We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Britannia Hotel Stockport
Nearby Hotels
Alma Lodge Hotel(Stockport)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Trivelles Mayfair(Stockport)(Great Value!)
$217
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deanwater Hotel(Stockport)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Stockport hotel(Stockport)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,529)
Filter reviews
1,529 results
Traveler rating
47
204
310
240
728
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
204
310
240
728
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1,425 - 1,430 of 1,529 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2009

From the minute we arrived I could sense it would not be a great experience and thought that after checking in that I had prepared myself enough for what may lay behind the hotel room door. But when that door opened horror set in! Where do I start, well hopefully my pictures tell the story if you just compare them to the hotels photos you will see how very different they are.
It was so awful the only time we spent in the room was calling the company we booked through to arrange a transfer out of this hell hole.
Most unbearable was the smell, next was stained wall and bed linen, the dirt on the carpet, the shocking poor excuse for a blanket under the hideous bed cover and need I go on. We got out of there like bats out of hell this hotel should be shut down until it is either refurbished or possibly DEMOLISHED!!

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank cheekabooessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Public_Relations, Public Relations Manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2009

Thank you for your review. We have tried to contact you directly to investigate your comments, but have been unsuccessful in receiving a response. If you would like us to investigate your review further, please contact us directly. We are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations and hope this does not deter you from staying with Britannia Hotels in the future. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our services and standards and we thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2008

We had already booked this hotel when we looked at the Trip Adviser website so we really were apprehensive. However - Bearing in mind that this is a 2 star hotel -
1. Our room was clean and warm as was the en suite
2. We had ample hot water for showers
3. Evening meal was carvery with a vegetarian option. All acceptable portions and hot!
4. Breakfast again was acceptable and hot
5. Staff were polite and helpful

Our experience doesn't seem to match other guests writing on this website but we must record as we find. We would stay there again and we would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ruby241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2008

BEWARE!!! Everything about this "hotel" was disgusting - the staff on booking in were unfriendly, abrupt, intimidating, scruffy and "demanded" we pay for the accommodation immediately. At 2.30 pm we walked past heaps of dirty linen (some stained) outside rooms. Smell of old smoke along corridors and in room. Small room, condensation on all windows, disgusting carpet (no way was I taking shoes off!), all furnishings needed replacing, bed coverings (except sheets) were badly stained and probably not been washed for years, was tempted to check the mattress but too scared what would be lurking. Bathroom tiny and in need of demolishing etc etc......... This "hotel" has been reported in the local press - why hasn't it been closed down? Why isn't the hotel inspector/Council doing their job? Just look at the reviews for goodness sake! Our skin crawls whenever we return to the area and drive past!!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ubeware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2008

no one on reception had to shout for 10 min then the room smelt very much of cigarett smoke not twin beds as requested another long wait at reception . the new roon was just okay on the ground floor then came two coach loads of youthsbooked in to see the manchester united game next day .they played football in the bedroom on the floor above us until 2am jumping off beds and running in and out of doors 62 times the door slammed next morning my husband went to shave in the new bathroom no shaver point. the kettle was wired into the wall no way to take it to get water you had to fill cups then take then to the kettle.
The reception was never manned in the two days we were there

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dollycoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2008

First of all the pictures on the website don't remotely look like this hotel. Thank the Lord we were only staying one night. We went down, coach load of friends on a shopping trip to Manchester, not the hotel we had booked and were changed at last minute. Rooms didn't feel clean, probably because of horrible 'felt like' carpet on floor. Bathroom floors looked grubby but could possibly have been 'wear' on the off white tiles. Afraid first look at food put me off, walked in to the dinning room and other visitors were being served soup that looked like custard. This was supposedly Carrot and Orange, no substance, absolutely no seasoning and tasted like a jug or diluted orange had been poured in. Cavary had a good selection but nothing looked fresh. Thought I'd go on the safe side and took potatoe salad etc. This was rancid and I couldn't eat. Certainly not enough seating in the bar and the hotel was in the middle of nowhere so many in our party just retired to their rooms. Next morning breakfast was one big joke.......no eggs!!! We waited over 30 mins for eggs and when they arrived they were scrambled!!! Many guests completely lost the plot at this. Some of us eventually got fried eggs. Now I like mine soft and runny but these were raw and couldn not be eaten. The grapefruit looked weary and again a fizzy taste from them. Never have I eaten so little in a hotel. There was absolutely no one who looked like a duty manager or supervisor around. All young foreign staff, quite a few Chinese. Never in a hotel before have I saw the kitchen staff coming out and helping themselves to the breakfast buffet for the guests and they looked none too clean at that. Couldn't wait to leave the place and just sooooooooo glad we were only there for 1 night. We were a 65 seater coach load and didn't hear ONE PERSON have a good word for this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vadcentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews