We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Hotel Stockport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Britannia Hotel Stockport
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Bedford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Rooms are clean.
Tea and coffee in every room ,
Staff friendly.
Good location.
food good.
parking plenty.
Whilst we were there they had a wedding on Friday and Saturday we never heard a thing in our rooms. Can cope with coach groups and privates with no problems.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coachman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    190
    280
    209
    612
See reviews for
256
435
85
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Disappointing hotel choose it because of the price. My room was beside the lift and I barely slept with people pulling at the gates to get it opened and closed. Peep hole was clearly visible from the outside! so had to put something over it. Didn't use the bath as it wasn't clean and shower curtain had never been washed. Bed wasn't comfortable and I could hear other couples in their rooms!! Kettle dirty and plugs are not beside the bed. Bar was quite rowdy definitely don't book if you want a restful night or want to feel safe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed for 1 night at the hotel as it is conveniently not too far from the Trafford Centre. Check in was fine and staff were reasonably helpful. The hotel seemed clean (corridors and lobby) and it is situated in a nice housing area. The rooms were basic but missing some attention to detail. Hair and crumbs in the drawers, yuk! Sinks also took ages to drain water away which was annoying when we were waiting to use the sink whilst getting ready. The bed was comfortable and clean and television was available (channel 4 missing). Big water mark on ceiling - needs a repaint and a good old scrub! Breakfast was fine but the waitress with the red hair needs to cheer up. She was very miserable which is not what you want to see 1st thing in the morning. Squeeky floors and creaky beds with thin walls, not good! We can't comment on the spa. We didn't use it as we got a taxi into Manchester for the night. Lad on desk didn't bother to ask us how our stay was when checking out which I thought was odd! Some peoples reviews are over the top on here! Its not that bad and nothing a bit TLC wouldn't fix.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just awful. And the staff know it and clearly are used to complaints. Where do I start. Room too hot to sleep in, heating was on and it was 25 outside. Broken sink taps not easily switched off and broken shower making it unusable. Scruffy reception staff, and rude. Dirty walls in bedroom, carpet horrible, dining area in total chaos and breakfast food I wouldn't even serve to my dog. Just unbelievable. Probably the worst place I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hospvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trimdon Station UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as part of a 4 day break with National Holidays. The hotel needs major re decoration. The bedroom was a disgrace with patched up paint on the walls. All the woodwork needs painting and walls and celings need re papering. The room itself was not cleaned properly I dont think the furniture had seen a duster in years. The skirting boards were also thick with dust. The edges of the carpets clearly do not get hoovered. The net curtains must have been years old and were grey instead of white. I will say that the bedding and the towels were clean as was the bathroom. The water however was not always hot. From previous reviews there had been issues with meal times. I can say there were 3 coaches in at the same time and they staggered the meal times. The evening meal was excellent every night with a great choice. Breakfast was not so good and did run out of things especially the tea and coffee. All the staff were great and i get the impression they are under a lot of stress. I would never recommend this hotel, we did not get to know until the week before where we were staying as reading previous reviews I would not have gone. It does seem to have good gym facilities though I did not use them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Not good, The room was small smelly, extremely hot and filthy. The shower was terrible if you dare to step into the bath. Hairs in the plug hole, dirty floor, light fittings hanging from the ceiling, bed was extremely un comfortable. I could go on.
This hotel is in desperate need of refurbishment an modernisation.
The only saving grace was the breakfast, serve yourself full English.
My advice is stick with the Premier Inn and you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Didspip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here from Monday 2nd September 2013 to Friday 6th September 2013, and was on a half board basis. We were in Room 266, and it was supposed to be a double, well it had a double bed squashed into it, but you could hardly get into the bed from one of the sides as it was so close to the wall. The curtains did not fit the windows at all, and the voile curtains could have done with a good wash, as could the carpet on the floor in the room, it was all stained and grubby. The Restaurant was doubtful, and the staff not very inspiring. The food was mainly processed type food, but was buffet style so you could take your choice. We would not stay here again by choice.

Room Tip: do not stay in room no 266
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BALI2007BALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockport hotels
0.6 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#5 of 15 in Stockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
2.2 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#12 of 15 in Stockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Davenport
The Davenport
#14 of 15 in Stockport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
1.2 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#7 of 15 in Stockport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Stockport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Stockport

Property: Britannia Hotel Stockport
Address: 67 Dialstone Lane | Offerton, Stockport SK2 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Stockport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Stockport is a modern hotel situated in a quiet residential district close to Stockports bustling town centre, with a wide range of shops and entertainment. The Hotel features the spacious Jenny's cocktail bar offering a relaxing atmosphere where locals and guests can unwind. Jenny's restaurant serves delicious food at breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Britannia Hotel Stockport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockport Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Stockport Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing