We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Alma Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alma Lodge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Pleasant staff, great service at the front desk via ApriL. Reasonable value, the rooms are fairly comfortable I was there for just two nights and it was great for the time. Did not try the swimming pool or fitness centre so can't comment. Seems to be well run, the building is historic but that adds to the charm. Could have had more options for vegetarian breakfast. Overall very good, front desk service makes it stand out.

Room Tip: Room 26 is pleasant but faces car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at the Alma Lodge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your feedback and while we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Alma Lodge we are sorry that you didn't feel we offer enough vegetarian products for breakfast. Be asured we will discuss this further with our breakfast chefs.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 531 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

My mum & I stayed here last Oct for one night. Room was clean & comfortable. Restaurant food was lovely. Hotel has a lift but you still need to climb stairs before you get to your room.
Overall, nice hotel for a quick stopover.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Guest
We greatly appreciate your feedback and are glad to read that your stay at the Alma Lodge was a pleasant one on so many levels. We are sorry that you found the stairs to your room difficult, unfortunately we have not been unable to put a lift in due to the design of the Hotel we will however be refurbishing twin rooms near to the reception area later this year. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I discovered this nice middle of the road hotel a while back. It is very handily placed for visiting Manchester and most importantly offers a free on site car park. Fairly priced and offers a decent standard of service. I would have no qualms staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margatekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2014

Dear Guest we appreciate you taking the time to comment on your experience at the Alma Lodge.
We are very pleased you had a positive experience and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Jill Tavini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Our family of 7 stayed at the Hotel on 30th and 31st May 2014 to celebrate our Golden Wedding Anniversary. We stayed in 3 very good rooms which were spotlessly clean. We had a 4 course lunch on the Saturday for 21 people which was excellent.

We must highlight especially the friendliness of ALL the staff. They were efficient, helpful and cheerful. Nothing was any trouble.

I have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel and we will definitely be returning at some time in the future; maybe our Diamond Wedding Anniversary!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2014

Dear Guest we would like to take this opportunity to congratulate you both on your Wedding Anniversary a wonderful achievement. Thank you for writing such heartfelt comments we are so pleased your day was so enjoyable. We will pass on your kind words to our waiting on staff, chefs and events team Zoe, Clair and Adelle. You are most certainly welcome anytime to pop in for a chat.
Kind regards Jill Tavini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Our last contact with the Alma Lodge was for our wedding reception over 40 years ago. Returning to Stockport for a family celebration we needed somewhere nearby, not too expensive and of a reasonable standard. We were not disappointed.

Whilst the extension that contains the majority of the bedrooms looks a little out of place, nevertheless there is plenty of parking and access is simple. The rooms are of a good size and spotlessly clean and well supplied with necessaries. We stayed on a Saturday night, and weddings remain a vital part of the business. The advantage of the rooms being in the extension is however that the noise does not carry.

Breakfast was fine. Self service from chafing dishes, but perfectly acceptable. Cannot comment on dinner as we did not eat there.

Nice to see a privately run business doing well yet being competitive with the obvious chains. We will not bother to look elsewhere for future visits.

Room Tip: Look for rooms in the extension at weekends. Family rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear Guest thank you for taking the time to give such a detailed review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Alma Lodge Hotel and that you have happy memories of your Wedding here over 40 years ago. We hope you will return in the future.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is one of a type that I have stayed in many times for work over the years. Inexpensive, characterless but with completely acceptable levels of accommodation. The room, looking a little tired in beige, brown and orange, was spotlessly clean, the bed was fine and everything worked. On a work trip you really need no more. However, I made the mistake of having dinner in the dining room where I was the sole occupant (at 7.30 in the evening) and the food was mostly dire. Whitebait as a starter just about OK but main course of fillets of sea bream with vegetables mostly inedible. Cauliflower tasted of absolutely nothing whatsoever and fish was slimy. No wonder the room was empty.
Breakfast was OK but I didn't have hot food.
Staff encountered throughout the stay were pleasant and helpful but if I have to come this way again I will be finding somewhere else to eat.

Room Tip: Side rooms in the new wing do not overlook the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Highgateglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments we are introducing a new menu this summer which is Italian based and includes Pizza's and Pasta's we hope you will be back to give it a try.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Booked this hotel for a motorbike event at near by Gods Garage. The hotel informed me in advance that there was a wedding on and there would be some noise. I thought this was very professional. I was reminded again on arrival, however noise was minimal. Many of the Staff are Greek or Italian and there is a real continental feel. Service is excellent and the staff are very polite and highly professional, better than many 5 star restaurants. The Room was large and had tea & Coffee facilities. The Breakfast was stupendous, best Full English I have had in years. The staff even kept an eye on my bike overnight which was very reassuring. As a motorcyclist I have received a frosty reception in other hotels, but the Alma was non Judgemental and Highly professional. I would definately stay there again when in Stockport, or Manchester

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sombochris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for the superb score, being a family run business we strive hard to provide excellent customer service ensuring each & every customer feels welcome & cared for.
We love to know when you have enjoyed your stay. Our team members work hard to provide amazing service to all of our guests so that they will want to return.
We hope to see you again in the future, kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockport hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
1.7 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 14 in Stockport
1,026 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wycliffe Hotel
Wycliffe Hotel
#5 of 14 in Stockport
242 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport Central Hotel
2.2 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#11 of 14 in Stockport
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Lodge Hotel

Address: 149 Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
#5 Family Hotel in Stockport
#6 Business Hotel in Stockport
Price Range: $88 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alma Lodge Hotel and Restaurant is privately owned ensuring high standards are maintained throughout all departments. There is complimentary High Speed Internet access in all public areas, free onsite parking for 100 cars and BT Sports available in Luigi’s Bar. All 52 En-suite Guest Rooms offer Free, Unlimited WiFi, Free Breakfast and Flat Screen Location Alma Lodge is ideally situated in the town of Stockport. Close to rail, airport and motorway links, just a few minutes drive from J2 off the M60, 7 miles from the City of Manchester, 5 miles from Manchester Airport and the Trafford Centre. The famous Manchester City and Manchester United grounds are within easy reach if you are attending a match. The Spar Town of Buxton and the beautiful Peak District is only a 30-minute drive away, making the Alma Lodge a fabulous location for business or leisure, in the North West of England. Dining Ristorante Luigi specialises in Italian & Mediterranean cuisine at its best. The restaurant has a relaxed and informal atmosphere offering extensive Ala Carte or Table d Hote Menus. Families with children are very welcome, freshly prepared pizza and pasta menus available. A comprehensive Bar Snacks menu is also available in Luigi’s Bar. Banqueting and Special Events The Alma Lodge Hotel has a fabulous reputation for Banqueting and Special Events in the local area. Offering a choice of Events Suites the largest of which is The Regis Suite accommodating up to 250 delegates. It has a beautiful private courtyard entrance with ground floor access from the car park. In addition there are a further 4 Suites, the Congress, Bromley, Davenport and Luigi Suite, which all benefit from natural daylight. Conference Great business amenities with a comprehensive range of conference equipment to hire, daily and 24-hour delegate rates are available. Our experienced conference and events manager will also be available throughout the day to support your event ensuring it will be a success. The Friendly, and experienced staff at the Alma Lodge will always assure you of a warm welcome and look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alma Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Hotel Stockport
Alma Lodge Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing