We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse than the hotel in Stephen kings 'the shining'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Stockport
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Worse than the hotel in Stephen kings 'the shining'”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Rooms thick of dust, the bathroom held more intelligent forms of life than the staff in the form of mold on the wall. The staff varied from miserable, clueless, un apologetic and over familiar. There were various stains dotting the room, the carpet was threadbare in places, found little surprises from previous guests like half eaten polo mints, the beds were rock hard, the shower unpredictably switched between scorching hot and ice cold in seconds, the fire alarm went off three times during the night which left me feeling like a nervous wreck and left us with a big flashing red light in our room for 15 mins each time. all in all a park bench would have been better than this hotel which is stuck in a obvious time warp! WARNING! DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGuest84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    191
    297
    222
    638
See reviews for
269
457
89
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

booked this last minute had a quick look at the reviews but for 44 quid for a family room was not really concerned about them to much, yes the hotel is very dated and the rooms not very tidy, but only wanted somewhere to sleep and get a shower, and for that it was fine, everything you need just very old, bar was more a pub for locals, warm hotel, tv in room only 14 inch old style tube (funny to still see them around) tea coffee etc in room good, plenty of towels, big car park, would stay again for 44 quid, staff do a good job with want they have

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audir8uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed at the Britannia Hotel Stockport on Saturday 2nd November with my Father. We went on a weekend trip to Chester and Liverpool (The Beatles Experience) organised by Travelstyle.

I had read the reviews for this hotel and was quite worried as my Father is 91 anKd I didn't want to put him through an unpleasant experience.

I will address firstly, the negative reviews by people who I honestly do not think have ever paid to stay in a five star hotel. Their expectations are ridiculous. If they booked independently they would have paid approx. £32 for bed and breakfast, if they had booked on a coach trip they would have paid approx. £69.99 this price includes travel costs, bed, breakfast and evening meal, and, in my case an organised tour of Chester on Saturday and an organised tour of Beatles history and a trip on the Mersey Ferry on the Sunday.

What are these people expecting. If they stayed in a five star hotel such as The Radisson they could expect to pay at least £75 for bed and breakfast alone. I can only assume that these "travellers" are not really well travelled.

For my £69.99 I got not only the aforementioned trips but a hotel that, yes, was a little run down, but was provided with a spotlessly clean bathroom, clean sheets and towels, a homely evening meal and an excellent breakfast (actually far superior to a five star hotel I stayed in in Dublin).

I suggest that these complainers put their hands in their pockets (if they can afford it) and stay at a five star hotel to suit their expectations.

Finally may I say thank you to staff and management for their hospitality and providing myself amd mr Father with an extremely pleasant weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Please keep away from this noisey hell hole.
The place is dirty & smells and is full of smack heads.
I complained about the noisey radiators.....got moved to another room but just as noisey. Sounds like they haven't beeb serviced since it opened.
Its more like a place for pips than a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adrenalinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stockport hotels

Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

All in all a good place to stay with the benefit of the spa/gym next door. Room's were ok clean but a little small. Restaurant offered buffet then when we went they said was not enough people so only a very small choice on menu but the food we choose was ok. The waitress and barstaff was great. I would recommend this for a short stay (it's low cost). We got it with free access to the spa so was good

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry3652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbreese
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

at very short notice we booked to stay at the britannia hotel in stockport, just for somewhere to sleep as we were visiting friends nearby with no spare room. I have given it an average review due to the fact that the price was cheap, so I wasn't expecting the ritz. as the saying goes, 'you get what you pay for'. for anyone who needs a hotel just for one night this place is ideal, ignore all the bad reviews, we were actually only at the hotel for less than 6 hours as we had an early wake up the next day, check in was fine, checkout easy. what are people expecting for such a low price?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbreese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

After reading all the reviews I did wonder what we had let ourself in for. We were on a Travelstyle bus tour and didn't pay very much for the whole tour. All four of us on arrival were pleasantly surprised. Yes the rooms could do with updating, but overall were clean which is what we wanted. The staff were very nice, the evening meal was ok and they kept topping up everything.
Breakfast was good, porridge, bacon,eggs etc. I feel this Hotel has had a lot of stick but I would be happy to stay here again if last weekend was anything to go bye.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maba88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockport
2.2 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#10 of 15 in Stockport
84 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
0.6 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#7 of 15 in Stockport
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
968 reviews
4.8 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Stockport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Stockport

Property: Britannia Hotel Stockport
Address: 67 Dialstone Lane | Offerton, Stockport SK2 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Stockport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Stockport is a modern hotel situated in a quiet residential district close to Stockports bustling town centre, with a wide range of shops and entertainment. The Hotel features the spacious Jenny's cocktail bar offering a relaxing atmosphere where locals and guests can unwind. Jenny's restaurant serves delicious food at breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel Stockport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockport Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Stockport Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing