We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Slow service”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hotel was very good - room up to Premier Inn usual standard and staff very helpful. Food was surprisingly good but the service for 2 out of the 4 nights was unbelievably slow. When you are on business and want to get some work done waiting for over an hour to get your meal (and not getting the garlic bread you ordered!) is so frustrating. The first night it was busy but the second night was quiet - so there was no excuse. Don't eat there if you are busy!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paco047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleHume, Manager at Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am pleased you found the hotel to be up to standard and the staff friendly. I will pass your feedback regarding the restaurant to the management team in the restaurant. Please note the restaurant and hotel are run separately. The Bamford Arms also have their own trip advisor page. Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay. Kind Regards. Danielle Hume, Premier Inn Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    126
    28
    7
    3
See reviews for
108
99
35
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I often stay here for work even though Stockport has two Premier Inns this one is always my first choice as even though it's a little further out it's quieter, the staff are so friendly and it's clean and comfy. A particular thanks to Mark who is an absolute star and always has a smile to welcome you, one particularly arduous journey he took my luggage up to my room whilst I popped next door for a glass of wine. The breakfasts are always good and the buffet is well stocked, again the morning staff at the Bamford are lovely and take the time to get to know you. The rooms are lovely, clean and comfortable and I love that they provide extra pillows, the showers are also very good. Working away can be a pain but the staff at the hotel make it a pleasant stay! Thanks to you all!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryLeahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleHume, Manager at Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review of the Stockport South Premier Inn. All of the team are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms to be clean and tidy. Mark has seen the review and is very pleased you found him to be helpful on your stay. Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay. Kind Regards. Danielle Hume, Premier Inn Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Premier Inn, Stockport South 30 August - 1st September 2013. Check in was effortless and the receptionist was very friendly. The room, as with all Premier Inns, was spacious, comfortable, clean and had everything you could need. Breakfast was better than most as they don't have horrible buffet breakfast - they take your order and go away and make it. Dinner was in the attached Beefeater restaurant. The food was good and the service was excellent.

Unfortunately during our stay my father had an accident and ended up in the hospital in a critical state. My mother was also staying in the hotel so we needed to extend our stay. When I explained our situation the receptionist went out of her way to help us. Everyone was so lovely and helpful while we were going through a pretty horrible time. You really couldn't have asked for a nicer bunch of people in one place. When a friend was needed I had loads! Special thanks to Jo, Gail and the night receptionist whose name I didn't catch. Thanks also to everyone else we came across who all had a smile and were helpful way above and beyond their job descriptions.

I would not hesitate to stay here or in any other Premier Inn again.

Room Tip: I saw 3 of the rooms In different locations and they were all very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleHume, Manager at Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review of the Stockport South Premier Inn. I am thrilled you found all of the team to be so supportive during such a difficult time for you, and I am glad to hear that he is on the mend. Thank you once again. On behalf of all of the team and myself, we look forward to seeing you all once again on any future stays. Kind Regards. Danielle Hume, Premier Inn Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very friendly staff, quite, clean and comfortable. Excellent for short stays.
Very adequate facilities, with a large car park, a lovely attached pub, right in the centre of Stockport, I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleHume, Manager at Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review of the Stockport South Premier Inn. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us, and look forward to welcoming you back on any future stays. Kind Regards. Danielle Hume, Premier Inn Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I was a little anxious when I finally found this Premier Inn as it did not have much in the way of curb appeal but the friendliness and efficiency of the check in went a long way to dispelling any fears. The room was quiet, clean and the usual Premier Inn standard. When I could not get WiFi the lovely receptionist went off and rebooted the system and got it going. Well done and thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJock_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleHume, Manager at Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review of the Stockport South Premier Inn. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us, and look forward to welcoming you back on any future stays. Kind Regards. Danielle Hume, Premier Inn Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just stayed here for one night and was very impressed with the rooms, cleanliness and service. A fuse tripped in our room at eleven at night and could not be fixed. The duty manager quickly switched us to another room and in the morning reception had been informed and our money refunded as we had not had an in disturbed nights sleep. Impressive. Breakfast in the beefeater was excellent, as was our meal the night before.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleHume, Manager at Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your very positive review of the Stockport South Premier Inn. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay here with us, and look forward to welcoming you back on any future stays. Kind Regards. Danielle Hume, Premier Inn Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

There is very little I can add to the many reviews for this Premier Inn. The welcome from the staff was very refreshing & the standards were very high.
The look of joy at reception at my answer to their question regarding our visit reflected their pride in knowing they were doing a great job & it was appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkshireroyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleHume, Manager at Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your very positive review of the Stockport South Premier Inn. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay here with us, and look forward to welcoming you back on any future stays. Kind Regards. Danielle Hume, Premier Inn Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockport hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
0.2 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#7 of 15 in Stockport
492 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#11 of 15 in Stockport
65 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wycliffe Hotel
Wycliffe Hotel
#3 of 15 in Stockport
228 reviews
2.3 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Stockport, Heaton Chapel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel
Address: Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stockport
#2 Business Hotel in Stockport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the outskirts of Stockport, close to stunning Bramall Hall and a 20-minute drive to Old Trafford ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing