We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Wedding”
Review of Alma Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alma Lodge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Had a fantastic day when I attended my friends wedding recently.
The room was set beautifully and could clearly see the improvements / refurbishments’ which are being made. There is a garden area leading off the main function room where we had photographs taken, it has pretty lighting for when it starts to get dark.
I stay at a lot of hotels due to work commitments and have never experienced such friendly, courteous service.

The wedding breakfast was lovely, beautiful fresh (not frozen) vegetables, I cannot comment on the evening buffet as I was still full from the afternoon meal.

I would not hesitate in recommending the Alma Lodge Hotel to family and friends.
Thank you for making us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zolo2482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for posting such kind comments on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to the Alma Lodge hotel ! I am delighted you have had such positive experiences at our hotel and thank you for your recommendation. Feedback such as yours is a great motivator to our staff and we are most appreciative that you have taken the time to let us know. I very much hope to have the opportunity of welcoming back on many more occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 530 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

what a great stay once again.Were my husband and myself was visiting family near by the only hotel i enjoy staying at was the Alma Lodge so we there again you walk in and they greet you with a warm smile .the rooms we stayed in this time was as good as all the times we have stayed before lovey comfy bed and the bathroom looked new enjoyed a nice hot bubble bath.there was a good choice of breakfast compilent to the chef and staff pleas keep up the hard work as i will be calling again when we visiting family again or when the hotel has theme nights

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank hellen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for the superb score, being a family run business we strive hard to provide excellent customer service ensuring each & every customer feels welcome & cared for. We are very pleased you have experienced this again. Our next Tribute night will most likely not be until the Autumn but you can keep up to date with our forthcoming events on our new web site.
We thank you for your business & look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Kind regards Jill & Karl Tavini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I checked in to this hotel on the basis of the excellent reviews and will say from the outset that at £52 a night it is good value. The hotel is clean and tidy although the two rooms I stayed (26 & 27)in were extremely 'tired' and in real need of upgrading. Breakfast was particularly nice and it is a change to have an inclusive breakfast cooked to order.

Now the bad news! When I arrived in Room 26 at 9pm I found the toilet bowl was leaking onto the bathroom floor. Due the time and not expecting anything to be done that late at night I reported the problem to the receptionist at 7:30 am and saw here write an entry in the maintenance book. When I returned to the room at 7pm, a pool of water was visible by the toilet bowl. Clearly no action had been taken and this was confirmed by the receptionist. As a hygiene issue I expect this to have been dealt with and if for any reason it was unable to be resolved, I should have been advised,

Management - please do not tell me this is my fault (having read some of your previous comments it does seem that it is always the customers fault when there is an issue with the hotel!).

The wi-fi is not fit for purpose, slow in the extreme on the first night, completely unusable on the second night. This was both in my room and in the reception area. As a businessman this caused me serious problems.

Management - please do not use the excuse that the Wi-Fi is free intimating that we should therefore accept the situation (as you did to a previous reviewer) your website clearly states that 'all rooms have free wifi' NOT 'all rooms have free wifi but don't expect it to work' because its free'

The hotel is not all bad and is clearly a work in progress. Making the fault reporting more robust is essential as is dealing with the appalling wifi. I would rather pay for a working system. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone travelling for business unless you can manage without the wifi.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the modernised rooms - do NOT rely on the wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueSunbeam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.
I am sorry it was not communicated to you on arrival for your second night at the Hotel that the leaking sink tap (not the toilet) had not been fixed. The receptionist on duty should have given you the option to move to another room straight away.
It is also unfortunate that on the second night of your stay our ISP (BT broadband) was having issues in the local area, this has now been resolved.
We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our Hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feed back is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve our service.
Kind Regards Jill Tavini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because of going to a family gathering near by.
The whole hotel was friendly and welcoming; our bedroom was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Usually hotels when you book a family room they use folding Z beds but they use proper single beds, so we all still slept well.
Breakfast in the morning was buffet style. There was plenty to choose from and the hot food was hot.

The free wifi was a great hit too with my big one and the children.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBrew67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to inform us of your excellent comments, it is very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Enjoyed the most delicious afternoon buffet. Yummy cream scones, delicious Danish pastries, scrumptious sandwiches and the best cup cakes I've ever tasted. Lovely hotel, friendly staff, made the occasion very memorable..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Alma Lodge Hotel for your recent Afternoon Tea Party, the management and staff would like to thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a lovely afternoon on Sunday 26.05.2013.
A farewell afternoon tea with a French theme.
Quiche; a variety of sandwiches; pastries & beautiful themed cup cakes. All were delicious.
The bar area was very pleasant as we're all the staff.
I would not hesitate to recommend the Alma Lodge.

Room Tip: No comments made re rooms as we were not resident.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your fantastic review. I am so pleased that you found the hotel & our team of staff to be very pleasant . I have passed on your review to all the staff and told them to keep up the good work!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night following a wedding reception. Our room had been recently refurbished and was lovely. Some biscuits with the tea/coffee would have been good but that's minor. We thoroughly enjoyed the wedding meal and the buffet breakfast was very good too. Excellent value at £65 for a double room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad your experience with us was an enjoyable one. We will pass on your kind words to all members of staff.
(Unfortunately to keep the great value we offer on room rates we no longer provide biscuits in the rooms however if you are to stay with us again please ask the receptionist she will be more than happy to provide biscuits for you to take to your room)
We are delighted you were left with a positive and pleasant view of the Alma Lodge and hope to see you in the near future. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockport hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
1.7 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 14 in Stockport
1,026 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wycliffe Hotel
Wycliffe Hotel
#5 of 14 in Stockport
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport Central Hotel
2.2 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#11 of 14 in Stockport
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Lodge Hotel

Address: 149 Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
#5 Family Hotel in Stockport
#6 Business Hotel in Stockport
Price Range: $88 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alma Lodge Hotel and Restaurant is privately owned ensuring high standards are maintained throughout all departments. There is complimentary High Speed Internet access in all public areas, free onsite parking for 100 cars and BT Sports available in Luigi’s Bar. All 52 En-suite Guest Rooms offer Free, Unlimited WiFi, Free Breakfast and Flat Screen Location Alma Lodge is ideally situated in the town of Stockport. Close to rail, airport and motorway links, just a few minutes drive from J2 off the M60, 7 miles from the City of Manchester, 5 miles from Manchester Airport and the Trafford Centre. The famous Manchester City and Manchester United grounds are within easy reach if you are attending a match. The Spar Town of Buxton and the beautiful Peak District is only a 30-minute drive away, making the Alma Lodge a fabulous location for business or leisure, in the North West of England. Dining Ristorante Luigi specialises in Italian & Mediterranean cuisine at its best. The restaurant has a relaxed and informal atmosphere offering extensive Ala Carte or Table d Hote Menus. Families with children are very welcome, freshly prepared pizza and pasta menus available. A comprehensive Bar Snacks menu is also available in Luigi’s Bar. Banqueting and Special Events The Alma Lodge Hotel has a fabulous reputation for Banqueting and Special Events in the local area. Offering a choice of Events Suites the largest of which is The Regis Suite accommodating up to 250 delegates. It has a beautiful private courtyard entrance with ground floor access from the car park. In addition there are a further 4 Suites, the Congress, Bromley, Davenport and Luigi Suite, which all benefit from natural daylight. Conference Great business amenities with a comprehensive range of conference equipment to hire, daily and 24-hour delegate rates are available. Our experienced conference and events manager will also be available throughout the day to support your event ensuring it will be a success. The Friendly, and experienced staff at the Alma Lodge will always assure you of a warm welcome and look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Alma Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Hotel Stockport
Alma Lodge Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing