We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently one of the best around”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fiveways Fisheries

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fiveways Fisheries
Ranked #144 of 547 Restaurants in Stockport
Cuisines: Fast Food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently one of the best around”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Over the years, i've eaten a lot of fish & chips. Growing up in Manchester with ties to Yorkshire and the East Coast, I've eaten golden, soggy, fresh, frozen, brilliant, terrible and many inbetween. This place serves some of the best I have ever eaten, and it has delighted friends and family when we have had takeaway or eaten in. The premises are clean, well laid out and spacious and I would not hesitate to go back again or praise it to others. The fish is fresh, perfectly cooked with crisp and light batter that does not lay heavy. The chips are equally as good. Service is great and even when it has been busy, it moves quickly and waiting is not a problem. When the craving for a chippy tea strikes, this is my go to choice.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank HungryBoy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    6
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hazel Grove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great chippy - with the added benefit of a dining area”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We visit here every now and again

The chips are excellent, and the dining area saves smeeling the car out of fish and chips

would recommend

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good ole fashioned fish n chips”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

lovely takeaway, beautifully cooked fish. lots of chips, a bit pricey but what chippy isnt these days.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CheekyMcSqueaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nothing Fishy here.”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Top quality Fish & Chips either eaten in or as a takeaway.
Good table service and good prices.
Good job it is not nearer to home or I could become a permanent diner.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chillinandtannin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“'Convenient with easy parking'”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Came here for lunch with our grandson one Monday in July.
Service a bit wooden & lacking warmth.
Had fish & chips. Fish very good, chips poor. Bread & butter cheap white bread & scraping of marge - dismal. Pot of tea good. Value ok.
These premises formerly housed a modern Indian restaurant & so fittings are a little bit better than your average chippy, but the place was quiet & a little stark.
This place is in a very prominent position with ample parking, but in our opinion not making the most of the opportunity - need to up their game/improve the experience - warmer cheerier welcoming service, cook the chips properly, offer selection of breads with real butter on the side.
Will we go back? - on this experience probably not.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Familyman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiveways Fisheries also viewed

Stockport, Greater Manchester
Hazel Grove, Stockport
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Fiveways Fisheries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing