We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small, friendly & excellent food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marmaris Turkish Cuisine - CLOSED

Marmaris Turkish Cuisine
Price range: $32 - $41
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
stockport
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“small, friendly & excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

My friend and i went to this restaurant after hearing good reviews.
we ordered the lux meze (hot & cold) to start with which was absolutely delicious and very moreish
i had the kayniyarik (stuffed aubergine) and my friend ordered iskender kebab for our main and they were also delicious and cooked to perfection.
The food was presented well and in my opinion it was beautiful traditional Turkish cuisine
it is so nice to finally find somewhere that actually makes "real" Turkish food.
we will definitely be back again.
the premises were spotless too and the menu was reasonably priced.
the only thing that i would have liked it to have is entertainment, e.g live musician, belly dancer etc... but as the restaurant is only small i'm guessing there is not room to do that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yildizea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Taste sensation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Never written a review on trip advisor before and not wanted to until my visit to Marmaris. Beautiful food, tasty, flavoursome and cooked to perfection. Perfect service from friendly, polite and attentive staff, nothing too much trouble. Great variety in the mixed hot starter, big portions and excellent variety. All in all, a very enjoyable evening! One to definitely be repeated!

BOOYAH,!!!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sav_Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have been to this restaurant numerous times. It really is a favourite of mine.

Staff are very friendly, polite and attentive. I came here as a group once for my birthday and the restaurant really put on a great night.

The food is consistently delicious, great value and there is lots of choice. I would recommend the 'lux izgara' (mixed grill to share).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna_T1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Went to Marmaris on the recommendation of some friends. I'd have to start by saying it's not the best Turkish in Manchester.

The starter mix was good. We had both the hot mix and the hot and cold mix to share between four of us. The dishes are small but there is a good variety. The flavours, for me, were not as good as I've had elsewhere.

I ordered firin for my main, a dish I've had in other restaurants. The potatoes had been cooked separately and added to the dish. I've had it in the past where they've been cooked with the dish and I think this is much better that way. The Lamb was really nice and soft though, as you'd expect for a lamb shank. The rice was, again, not up to the usual Turkish standard. It seemed to be boiled rice with little flavour.

The customer service was excellent and the atmosphere was good. Maybe average is a bit harsh but I have had better food in restaurants where the service and atmosphere are just as good but with much better food.

There was very little choice for desert which was disappointing.

I'd rather go to other Turkish restaurants around Manchester, but it's not a bad place to eat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deanophil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“bad customer service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

came here with a friend recently and although the food was very pleasant and plentiful we were shocked to find that 3 glasses of water were charged at £5.40. when we queried this the waitress was very understanding but asked the manageress to help-she was very dismissive and said that we should have seen the price on the menu and basically 'take it or leave it'. we commented that The Elizabethan had not charged us for water and she said" well that's a pub-it's different". yes it is they had good customer service!!
incidentally we had also bought a bottle of wine so weren't being cheapskates.
unfortunately neither us nor our friends and family will be going back there-shame as the food is ok.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marmaris Turkish Cuisine also viewed

 
Cheadle Hulme, Stockport
Hazel Grove, Stockport
 
Romiley, Stockport
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing