We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alma Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alma Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“really welcoming”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night. The welcome was great, we got upgraded from a twin to a family room without asking - the lovely receptionist took one look at my pregnant tummy and said I would be much comfier in a double - and at no extra charge.

Our room was clean and well-equipped, the beds were very comfy, the curtains kept out most of the light, and it was very quiet, so we had a great night's sleep. The shower was just at the right temperature and the towels were big and fluffy, so we felt most refreshed the next morning.

Breakfast was - well, breakfasty. We ate it. It was nice. It filled us up.

The staff were all helpful, polite and professional.

If I had to stay in Stockport again I'd stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the annexe, as it's not over the main body of the hotel, so you don't get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Alma Lodge Hotel we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and found the beds and room very comfortable.
We try hard to encourage our staff to treat every person as an individual, to be aware of customers differing needs and act accordingly. We are so pleased our receptionist has used her initiative in this instance and upgraded you to a family room at no extra charge. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    170
    59
    30
    9
See reviews for
133
103
28
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Was at a wedding here on Friday and it was lovely. The food was excellent and all the bar staff and reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The room were the service was carried out was very tastefully decorated. Plenty of car parking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyhend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind review we are glad you enjoyed the Wedding Day you attended on the 4th of November. What a wonderful day for the happy couple and their guests, we look forward to welcoming you all again at the Alma Lodge in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Alma hotel is in good condition for its age but the layout is odd, old and not child friendly if you have a pushchair or pram. You have to carry babies through up and down stairs to get to rooms.

The staff were very warm and welcoming on arrival. The rooms are clean and well presented for their age. A little above a travelodge.

The staff and cleanliness make this a three star review.

First evening we stayed here we eat in the restaurant in the hotel. Well it's 1 or 2 star at best. The menu is extremely over priced. Average £20 ahead for fried food, frozen veg and steak that was frying steak classed as sirloin steak. The starter was poor and the deserts looked very poor that we skipped it. The coffee wasn't Costco or Starbucks quality.

I would recommend the hotel to stay in but not to eat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rice80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Dear guest thank you for your positive comments about our rooms. We are a very traditional style of Hotel and have a few stairs to negotiate, this is all part of the charm of the Alma. We do advertise the lack of a lift on all the Website and offer to help carry luggage and prams up and down stairs.
The restaurant is classed as AA 3 Star Rated and the food quality is of a high standard we are sorry you were unable to appreciate this.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
146 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

As other reviewers have pointed out, this is a great spot for wedding functions, and as in our case, funeral teas. Stockport crem is just up the road, and it is very handy. The hotel was very good, the rooms are reasonably sized, with a good bathroom etc. The duvet was a bit thick, and therefore sleeping was a bit too warm.
Breakfast was more than adequate, and although only one lady was on duty, everything was fine.
A meal in the evening was really good, and the steak was exactly cooked.
A town hotel with presence, and we rather liked it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pisumcorporum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2014
Thank you for the superb score, being a family run business we strive hard to provide excellent customer service ensuring each & every customer feels welcome & cared for. We are very pleased you experienced this first hand.
We hope you will remember the Alma Lodge Hotel when visiting Stockport in the future.
Kind regards jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our teenager son and we stayed at this local hotel for 3 nights. This hotel is quite unique in the sense that it was a traditional hotel, unlike the commercial chain hotels and the small family run B&B. The staffs were friendly and helpful. The room was of reasonable size, clean and tidy. Our room was very quiet even though there was a wedding banquet during our stay. There was a huge car park for hotel guests. Our breakfast was also lavish. We had huge button mushrooms and black pudding together (which are quite unusual nowadays) with the usual full English breakfast. We had a pleasant stay there. The only downside was that the hotel did not have any lift and we happened to have several pieces of luggage to carry. Unfortunately we were given a room on the new wing of the hotel, thus we had to carry all our luggage a long way from the reception to our room without lift. It may be a problem if travelers have physical hardship to carry the luggage or with babies/toddlers plus baby carts etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2015
We encourage all customers to give constructive feedback and over the last 14 years the Hotel and Restaurant has acquired a high percentage of positive feedback.
We do endeavour to listen to all guests’ feedback both positive and negative to help us constantly improve the level of service and standards that we are able to provide to our guests. thank you for your contribution. We hope to see you again in the future.
kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed overnight here whist visiting my father in hospital. We have tried a few hotels in the area and whilst they have been ok they were not as good as this.The room was clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was really good. What more could you ask for!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissPicky59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2014
Dear guest thank you for posting such kind comments on trip advisor after your recent visit to the Alma Lodge Hotel. We are delighted you had such a positive experience at our Hotel and thank you for your recommendation. l hope your colleagues enjoy their time with us and we will look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed one night, but we really enjoyed it. Hotel was great, and we had a good sized room and a very comfortable bed. Food was excellent and the staff were all really friendly and helpful, going out of their way to accommodate my coeliac diet. Full English breakfast was included in the very reasonable room rate. Our only criticism was that the room was a bit warm and when we opened the window, we could hear the traffic, but it wasn't bad enough to keep us awake. We would recommend it to anyone and will certainly stay there again if we're in that area.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Donnahambleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2014
Thank you for the superb score, being a family run business we strive hard to provide excellent customer service ensuring each & every customer feels welcome & cared for. We are very pleased you experienced this first hand.
We hope you will remember the Alma Lodge Hotel when visiting Stockport in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockport hotels
1.3 mi away
Wycliffe Hotel
Wycliffe Hotel
#4 of 15 in Stockport
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Davenport
The Davenport
#14 of 15 in Stockport
163 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Lodge Hotel

Property: Alma Lodge Hotel
Address: 149 Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
#5 Family Hotel in Stockport
#6 Business Hotel in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alma Lodge Hotel and Restaurant is privately owned ensuring high standards are maintained throughout all departments. There is complimentary High Speed Internet access in all public areas, free onsite parking for 100 cars and BT Sports available in Luigi’s Bar. All 52 En-suite Guest Rooms offer Free, Unlimited WiFi, Free Breakfast and Flat Screen Location Alma Lodge is ideally situated in the town of Stockport. Close to rail, airport and motorway links, just a few minutes drive from J2 off the M60, 7 miles from the City of Manchester, 5 miles from Manchester Airport and the Trafford Centre. The famous Manchester City and Manchester United grounds are within easy reach if you are attending a match. The Spar Town of Buxton and the beautiful Peak District is only a 30-minute drive away, making the Alma Lodge a fabulous location for business or leisure, in the North West of England. Dining Ristorante Luigi specialises in Italian & Mediterranean cuisine at its best. The restaurant has a relaxed and informal atmosphere offering extensive Ala Carte or Table d Hote Menus. Families with children are very welcome, freshly prepared pizza and pasta menus available. A comprehensive Bar Snacks menu is also available in Luigi’s Bar. Banqueting and Special Events The Alma Lodge Hotel has a fabulous reputation for Banqueting and Special Events in the local area. Offering a choice of Events Suites the largest of which is The Regis Suite accommodating up to 250 delegates. It has a beautiful private courtyard entrance with ground floor access from the car park. In addition there are a further 4 Suites, the Congress, Bromley, Davenport and Luigi Suite, which all benefit from natural daylight. Conference Great business amenities with a comprehensive range of conference equipment to hire, daily and 24-hour delegate rates are available. Our experienced conference and events manager will also be available throughout the day to support your event ensuring it will be a success. The Friendly, and experienced staff at the Alma Lodge will always assure you of a warm welcome and look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Alma Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Hotel Stockport
Alma Lodge Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing