We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in a desert”

Da Vinci's Coffee House and Eatery
Ranked #10 of 23 Coffee & Tea in Stockport
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Chic, dynamic and welcoming. Da Vinci's is a Coffee house during the da which serves a selectin of teas, coffees, cakes, paninis, and light meals. In the evning Da Vinci's transforms into an Italian restaurant serving authentic Italian food and provides the perfect atmosphere to suit.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Oasis in a desert”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Our first visit was by accident. We were not intending on visiting Da Vinci but the restaurant next door! It was the sound of the music of a fabulous guitarist/vocalist and the 'cool' atmosphere that attracted us at first, as well as an interesting menu. This was mostly traditional Italian fare but supplemented with interesting 'specials' that were inviting and displayed clearly on a blackboard. We visited on a Friday evening in a town centre not distinguished for its eateries whihc are mostly found along the length of the A6. Da Vinci's is setting a trend for stylish eating, drinking, and entertainment that is new in a an area of Stockport renowned for good beer and bands. The food was of a high standard and the ambience very relaxing, with friendly service from the owners. A passer by might dismiss Da Vinci's due to its appearance as a coffee house (in the manner of the familliar High Street favourite names) but it does have the potential for a quality. town centre bistro - to be honest a more fitting description of Da Vinci's. We shall certainly visit again and do recommend it highly.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank kpf1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    48
    15
    1
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed, but prepared to give it another go”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Visited recently with a friend who has been several times (lunchtime) and enjoyed it. Neither of us had been in the evening before. As I said in my heading I was slightly disappointed. We were given a table at the end of a group party, containing a large number of kids who were constantly up and down from the table. Not the restaurant's fault I know, but I did feel like were sat in MacDonalds. A musician was playing in the restaurant who was too loud (maybe just our age or maybe we just didn't like his music), but when he stopped, 'background' music was played. Again slightly too loud for a restaurant. It was a little difficult to hold a conversation. Again had we been in a pub I wouldn't have had a problem with the music.

we were brought bread with dip which was lovely as free starter. Main course was lasagne, which was disappointing. Slightly too bland in taste and only about an inch thick and I had about 3 mouthfuls before I tasted any meat. My friend had a prawn pasta dish which is said she enjoyed. we had coffee after which was really nice.

Anyway I would give it another go - but I woudn't have the main course I had before and I would prefer not to go on a night when 'music' was on offer.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SallyLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We really like it here.”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Found Davinci's on passing one lunch time and decided to give it a try. We were very pleased to find somewhere a little different from the usual coffee shop culture and decided to do lunch, the food was very good. Since, we have returned twice, on one of the occasions taking a friend for coffee on another for breakfast. We have booked on Saturday for dinner and are really looking forward to enjoying the usual friendly service we have enjoyed so far.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterIce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had our pre wedding dinner here the night before we got married. We were a party of 35 and every single member of our group thought the food and service was brilliant. The decor is lovely and it has such a warm friendly atmosphere with very reasonable prices, what's not to love? We'll definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shelly869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Typical British Italian”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I’ve come to the conclusion that British Italians are like British Indians – a poor, Anglicised pastiche.
So here we have the usual “Italian” theme. Menu just what you’d expect, good cheerful service, pleasant clean environment, quantities fairly small with little if anything on the side, and expensive.
First a free focaccia and olive oil dip – really nice.
I had a goat’s cheese on ciabatta also good, then chicken & pesto on tagliatelle, swimming in oil & too much pasta it was well OTT. The missus had steak which was fine and chips (bit undercooked but very hot) with pepper sauce – that’s the lot. She then had tiramisu which was garbage – Aldi’s own make is better.
Wine choice limited. See their website for menus.
So if you like the British Italian theme it’s as good as anywhere, otherwise don’t bother. If this is number 1 out of 65 restaurants in Stockport I wouldn’t want to dine in no. 65

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardaHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan E, Da Vinci's Team at Da Vinci's Coffee House and Eatery, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Hello Richard. It is the Da Vinci’s team here and we just wanted to take the time to respond to your review. We are genuinely sorry that you were disappointed with Da Vinci's! We always aim to give everyone a true Italian experience and our objective is for every customer to feel like they have been whisked away to the Ponte Vechio in Florence; as a consequence we are saddened that you thought we are a ‘poor anglicised pastiche’. However, we do thoroughly appreciate any feedback from our customers and do encourage it. In regards to your main meals, all of our dishes use the finest and freshest ingredients and they are all made to order, subsequently a lot of training and effort goes into making our dishes. We apologise that they were to an unsatisfactory standard and we will do our best to make sure they are perfect in the future. We have also changed our desert menu and the Tirimisu is now homemade with a special traditional Italian recipe. We are also in the process of creating a new wine list which will have a wider range of Italian and world wines. We hope you are not deterred by your first visit and we welcome you to come back and try us again! Thank you again for your feedback.
Kindest Regards, La famiglia Da Vinci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Vinci's Coffee House and Eatery also viewed

Stockport, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Da Vinci's Coffee House and Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing