We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy, but not trendy enough”

Piccolino - Bramhall
Ranked #214 of 557 Restaurants in Stockport
Price range: $32 - $83
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Trendy, but not trendy enough”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Piccolino's was a revelation when it came along. Unfortuantely, it now appears expensive and inferior to some of it's more modern alternatives. Everything was okay and nothing special (service, food etc). You leave feeling you've eaten out, but not had a night out.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Neal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    75
    58
    54
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“LOVELY!!!!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Amazing! The best Italian in Bramhall!A little expensive but the food is lovely and well worth it. If taking kids go before 7 as it takes 20 minutes for starter, 20 minutes for main and depending an how busy it is a while for pudding and bill. After 8 it beings to fill with people that have come just for the bar.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lilysmoothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Better wine bar than restaurant.”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I have to admit to have eaten in Piccolinos in Didsbury, Manchester and Bramhall before this review. I usually love the food and atmosphere, but this time the food really was poor.

Before that though, the staff were faultless and the atmosphere is vibrant with a raucous bar area of people who just come to drink.

On our evening, I chose the Parma ham and melon. Ham good, melon not ripe, disgusting. How difficult I it to pick a ripe melon! My wife had the chikn liver on toast starter which was the highlight of te night, can't be faulted. Onto the mains, my wife chose the meatball spaghetti, did what it said on the tin, but nothing special. I had the veal chop. It was so disappointing, overcooed(well done when asked for medium) and tasteless. Would have been happier with a pork chop. Accompanying chips were ok, a bit soft not crunchy.

It is a very interesting night out for people watching, maybe with a better meal choice I would have given it a better score. Still good but could do so much better.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xyzManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Stockport”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This restaurant is by far the best restaurant we go to in Stockport. We try and visit at least once a month.
The service is always great, the team are very friendly and always seem to remember us.
The bar does get busy at the weekends but its nice to have a couple of moretti's before my meal! The only criticism is that the fritto misto isn't on the menu anymore, that was my favourite starter. The best mains in my opinion are the seafood skewers and the duck.

We celebrated NYE with 6 of our friends last year and that was great too.

They used to do an amazing dessert special with strawberries, jelly and basil, I hope that comes back one day!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christos_and_Ewcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philymanjaro
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

8 of us ate at Piccolino for a family occasion. Whilst most of the food was nice, things kept getting missed off the orders and they arrived after asking with no apologies. The kids pizza was like something out of a supermarket budget range. The restaurant has a nice atmosphere and good decoration, but there a better places in Bramhall to celebrate an occasion.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philymanjaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolino - Bramhall also viewed

 
Bramhall, Stockport
 

Been to Piccolino - Bramhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing