We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal I've ever had and fantastic, helpful staff”
Review of Wycliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wycliffe Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a short stay at this wonderful family run hotel, upon arrival we were greeted by their very helpful staff and then booked our evening meal. I would like to mention that this hotel is 3 star rated and is spotlessly clean, but the real surprise was the quality of the food offered at the restaurant. Having eaten at various places around the World I was astounded to the quality of the food on offer-its worth a stay just for the food. Some reviews have mentioned the location being under a flight path, this was not an issue as we hardly noticed the planes and they did not fly at night. Enjoy you stay and meal  : )

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Darrell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wycliffehotel, Manager at Wycliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for posting a wonderful review of your stay at the Wycliffe Hotel, you can be assured that your kind comments will be passed to all our staff. We are delighted to read that you appreciate our clean bedrooms and the high quality of food which where possible we source locally and our chefs prepare to order. We very much appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 243 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

Words cannot express my gratitude to Mark and his team for making our special wedding anniversary a night to remember! The warm welcome,attention to detail and superb food were just perfect! The Wycliffe has been a favourite restaurant of ours for many years and last Saturday served to remind us of how infrequently we visit nowadays! This will be rectified this year! Our friends who were Wycliffe virgins will also be returning. What a fantastic gem of a place!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank Gayehillary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wycliffehotel, Manager at Wycliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Congratulations for your special wedding anniversary! We are pleased to hear that the Wycliffe’s restaurant has been your firm favourite for many years, delighted that you choose us to host your special dinner and that you so much enjoyed the whole experience. We thank you for your fantastic review and your kind comments will be passed to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed here over Christmas and were favourably impressed. Room clean and nicely presented. The staff were pleasant, friendly and professional. Although our room overlooked the car park and the outside smoking area and was situated above the bar/dining room space, we weren't bothered by noise (despite busy Christmas funcitions). The breakfasts were promptly served and the food was well-cooked and hot. Two minor problems were fixed within minutes (with the shower and the heating). One very small grouse which I've experienced in other hotels: the bathroom mirror was too low - I'm just over 6 foot and had to crouch over the sink to shave (I shave my head and had to kneel to do this!). We have decided to use the Wycliffe for our future visits to Stockport.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wycliffehotel, Manager at Wycliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for "Highly Recommending" the Wycliffe Hotel. We are very pleased to learn that you were impressed with your experience and your comments will be appreciated by our staff. We have checked the height of all bedroom mirrors (unfortunately the room you occupied had the lowest mirror, as you can appreciate we have to accommodate guests of various heights), but we are looking into rectifying the matter in the near future. However, if you would like to contact me directly when you make your next reservation, I will ensure that your allocated bedroom has a more higher placed mirror. We look forward to seeing you in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

I havnt stayed at this hotel but I have eaten here many times The food is lovely and the staff are helpful and friendly. However they used to have a sweet trolley with a wonderful selection of deserts I can understand why they no longer have the trolley if they were wasting a lot of food but when I went there earlier this month the selection of deserts was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wycliffehotel, Manager at Wycliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear that you had a “super meal”.
I have passed your kind comments to our staff - we all very much appreciative them.

Unfortunately we were unable to continue with the sweet trolley due to hygiene standards. However, our chefs are now able to freshly prepare and present our desserts individually to a much higher standard than when they were served in the restaurant. I hope we can welcome you back to the Wycliffe Hotel in the future, perhaps for an overnight stay to take advantage of our brand new kingsize beds and bedlinen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I always use the Wycliffe when I stay in Stockport on business and can never fault the service. The staff are always friendly and the service is fantastic. The hotel offers guests a discounted menu and the food is always good value and extremely good quality.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wycliffehotel, Manager at Wycliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear Client,

It is always a pleasure to know that our efforts are appreciated and valued. We are a small hotel that aims to provide great service, super food and in a friendly environment. Thank you from all of us at the Wycliffe Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

A first class hotel the staff welcome you like friends food is very good a fine choice on the menu both breakfast and dinner rooms are well kept bus stops next to hotel if not using the car have had good three day weekend there Stephen and Sylvia King

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wycliffehotel, Manager at Wycliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear Client,

Thank you for your very kind words, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope you manage to return and visit us in the future. Until then your kind words have been passed onto the hotel staff. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the quiet location, quick (and included) wifi as well as ease for getting in to town. Was looked after by lovely people andeeven able to lock my bike up in the backyard.

Restaurant seems to do a good trade with locals and residents which is good to see.

Would certainly recommend and will be back if ever in Stockport.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wycliffehotel, Manager at Wycliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear Client,

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and staff, it is always welcome and appreciated to receive such a review. Please be assured that we will continue to strive to improve further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockport hotels
1.3 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#6 of 14 in Stockport
535 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
2.4 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 14 in Stockport
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#11 of 14 in Stockport
105 reviews
4.6 mi away
Deanwater Hotel
Deanwater Hotel
#10 of 14 in Stockport
145 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wycliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wycliffe Hotel

Address: 74 Edgeley Road | Edgeley, Stockport SK3 9NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
#1 Green Hotel in Stockport
#1 Business Hotel in Stockport
#2 Family Hotel in Stockport
Price Range: $114 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wycliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to the Wycliffe Hotel! This family owned and run hotel offers the personal touch for guests staying away from home.Our immaculately clean bedrooms most with kingsize beds are en-suite with flat screen TV, a selection of toiletries, tea & coffee making facilities, room door spy hole for security, trouser press, hair-dryer, iron and free wi-fi internet access. Our full English breakfasts are freshly cooked to order with waitress service. There is ample free car parking, and the bar also serves drinks teas, coffees and bar snacks. Our restaurant offers a wide choice of fixed and individually priced menus throughout the week including Business Lunches, Sunday Lunch, Open Dining, A La Carte, and Resident's Menus, together with a superb wine list. This is also the ideal venue for that special occasion including birthdays, anniversaries, family parties, christenings as well as being a wedding venue. There is a variety of menus to suit every occasion and we can also cater for conferences in our fully self-contained Cortona Suite and funerals for which we have a selection of buffet menus available. Throughout the year we offer a variety of special event menus for:Valentine's Night, St Patrick's Night, Mothering Sunday, Easter Day, St George's Day, Father's Day, Gourmet Evenings and Christmas dinners and discos and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wycliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wycliffe Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing