them.

Another benifit is the town centre is only a 5 min walk away and within easy walking distance for trains, buses etc.

Our room was kept in a very tidy and clean condition, and as their advert states "a good night sleep is guaranted" We will certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 701 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

The premier inn barnsley has to be the tidyest and most comfortable hotel I have stayed in. The staff are out of this world friendly and will go the extra mile to help in any way they can. I check out on Thursday after being here for a week and a half and have decided to check back 4 days later after I return from paris. This prices are extreamly reasonable and the food is slightly on the costly side but well worth the money. I highly recomend the hotel breakfast as it is not your usual "all you can eat breakfast" quality. The premier in serve high quality food.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradCrossley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just had another stay here and was pleased to say the standards are still the same. The hotel is very clean and comfortable and I always feel safe here with the security features it has. All of the staff are really friendly and helpful. As I arrived an older couple were being helped through the checking in system by a lovely receptionist, it was great to hear such good customer service. The rooms are modern and the beds are so comfy....I didn't want to get up. The parking was directly under the hotel and this time I managed to find the entrance to the carpark without driving past it then having to turn round. It sort of creeps up on you....handy hint.....when coming off the roundabout towards the hotel keep your eyes out for the first turning...that's the carpark entrance. All in all, I can highly recommend this hotel....great value...great staff...and in a great town with a friendly Yorkshire welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catmad1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to stay in the staff are really friendly and the hotel facilities are great. The rooms are really clean. We went with the family and the room was all set out great for when we arrived.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatthewM927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The receptionists and bar/restaurant staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The beds are comfortable and shower facilities are very good. I have been a frequent stayer here and would recommend it.



  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 403MichaelK403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I am main carer for my elderly parents aged 86 and 90. Many of our family live in and around the Barnsley area. This hotel is very modern, very clean and has the most wonderful, efficient staff to greet you. Reception staff remember you from your previous visit and do their upmost to make sure your stay is comfortable. Nothing is too much trouble. We need a bedroom with wet room, and an interconnected room for my dad. These rooms are high quality and very warm. Tea/coffee making facilities and hair drier in each room and towels changed daily. The Table Table pub/restaurant is immediately off reception and is a great meeting place for friends and family. Very reasonably priced menu with lots to choose from. Once again, excellent staff. Convenient car park with lift to main reception. Wi fi free for 30 minutes and a reasonable charge thereafter. Very near to town centre market, shops, pubs etc.. We would not consider using any other hotel in this area, and such value for money.

Room Tip: We have stayed on the 2nd and 3rd floor and found them to be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

What makes this hotel unusual is quality of the staff. Everytime we visit we comment on not only the efficiency but the friendliness and helpfullnes of all the staff we encounter.

At £53 for two people for two nights in a double room the price is great too. The basement car park costs £3.50 per 24 hrs which in last weeks appalling snowfall was very convenient. With the central location we could walk everywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking Townend - the view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsley
1.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Barnsley
Travelodge Barnsley
#4 of 8 in Barnsley
65 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
392 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
5.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel

Address: Shambles Street | Gateway Plazza, Barnsley S70 2SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Barnsley
Price Range: $59 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Barnsley Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. Barnsley Town Centre is only a short distance away. Directions: Exit M1 at J37 and follow A628 (Dodworth Road) signposted to Barnsley. After approximately 1 mile take the second exit at the roundabout onto Shambles Street, the entrance to the car park is immediately on the left. Parking is chargeable (please contact site for charges). Height restriction 6'. Postcode S70 2SB. The pedestrian entrance to the hotel and Table Table restaurant is on Sackville Street where alternative parking is available. Postcode S70 2RD. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: S70 2SB Hotel Parking: There is no parking available on-site at this hotel. Chargeable off-site parking is available nearby costing £5 overnight or £2 for 2 hours, or £4 up to 8 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Barnsley Central m1 j37 Hotel Barnsley
Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing