We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cracking hotel”
Review of Alma Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alma Lodge Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cracking hotel”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Very pleased with my stay here.Rooms were very clean and well equipped.Staff were very efficient and helpful. The hotel was very well organised throughout.Bar prices were reasonable,and the breakfast was first class,Choice of fruit juice,tea,coffee,cereal,Grapefruit,croissants,fried and scrambled eggs,bacon,chipolatas,tomatoes,beans,mushrooms ,black pudding and toast and marmalade.I would definitely return here and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrfussyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest , Thank you so much for this perfect description of our hotel.
We constantly do whatever it takes to make our guests feel welcome, relaxed, and completely comfortable.
We looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards Jill Tavini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    173
    62
    30
    10
See reviews for
135
105
28
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

what a great hotel ! fantastic rooms, great food, first class service,presentation and staff 10/10
stayed at this hotel as our son chose it to have his wedding reception held there, we booked a total of 2 nights there and we also had family and friends in another 4 rooms, everybody was well satisfied with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanandmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest thank you for the superb score. We strive hard to provide excellent customer service ensuring each and every customer feels welcome and cared for while staying with us, we are very pleased you experienced this first hand. We hope you will visit the Alma Lodge again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Nice hotel right on the A6. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the car park and reception were very well presented, good bar area. The room was excellent for the price would definitely stay again, it was clean and well equipped. the breakfast was good except for the sausages, very strange, just wont order them at the next stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your stay. Our goal is to get 100% guest satisfaction and we will not be satisfied until we have achieved that goal. We read all of our reviews so that we can use the comments provided to help make necessary improvements. We are committed to making the necessary changes to enhance your stay. We will continue to improve the Hotel each and every day, we will be looking into your comment about our type of sausage.
We are pleased to hear you will return to the Alma Lodge Hotel when you next visit Stockport.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Check in was quick and efficient.
No Lifts so have to carry bags upstairs i was here as part of a wedding party, the wedding planners were lovely and helpful

The room was very dated and old fashioned, looked like an old people's home.

the function room was stupidly hot, their air con was broken and everyone was uncomfortable ruined the night really. Food average, £21.00 for two vodka red bulls excessive !!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateyLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments I will pass on your kind words to our Wedding coordinators they do a fantastic job.
I was disappointed to read that you were unhappy with your room, the bar prices & lack of AC in the Wedding Suite. My response to these comments are as follows.
1.The day you attended the wedding was the hottest this year, the likes of which we very rarely see. In the Eleven years we have owned the hotel we have not felt it a necessity to install AC in the Regis Suite, so the AC could not of been broken. In the Regis Suite we have large opening windows on both sides of the room & in the bar area. Four large fans also circulate fresh air.
2.The price of your drinks is incorrect for two single vodkas & two red bulls the price would have been £11.60 not £21.00
3.The room you stayed in was not refurbish however it has been passed by the AA as 3 Star rated & provides a comfortable bed with clean white linen, plenty of white 600g towels, large flat screen TV, Tea & coffee making facilities, work desk, wardrobe & large bathroom with a shower & bath. We feel we offer great value for money throughout all areas of the Hotel & excellent friendly service. We are constantly improving our bedrooms to meet with customers ever changing expectations please request a Superior or refurbished room when you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I tend to spend a lot of times in hotels and always look for something different when I can.I stayed here for three nights after looking for somewhere close to where I needed to be. The hotel had some good reviews on here so I decided to try it. I was disappointed. Their own website did say that some rooms where upgraded and some not, if the doors handles etc. are anything to go by, a mix of traditional key and "new" keycard locks then the refurbished rooms are in dire need of being refurbished again, so heavens knows what a non refurbished room looks like. The decor is pretty drab to start with, all browns and creams, very muted and almost institutional in a way, nothing bright and joyful here to lift your mood. I also discovered on my first morning that the towel on the rail had a large dirty mark on it. The furniture in the room is old, battered and in need of replacing as are the carpets, I even had a gap under the door big enough to be able to see the carpet in the hallway. Also lighting in the rooms is poor, The hallways are dark, gloomy places and stifling hot, not inviting at all. The food was also not up to the reported standard, I only ate in on two occasions, nothing startling and a very limited menu for both the bar and the restaurant, and for the bread used in the club sandwiches, they may as well have bought it in the petrol station across the road, and how do you make even chips so tasteless? Also does a garnish not consist of more than two pieces of lettuce leafs?

I know that a hotel cannot help what its guests are like, but the couple sat outside on my second night where obviously having a domestic and the language was enough to make even the coarsest of navvies blush, the second night was not much better and really the staff should have been ensuring that they toned it down in respect of other guests.

All in all, a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksmith38a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Alma Lodge Hotel and sharing your experience. I am sorry to read about your trouble with your door lock. I am sure it was extremely frustrating, we are in a constant refurbishment process and are installing new doors and a traditional key systems(no more electronic key cards) however this can be a long and difficult task when you are a busy hotel.
We do read all of our reviews so that we can use the comments provided by our guests to help make improvements where necessary. We are extremely committed to making these changes to enhance our guests stay, however l do feel some of your comments a little unfair as you did not sample a refurbished room. As l have said previously we are constantly reinvesting in the business making improvements each and every day to increase guest satisfaction. I will forward your comments regarding the bar snack to our restaurant manager. If you are to stay with us again please request a superior room.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Alma Lodge. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable. We were surprised that there was no in-room safe and that the heated towel rail in the bathroom could not be switched off, as it was part of the hot water system, making the bathroom very hot. We were also surprised that the hotel did not have a lift (though stairs are not a problem for us, and we were offered help with our luggage).

As it was very hot, we sent an email before our arrival requesting a fan; it was in our room when we checked in. We were very pleased that we were allocated a north-facing room, so we never had direct sun into the room.

Breakfast was good; we did not eat other meals in the hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MSDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear guest thank you for your review, we are delighted that you have chosen the Alma Lodge Hotel for your visit to Stockport. We were happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt you received good customer service and value for money.
During the recent hot spell, we had ensured all bedrooms had fans for our customers added comfort, we will endeavour to provide fans as standard in all rooms. The heated towel rail in your bathroom is as you mentioned part of the hot water system so is very effective during the cooler weather. Any rooms that have recently been refurbished no longer use this system, if you are to stay again please request a superior or refurbished room. Thank you again for your business we hope to see you again.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked a last minute two night stay, and really didn't expect to find the hotel as nice as it was. Reception staff, in particular Ann, were all as friendly, welcoming and helpful as one would hope to encounter at a reception desk. The room had clearly been recently refurbished, was perfectly clean and well presented, and the bathroom was spotlessly clean with loads of towels. The beds were very comfortable with good quality pillows and yes it was tremendously hot but not the hotel's fault, who provided a fan within minutes of our request thankfully no discernible noise from the surrounding rooms, which were all occupied.There were three events on the first night, and we did struggle to park as we arrived around 20:00, we were also concerned about the noise, but our room was away from the main areas and we were not affected by the noise at all, which in any case finished, as advertised, at 00.30 on the dot. The breakfast was excellent, quality,quantity and choice. Each member of staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.
The designated smoking area was actually quite welcoming, which was unexpected and quite a pleasant place to sit in the cool of the evening.
Only one very minor niggle was that we hadn't spotted on the menu that lunches on a saturday had to be ordered in the morning - which led to a hasty rethink, and a lovely picnic in Lyme Park, so not that great a problem really!
Definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the events facilities are definitely quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Wendy thank you for your detailed and very positive feed back on your recent stay at the Alma Lodge Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your wonderful comments about your room and our staff. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we truly hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockport hotels
1.3 mi away
Wycliffe Hotel
Wycliffe Hotel
#4 of 15 in Stockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Davenport
The Davenport
#14 of 15 in Stockport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Lodge Hotel

Property: Alma Lodge Hotel
Address: 149 Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
#5 Family Hotel in Stockport
#6 Business Hotel in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alma Lodge Hotel and Restaurant is privately owned ensuring high standards are maintained throughout all departments. There is complimentary High Speed Internet access in all public areas, free onsite parking for 100 cars and BT Sports available in Luigi’s Bar. All 52 En-suite Guest Rooms offer Free, Unlimited WiFi, Free Breakfast and Flat Screen Location Alma Lodge is ideally situated in the town of Stockport. Close to rail, airport and motorway links, just a few minutes drive from J2 off the M60, 7 miles from the City of Manchester, 5 miles from Manchester Airport and the Trafford Centre. The famous Manchester City and Manchester United grounds are within easy reach if you are attending a match. The Spar Town of Buxton and the beautiful Peak District is only a 30-minute drive away, making the Alma Lodge a fabulous location for business or leisure, in the North West of England. Dining Ristorante Luigi specialises in Italian & Mediterranean cuisine at its best. The restaurant has a relaxed and informal atmosphere offering extensive Ala Carte or Table d Hote Menus. Families with children are very welcome, freshly prepared pizza and pasta menus available. A comprehensive Bar Snacks menu is also available in Luigi’s Bar. Banqueting and Special Events The Alma Lodge Hotel has a fabulous reputation for Banqueting and Special Events in the local area. Offering a choice of Events Suites the largest of which is The Regis Suite accommodating up to 250 delegates. It has a beautiful private courtyard entrance with ground floor access from the car park. In addition there are a further 4 Suites, the Congress, Bromley, Davenport and Luigi Suite, which all benefit from natural daylight. Conference Great business amenities with a comprehensive range of conference equipment to hire, daily and 24-hour delegate rates are available. Our experienced conference and events manager will also be available throughout the day to support your event ensuring it will be a success. The Friendly, and experienced staff at the Alma Lodge will always assure you of a warm welcome and look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Alma Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Hotel Stockport
Alma Lodge Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing